How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Griffin vs Solaris
Comparison · 2026 edition

Griffin vs Solaris: banking as a service compared 2026.

Griffin and Solaris side by side in the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.2 / 5Griffin
3.9 / 5Solaris
SolarisHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index, Solaris scores higher overall: 3.9 out of 5 (77 out of 100) against 3.2 (64), ranking 2 and 5 of 11. Solaris also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreGriffinSolaris
Score out of 53.23.9
Score out of 1006477
Overall rank5 of 112 of 11
For fintechs launching accounts and cards (out of 100)63, rank 582, rank 1
For software platforms embedding finance (out of 100)61, rank 568, rank 3
For regulated payment and e-money firms (out of 100)69, rank 581, rank 1
TypeUK bank for embedded financeGerman bank for embedded finance

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionGriffinSolaris
Product range3/5
Accounts and payment rails published; cards and lending not published.
5/5
Accounts, cards, payments and lending all published.
Published pricing2/5
Monthly spend tiers published; onboarding fee only as a "from" price.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.
Licence and deposit protection5/5
Own UK banking licence with firm reference and FSCS protection.
5/5
Own full banking licence with regulators named and deposit protection stated.
Compliance support3/5
Automated KYC and KYB published; transaction monitoring not described.
5/5
Solaris states it carries regulatory compliance and onboarding checks for partners.
Integration4/5
API, sandbox and a stated launch time; ready-made screens not published.
3/5
API and stated launch time; sandbox and ready-made screens not published on the pages read.
Markets1/5
UK only.
4/5
Local IBANs in three countries with EEA coverage.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactGriffinSolaris
Product rangeEmbedded bank accounts, business accounts, savings, client money, safeguarding, payments (Faster Payments, Bacs credits, CHAPS) and Verify. Cards and lending not published."Offer accounts, payment cards, consumer lending, and compliant ID solutions"; cards "Branded credit, debit and prepaid"; payments; digital asset custody; KYC platform.
PricingPlatform banking onboarding "from £15,000"; monthly minimum spend packages £4,000, £6,000 and £10,000, Enterprise custom.Not published on the pages read.
Licence and deposit protectionGriffin Bank Ltd, "authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and Prudential Regulation Authority", firm reference 970920; FSCS "up to £120,000".Solaris SE holds a "full German banking license" under the European Central Bank and BaFin; "all customer deposits are ECB-insured" (Solaris's wording).
Compliance supportVerify: "Automate KYC/KYB checks"; "Use our onboarding products to automate key compliance processes."Solaris "handles all regulatory complexities, continuously maintaining compliance"; "three-lines-of-defense risk management framework"; acts as "your dedicated regulatory anchor".
Integration"Embed accounts, payments and onboarding via our API"; sandbox at app.griffin.com/register; "Go live in 6 to 8 weeks"."modular REST APIs, real-time data webhooks"; partners can "go live in days, not years".
Scale"80+ companies use Griffin"; "£8.9B+ payments processed since launching in 2024".Not listed in this index
MarketsNot listed in this index"local IBANs in Germany, France, and Italy"; expansion "across the EEA".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Griffin: product range, compliance support and integration.

Not published or not stated by Solaris: pricing and integration.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: griffin.com/pricing, griffin.com/about, griffin.com/products/embedded-bank-accounts, griffin.com/products/payments, griffin.com/products/verify, griffin.com/deposit-protection; and solarisgroup.com/en/why-solaris, support.solarisgroup.com/hc/en-us/articles/….

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Griffin
Top rated for licence and deposit protection 2026
Solaris
Leader 2026Best for fintechs launching accounts and cards 2026Best for regulated payment and e-money firms 2026Top rated for product range 2026Top rated for licence and deposit protection 2026Top rated for compliance support 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Griffin suits

UK fintechs and platforms wanting a bank with published plan tiers and fast onboarding.

  • Licence and deposit protection (5/5). Own UK banking licence with firm reference and FSCS protection.

Griffin full profile

Solaris suits

European fintechs wanting a licensed bank that carries the compliance work.

  • Product range (5/5). Accounts, cards, payments and lending all published.
  • Licence and deposit protection (5/5). Own full banking licence with regulators named and deposit protection stated.
  • Compliance support (5/5). Solaris states it carries regulatory compliance and onboarding checks for partners.

Solaris full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.