WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

A US embedded banking platform offering accounts, debit, prepaid, charge and credit cards, lines of credit and invoice factoring through partner banks.
Unit is ranked in 2 Buckingham Intelligence indices. Its highest score is 3.0 out of 5 (59 out of 100) in the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index, where it ranks 4 of 14. It is strongest for US software firms adding accounts, cards and credit, with 5 out of 5 for product range and security. Not published or not stated on the pages read: published pricing, regulatory standing and geographic reach.
Also ranked in: Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index (2.4 out of 5, rank 10 of 11).
Scores from the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index and Embedded Finance and Insurance Index 2026.
| Segment | Score out of 100 | Rank |
|---|---|---|
| For software and platform companies | 60 | 4 of 14 |
| For retailers, travel and marketplaces | 58 | 7 of 14 |
| For regulated firms adding products | 59 | 4 of 14 |
| Segment | Score out of 100 | Rank |
|---|---|---|
| For fintechs launching accounts and cards | 52 | 8 of 11 |
| For software platforms embedding finance | 50 | 9 of 11 |
| For regulated payment and e-money firms | 41 | 11 of 11 |
The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.
Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.
US software firms adding accounts, cards and credit.
US software platforms wanting ready-made banking screens.
What Unit publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
A US embedded banking platform offering accounts, debit, prepaid, charge and credit cards, lines of credit and invoice factoring through partner banks. It publishes SOC 2 Type II, PCI DSS Level 1 and AWS hosting. Banking is provided by partner banks that are not named on the pages read, and no prices are published.
| Fact | What the provider publishes |
|---|---|
| Products | Deposit accounts; "Branded prepaid, debit and credit cards"; charge cards; "Lines of credit, invoice factoring and credit cards"; bill pay. |
| Regulatory standing | "Unit is a financial technology company and not a bank. Banking services are provided by Unit's bank partners, Members FDIC." |
| Security | "Unit is certified SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS Level 1 compliant." "Unit applications and solutions are fully built in the AWS cloud environment." |
| Integration | API documentation, sandbox and API status page published. |
| Scale | "Unit doubles transaction volume to $100B within 12 months"; client Relay serves "110,000+ small businesses". |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 |
A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: unit.co, unit.co/security, unit.co/about.
Unit lets US software platforms offer accounts, money movement, debit and charge cards and capital, with ready-to-launch products and white-label screens. It is PCI DSS validated and shows an AICPA SOC logo. It does not name its partner banks or publish prices on the pages read, and states that banks keep final control of compliance.
| Fact | What the provider publishes |
|---|---|
| Product range | Accounts and wallets; money movement; card issuing ("high-interchange debit and charge cards"); Capital ("instant access to funds"); bill pay. |
| Pricing | Not published on the pages read; a revenue calculator only. |
| Licence and deposit protection | "Banking services are provided by Unit's bank partners, Members FDIC." Partner banks not named; March 2024 post: "six banks are managing programs via the Unit platform". |
| Compliance support | Managed services cover "customer dispute handling, marketing oversight, reconciliation, and certain other operational responsibilities"; the bank "retains ultimate approval and control" and has oversight tools for KYC and KYB data. |
| Integration | Ready-to-Launch products, white-label UIs, dashboard, API docs and sandbox. |
| Security | "PCI DSS Validated" and "AICPA SOC" logos (SOC type not stated). |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 |
A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: unit.co/revenue-calculator, unit.co/blog/deepening-our-commitment-to-banks.
Each score with the evidence behind it.
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.
| Provider | Score out of 5 | Rank | Strongest for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Qover | 4.2 | 1 of 14 | Firms selling cover across Europe and the UK |
| Cover Genius | 3.6 | 2 of 14 | Global retailers, airlines and marketplaces selling cover in many countries |
| Weavr | 3.6 | 3 of 14 | UK and EU software firms adding accounts and cards at a published price |
| Swan | 2.8 | 5 of 14 | European software firms wanting accounts and cards under their own brand |
| Solaris | 2.7 | 6 of 14 | European brands wanting accounts, cards and consumer lending under a bank licence |
| bolttech | 2.6 | 7 of 14 | Telecoms, retailers and banks selling device and travel cover in many markets |
| YouLend | 2.5 | 8 of 14 | Marketplaces and payment firms offering merchant finance quickly |
| Liberis | 2.5 | 9 of 14 | Payment and software platforms offering funding to small businesses |
| Igloo | 2.4 | 10 of 14 | Ecommerce, telecoms and finance firms selling cover in Southeast Asia |
| Treasury Prime | 2.1 | 11 of 14 | US fintechs wanting a choice of sponsor banks |
| Synctera | 2.1 | 12 of 14 | US and Canadian fintechs launching accounts and cards with a sponsor bank |
| Boost Insurance | 2.0 | 13 of 14 | US insurtechs and platforms launching their own branded programmes |
| Railsr | 1.8 | 14 of 14 | Brands testing card and wallet products through staged sandboxes |
Full Embedded Finance and Insurance Index ranking
| Provider | Score out of 5 | Rank | Strongest for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Swan | 3.9 | 1 of 11 | European software platforms wanting accounts and cards fast, with no-code screens |
| Solaris | 3.9 | 2 of 11 | European fintechs wanting a licensed bank that carries the compliance work |
| Airwallex | 3.8 | 3 of 11 | Platforms serving business customers in many countries from one integration |
| Weavr | 3.2 | 4 of 11 | UK and EU business software adding accounts and cards at a fixed monthly price |
| Griffin | 3.2 | 5 of 11 | UK fintechs and platforms wanting a bank with published plan tiers and fast onboarding |
| ClearBank | 3.2 | 6 of 11 | UK payment and e-money firms wanting FSCS-protected accounts and direct UK payment access |
| Synctera | 2.8 | 7 of 11 | Fintechs in the US and Canada wanting onboarding and monitoring built in |
| Column | 2.6 | 8 of 11 | US fintechs wanting to build directly on a chartered bank rather than through a middle layer |
| Increase | 2.6 | 9 of 11 | US platforms wanting a fully priced payments and accounts API |
| Treasury Prime | 1.9 | 11 of 11 | US banks running their own fintech programmes |
Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.