How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Card machines › Accept payments on iPhone with Tap to Pay
Merchant services

Accept payments on iPhone with Tap to Pay.

Tap to Pay on iPhone lets you take contactless card payments with nothing but your phone. Here is which UK providers offer it, what they charge per tap and how to set it up, read 26 October 2026.

Reviewed by the Buckingham Capital Consulting merchant payments team · Prices read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · How we compare

We compare the whole market.

Published rates from every major UK card machine provider, plus the quoted rates that only come on request. You see them side by side, on your own takings.

DojoSumUpTeyaFlatpayPaymentsenseSquareWorldpaytakepaymentsZettleCloverBarclaycardRevolutStripemyPOSTyl by NatWestVivaElavonLloyds Cardnet

The short answer

To accept payments on an iPhone, download a payment provider's app, open a business account and switch on Tap to Pay on iPhone. Customers tap a contactless card, phone or watch on your iPhone, with no reader needed. SumUp charges 1.69% with no monthly fee, Square from 1.75% per tap on iPhone XS or above, and myPOS from 1.10% + 7p, read 26 October 2026.

Card machine fees compared.

Published prices read 26 October 2026 from each provider's own pricing page. Quote only means the provider gives rates on request; we obtain those for you.

ProviderIn-person card rateMonthly feeCard machineContractPayouts
SumUp
Source
1.69% pay as you go, or 0.99% on Payments Plus (domestic cards)£0, or £19 on Payments PlusSolo Lite £25, Solo £79, Terminal £135 (ex VAT), bought outrightNone, cancel anytimeNext day, 7am, weekends included
Dojo
Source
1.2% blended under £100k a year; custom above£0 Essential; Plus £11.99 new customers (£25 list)Go Max £149 or £25 a month; Pocket £239 or £20; Wired £179 or £1530-day rolling or 12-month fixed (custom rate)Next day
Square
Source
1.75% UK cards; +1.5% non-UK cards£0, or Plus £29+Reader £19; Terminal £149 (ex VAT)None, cancel anytimeNext day free; instant for 1.95%
Zettle
Source
1.75% all major cards£0PayPal Reader from £29; Terminal £149 (ex VAT)NoneWithin minutes to PayPal balance
Teya
Source
Quote onlyNot publishedNot publishedNo lock-ins statedNext day, weekends included
myPOS
Source
From 1.10% + 7p (under £10k a month)£0Device prices not on fees pageNot publishedInstant to myPOS account
Revolut
Source
From 0.8% + 2p (UK consumer Visa and Mastercard)£0 for the readerReader £49; Terminal £169 + VATNoneWithin 24 hours
Stripe
Source
1.4% + 10p EEA cards; 2.9% + 10p non-EEA£0WisePad 3 £49; S700 or S710 £229 (ex VAT)Pay as you goStandard free; instant 1%
Tyl by NatWest
Source
1.39% + 5p personal cards (under £50k a year)Machine hire from £13.99 + VATPAX A920 Pro £19.99, A50 £14.99, A80 £13.99 a month + VAT12 monthsNext business day
Lloyds Cardnet
Source
Cardnet quote only; Lloyds Accept 1.5% + 20p£10 minimum monthly charge (Cardnet)Saturn £23 or Clover Flex £21 a month + VATNot stated; Lloyds Accept noneNot published
Viva
Source
1.69% UK consumer cards£0 to £15.99 plans (min £3.99)Not publishedChange plan monthlyReal time

VAT is excluded where the provider states it. Rates are for in-person UK consumer cards unless stated. Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.

Get your best rate.

Tell us about your business. We compare the whole market, including the providers that only quote on request, and come back with the lowest total cost for your takings and the right machine. You keep a named account manager who looks after you after setup.

  • Whole of market, published and quoted rates
  • We negotiate the rate and the machine terms
  • We handle the switch from your current provider
  • A named account manager, not a call centre

Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.

Which providers offer Tap to Pay on iPhone.

Eleven UK providers on our list publish Tap to Pay details, and most cover iPhone and Android, which matters if your staff use different phones.

Barclaycard, Worldpay, Paymentsense, Flatpay, Clover and Elavon do not publish Tap to Pay on the pages we read. takepayments has a Tap to Pay page but does not state a rate.

  • SumUp: iPhone and Android, £0 hardware, 1.69%, or 0.99% on its monthly plan.
  • Square: iPhone XS or above, and Android, from 1.75% per tap.
  • Dojo: Tap to Pay on iPhone at £0 with no contract; separate rate not stated; Android not listed.
  • Zettle, now PayPal Point of Sale: through the PayPal POS app, at its 1.75% card rate.
  • Teya: iPhone and Android, rate not stated.
  • myPOS (myPOS Glass): iPhone and Android, same pricing as its card readers, from 1.10% + 7p.
  • Revolut: Tap to Pay on iPhone; its fee schedule shows 0.8% + £0.10 on UK consumer Visa and Mastercard.
  • Stripe: iPhone and Android, card rate plus 10p per tap.
  • Tyl by NatWest: iPhone and Android, transaction fees only, no monthly hire or PCI fees.
  • Lloyds Accept: iPhone and Android, 1.5% + 20p.
  • Viva: Tap to Pay on its Terminal app, with a £0.10 minimum fee per payment.

What Tap to Pay on iPhone costs per payment.

