How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Banking Circle
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Banking Circle review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A Luxembourg business-to-business bank serving banks, non-bank financial institutions and corporates, not individuals.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.5 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
1Awards 2026
1Index
6 of 14Rank, Safeguarding Banks Index

Short answer.

Banking Circle scores 3.5 out of 5 (69 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Safeguarding Banks Index 2026 and ranks 6 of 14. It is strongest for multi-currency safeguarding across the UK and EEA, with 5 out of 5 for products. Not published or not stated on the pages read: who it serves, pricing, onboarding, technology, protection and scale, published pricing and standing.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Safeguarding Banks Index 2026.

Safeguarding Banks Index

3.5 / 569 out of 100 · rank 6 of 14
Top rated for products 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For E-money institutions696 of 14
For payment institutions706 of 14
For firms applying for a licence685 of 14

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Multi-currency safeguarding across the UK and EEA.

  • Products (5/5). Safeguarded accounts, agency and correspondent banking, 28 currencies and virtual IBANs.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). No fees or interest published.

Published facts.

What Banking Circle publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

A Luxembourg business-to-business bank serving banks, non-bank financial institutions and corporates, not individuals. It publishes safeguarded accounts, agency and correspondent banking and 28 currencies, and publishes eligibility criteria for UK and EEA EMIs and PIs, including firms in the final stage of authorisation. It excludes micro-enterprises and does not publish prices or a timeline.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Legal statusBanking Circle S.A., "Company Registered in Luxembourg", CSSF registration number B00000408; describes itself as a "Fully licensed bank with Central Bank Clearing Rails" and "a regulated business-to-business (B2B) bank" "supervised by the Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF)".
Who it serves"Non-Bank Payment Service Providers include Payment Institutions and Electronic Money Institutions (small or otherwise)." UK and EEA firms; "This also includes firms who are applying for authorisation" when in final stages, for example with a "minded to" letter. Must "Not be a micro-enterprise" (fewer than 10 staff and turnover or balance sheet at or below €2 million) and "Meet minimum revenue thresholds (or pay minimum fees)", amounts not published. Crypto-asset service providers are a restricted client type and must be authorised in the UK, EEA or approved countries.
Products"For regulated clients, we offer safeguarded accounts." Physical and virtual accounts with the client's own IBAN prefix; agency banking and correspondent banking; "28 Currencies" (24 fiat and 4 stablecoins); local payment methods; direct connections to SEPA and SWIFT.
PricingNot published.
OnboardingApplicants complete the Banking Circle Initial Client Questionnaire and Client Application Form; the document list is "available on request"; a Banking Circle safeguarding letter is completed if safeguarding accounts are required. No timeline published.
Technology"Connect seamlessly through our robust API and Client Portal, or SFTP and SWIFT." Virtual accounts created individually or in bulk; "efficient reconciliation". Real-time balances not stated.
Protection and scaleBanking services to "over 900 regulated financial institutions"; "€1.5 Trillion" in annual payment volumes. Deposit protection on operating balances not stated on the pages read.
Date read21 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Banking Circle

  • Who it serves. Must "Not be a micro-enterprise" (fewer than 10 staff and turnover or balance sheet at or below €2 million) and "Meet minimum revenue thresholds (or pay minimum fees)", amounts not published.
  • Pricing. Not published.
  • Onboarding. No timeline published.
  • Technology. Real-time balances not stated.
  • Protection and scale. Deposit protection on operating balances not stated on the pages read.
  • Who it serves. Micro-enterprises excluded and revenue minimums not stated as amounts.
  • Published pricing. No fees or interest published.
  • Standing. Deposit protection not stated.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: bankingcircle.com, bankingcircle.com/accounts, bankingcircle.com/…, bankingcircle.com/risk-appetite-policy, bankingcircle.com/insights/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Who it serves: 4/5. UK and EEA EMIs and PIs including small firms and final-stage applicants; micro-enterprises excluded and revenue minimums not stated as amounts.
  • Products: 5/5. Safeguarded accounts, agency and correspondent banking, 28 currencies and virtual IBANs.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. No fees or interest published.
  • Onboarding: 3/5. Published questionnaire and application process, document list on request, no timeline.
  • Technology: 4/5. API, client portal, SFTP and SWIFT with virtual accounts and reconciliation; real-time balances not stated.
  • Standing: 4/5. Licensed bank with 900+ regulated financial institutions published; deposit protection not stated.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Safeguarding Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Banking Circle alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
ClearBank4.21 of 14EMIs and PIs needing direct UK and EU scheme access
European Merchant Bank3.82 of 14EU EMIs wanting a published safeguarding tariff
Mano Bank3.83 of 14EU EMIs and PIs wanting fixed published safeguarding fees
Memo Bank3.64 of 14EU firms wanting interest on safeguarded euros
Magnetiq Bank3.55 of 14EEA EMIs and PIs still in the licensing queue
Bank of London3.57 of 14Firms opening accounts during authorisation
Griffin3.28 of 14Dedicated per-customer safeguarding accounts
LHV Bank3.09 of 14GBP and EUR safeguarding with agency banking
Starling Banking Services2.810 of 14UK payment firms wanting their own sort code
Solaris2.211 of 14A second safeguarding account for licensed EMIs and PIs
CaixaBank2.112 of 14Payment firms licensed or passported into Spain
BNY1.913 of 14Large EMIs investing safeguarded cash in money market funds
Sutor Bank1.914 of 14Digital e-money and payment firms using banking as a service

Full Safeguarding Banks Index ranking

Banking Circle compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Banking Circle is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.