How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Sutor Bank
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Sutor Bank review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A Hamburg bank founded in 1921 that now sells banking as a service to digital firms.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
1.9 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
1Index
14 of 14Rank, Safeguarding Banks Index

Short answer.

Sutor Bank scores 1.9 out of 5 (39 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Safeguarding Banks Index 2026 and ranks 14 of 14. It is strongest for digital e-money and payment firms using banking as a service, and its best criterion is standing at 4 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: who it serves, products, pricing, onboarding, protection and scale and published pricing.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Safeguarding Banks Index 2026.

Safeguarding Banks Index

1.9 / 539 out of 100 · rank 14 of 14

No award in the Safeguarding Banks Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For E-money institutions4114 of 14
For payment institutions4014 of 14
For firms applying for a licence3614 of 14

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Digital e-money and payment firms using banking as a service.

  • Standing (4/5). BaFin supervised bank in the statutory and private banks' deposit protection schemes; no client numbers.
Watch out for
  • Who it serves (2/5). E-money companies and payment providers named for escrow accounts; no countries, minimums or licence requirements published.
  • Published pricing (0/5). No fees or interest published.
  • Onboarding (1/5). Only fully digital account opening stated; no timeline, document list or licence requirement.
  • Technology (2/5). API accounts listed without balance, reconciliation or reporting detail.

Published facts.

What Sutor Bank publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

A Hamburg bank founded in 1921 that now sells banking as a service to digital firms. Its platform page lists escrow (trust) accounts for e-money companies and payment providers alongside API current and corporate accounts and fully digital account opening. It publishes nothing further on these accounts: no eligibility criteria, prices, timeline or scheme access.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Legal status"Sutor Bank GmbH", "Commercial Register: Hamburg Local Court HRB 178357"; "Supervised by the Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin)".
Who it serves"Escrow accounts for platforms, marketplaces, crowdfunding models, e-money companies, payment providers and other digital businesses" (German page: "Treuhandkonten für Plattformen, Marktplätze, Crowdfunding-Modelle, E-Money-Unternehmen, Zahlungsdienstleister und andere digitale Unternehmen"). Countries, minimums and licence requirements not published.
ProductsEscrow (trust) accounts; "API-Retailkonten" and "API-Firmenkonten" (API retail and corporate accounts); fiat and crypto accounts with API connection. Payment scheme access not stated.
PricingNot published for these accounts.
Onboarding"Volldigitale Konteneröffnung" (fully digital account opening). No timeline, document list or licence requirement stated.
TechnologyAPI retail and corporate accounts listed; no balance, reconciliation or reporting detail.
Protection and scaleDeposits covered by the "Entschädigungseinrichtung deutscher Banken GmbH" up to "100.000 Euro pro Einleger pro Kreditinstitut"; "Member of the Deposit Protection Fund of Private Banks". No client numbers published.
Date read21 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Sutor Bank

  • Who it serves. Countries, minimums and licence requirements not published.
  • Products. Payment scheme access not stated.
  • Pricing. Not published for these accounts.
  • Onboarding. No timeline, document list or licence requirement stated.
  • Protection and scale. No client numbers published.
  • Who it serves. No countries, minimums or licence requirements published.
  • Products. No scheme access stated.
  • Published pricing. No fees or interest published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: sutorbank.de/en/banking-platform, sutorbank.de/banking-plattform, sutorbank.de/en/imprint, sutorbank.de/fileadmin/Dateien/footer/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Who it serves: 2/5. E-money companies and payment providers named for escrow accounts; no countries, minimums or licence requirements published.
  • Products: 3/5. Escrow (trust) accounts with API current and corporate accounts; no scheme access stated.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. No fees or interest published.
  • Onboarding: 1/5. Only fully digital account opening stated; no timeline, document list or licence requirement.
  • Technology: 2/5. API accounts listed without balance, reconciliation or reporting detail.
  • Standing: 4/5. BaFin supervised bank in the statutory and private banks' deposit protection schemes; no client numbers.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Safeguarding Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Sutor Bank alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
ClearBank4.21 of 14EMIs and PIs needing direct UK and EU scheme access
European Merchant Bank3.82 of 14EU EMIs wanting a published safeguarding tariff
Mano Bank3.83 of 14EU EMIs and PIs wanting fixed published safeguarding fees
Memo Bank3.64 of 14EU firms wanting interest on safeguarded euros
Magnetiq Bank3.55 of 14EEA EMIs and PIs still in the licensing queue
Banking Circle3.56 of 14Multi-currency safeguarding across the UK and EEA
Bank of London3.57 of 14Firms opening accounts during authorisation
Griffin3.28 of 14Dedicated per-customer safeguarding accounts
LHV Bank3.09 of 14GBP and EUR safeguarding with agency banking
Starling Banking Services2.810 of 14UK payment firms wanting their own sort code
Solaris2.211 of 14A second safeguarding account for licensed EMIs and PIs
CaixaBank2.112 of 14Payment firms licensed or passported into Spain
BNY1.913 of 14Large EMIs investing safeguarded cash in money market funds

Full Safeguarding Banks Index ranking

Sutor Bank compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Sutor Bank is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.