WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Airwallex and Griffin side by side in the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index, Airwallex scores higher overall: 3.8 out of 5 (75 out of 100) against 3.2 (64), ranking 3 and 5 of 11. Airwallex also scores higher in every segment.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Airwallex | Griffin |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 3.8 | 3.2 |
| Score out of 100 | 75 | 64 |
| Overall rank | 3 of 11 | 5 of 11 |
| For fintechs launching accounts and cards (out of 100) | 76, rank 3 | 63, rank 5 |
| For software platforms embedding finance (out of 100) | 71, rank 2 | 61, rank 5 |
| For regulated payment and e-money firms (out of 100) | 78, rank 3 | 69, rank 5 |
| Type | Global embedded finance platform | UK bank for embedded finance |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Airwallex | Griffin |
|---|---|---|
| Product range | 5/5 Accounts, cards, payments and credit all published. | 3/5 Accounts and payment rails published; cards and lending not published. |
| Published pricing | 1/5 Platform fees not published; only the business account fee schedule is public. | 2/5 Monthly spend tiers published; onboarding fee only as a "from" price. |
| Licence and deposit protection | 4/5 Own e-money and payment licences with numbers in many countries; US accounts through named partner banks. | 5/5 Own UK banking licence with firm reference and FSCS protection. |
| Compliance support | 3/5 Airwallex states it handles KYC; transaction monitoring for the programme not described. | 3/5 Automated KYC and KYB published; transaction monitoring not described. |
| Integration | 4/5 API, ready-made components and a stated launch time; sandbox not confirmed on the pages read. | 4/5 API, sandbox and a stated launch time; ready-made screens not published. |
| Markets | 5/5 70+ countries across Asia, Europe and the Americas. | 1/5 UK only. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Airwallex | Griffin |
|---|---|---|
| Product range | Accounts "with local bank details in 70+ countries"; branded physical and virtual cards; collections including Direct Debit and batch payouts; "Extend lines of credit to your customers". | Embedded bank accounts, business accounts, savings, client money, safeguarding, payments (Faster Payments, Bacs credits, CHAPS) and Verify. Cards and lending not published. |
| Pricing | Platforms "Set bespoke pricing for end customers"; Airwallex's platform fees not published. The US business account fee schedule is published separately. | Platform banking onboarding "from £15,000"; monthly minimum spend packages £4,000, £6,000 and £10,000, Enterprise custom. |
| Licence and deposit protection | Airwallex (UK) Ltd FCA e-money institution 900876; AWX Lithuania, UAB e-money institution 88; Airwallex (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. MAS Major Payment Institution PS20200541; UniCard Solution Ltd HKMA SVF0009; Airwallex US, LLC NMLS #1928093 with Lead Bank and Evolve Bank & Trust as partner banks. | Griffin Bank Ltd, "authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and Prudential Regulation Authority", firm reference 970920; FSCS "up to £120,000". |
| Compliance support | "Airwallex handles global Know Your Customer (KYC) requirements", with collection adjusted to local rules. | Verify: "Automate KYC/KYB checks"; "Use our onboarding products to automate key compliance processes." |
| Integration | Pre-built components to "Launch in days", or native API integration. | "Embed accounts, payments and onboarding via our API"; sandbox at app.griffin.com/register; "Go live in 6 to 8 weeks". |
| Markets | Accounts in 70+ countries; balances in 20 currencies; cards across 60 countries. | Not listed in this index |
| Scale | Not listed in this index | "80+ companies use Griffin"; "£8.9B+ payments processed since launching in 2024". |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Airwallex: pricing, compliance support and integration.
Not published or not stated by Griffin: product range, compliance support and integration.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: airwallex.com/en-us/…, help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/…; and griffin.com/pricing, griffin.com/about, griffin.com/products/embedded-bank-accounts, griffin.com/products/payments, griffin.com/products/verify, griffin.com/deposit-protection.
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Platforms serving business customers in many countries from one integration.
UK fintechs and platforms wanting a bank with published plan tiers and fast onboarding.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.