Because the iPhone is the reader, there is usually no hardware cost. You pay a fee on each tap. Percentage-only pricing is cheapest on small sales. Pricing with a fixed fee per tap costs more on small sales and less on large ones.

On a £10 sale, read 26 October 2026: SumUp takes 16.9p, Square and Zettle 17.5p, myPOS 18p and Revolut's schedule 18p. Stripe, at 1.4% + 10p plus its 10p Tap to Pay fee, takes 34p, and Lloyds Accept 35p.

On a £40 sale the order changes: Revolut's schedule takes 42p, myPOS 51p, SumUp 67.6p, Square and Zettle 70p, Stripe 76p and Lloyds Accept 80p. Viva's £0.10 minimum only matters on very small payments, where its 1.69% would come to less than 10p.

So the right app depends on your average sale. Work out your typical payment first, then compare the fee on that amount, not the headline percentage.

Worked example: a mobile dog groomer.

A mobile dog groomer takes £2,700 a month on her iPhone at an average of £45, so 60 payments a month. Card fees only, at published rates read 26 October 2026, on UK consumer cards.

  • Revolut, 0.8% + £0.10 on its fee schedule: £27.60 a month.
  • myPOS, from 1.10% + 7p: £33.90.
  • SumUp pay-as-you-go, 1.69%: £45.63.
  • SumUp on its monthly plan, 0.99% on domestic cards: £26.73 in fees plus the plan, which SumUp's Tap to Pay page shows from £16 a month and its pricing page at £19 a month or £189 a year.
  • Square and Zettle, 1.75%: £47.25.
  • Stripe, 1.4% + 10p plus 10p per tap: £49.80.
  • Lloyds Accept, 1.5% + 20p: £52.50.
  • Over a year, the gap between the cheapest and dearest here is about £300, with no hardware cost on any of them.

What Tap to Pay on iPhone cannot do.

Tap to Pay is contactless only. Customers cannot insert a card or type a PIN into your iPhone, so a customer whose card does not tap, or who wants to pay by chip and PIN, needs another option. Card types can also differ: Tyl by NatWest says Tap to Pay acceptance of American Express is not currently available.

Check your phone too. Square states Tap to Pay on iPhone needs an iPhone XS or above. The phone needs a signal or Wi-Fi to send each payment, and a full battery for a long day.

If these limits matter, a small reader that pairs with your iPhone costs little and takes chip and PIN. Square Reader is £19 + VAT, SumUp Solo Lite £25 excluding VAT, the PayPal Reader from £29 excluding VAT for one reader per new business user, and the Revolut Reader and Stripe's BBPOS WisePad 3 £49 each. Many businesses keep Tap to Pay as a backup and use a reader for most payments.

How to set up Tap to Pay on your iPhone.

Setting up takes a few minutes once your business account is approved. Your provider must verify your identity and business first, as with any card payment account.

Before you rely on it, run a small test payment with your own card and refund it, so you know how refunds work in the app. Turn on receipts by text or email if your customers need them for expenses.

  • Choose a provider that supports Tap to Pay on iPhone and download its app from the App Store.
  • Open a business account and complete the identity and business checks.
  • Turn on Tap to Pay in the app settings and follow the on-screen steps.
  • To take a payment, enter the amount and hold the top of the iPhone towards the customer.
  • The customer taps their card, phone or watch near the top of your iPhone and the app confirms the payment.

Get the best rate for your business.

Tap to Pay prices look alike until you work them out on your own average sale. We compare the whole UK market, including Dojo, SumUp, Teya, Flatpay, Paymentsense, Square, Worldpay and others, on your takings and typical payment, and tell you whether a reader or full card machine would cost less as you grow. Then we negotiate the rate for you. We also check that the provider supports your iPhone model and the cards your customers use.

We set up the account, handle any switch from your current provider, and give you a named account manager who stays with you after setup. When you outgrow Tap to Pay, we help you add a reader or card machine on the same account. You pay us nothing. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose.

Get my best rate

Questions people ask.

How do I accept card payments on my iPhone?

Download an app that supports Tap to Pay on iPhone, such as SumUp, Square, Dojo, Teya, myPOS, Revolut, Stripe, Tyl by NatWest or Lloyds Accept. Open a business account, turn on Tap to Pay, enter the amount and let the customer tap their card or phone on your iPhone.

Which iPhone do I need for Tap to Pay?

Square states Tap to Pay on iPhone needs an iPhone XS or above. Check each other provider's requirements before you sign up. Keep your iPhone updated, because Tap to Pay depends on the phone's software as well as its contactless chip.

How much does Tap to Pay on iPhone cost?

There is usually no hardware cost. SumUp charges 1.69%, Square from 1.75% per tap, Zettle 1.75%, myPOS from 1.10% + 7p, Lloyds Accept 1.5% + 20p, and Stripe its card rate plus 10p per tap, read 26 October 2026. Tyl by NatWest charges transaction fees only.

Can I accept credit cards on my iPhone without a reader?

Yes, contactless credit and debit cards, plus Apple Pay and Google Pay, can be accepted with Tap to Pay on iPhone. Customers cannot insert a card or enter a PIN, so add a reader, such as Square Reader at £19 + VAT, if you need chip and PIN.

Does Tap to Pay on iPhone take American Express?

It depends on the provider. Tyl by NatWest says Tap to Pay acceptance of American Express is not currently available. SumUp states its 1.69% rate includes American Express on in-person payments. Check with your provider if many of your customers use Amex.

Is Tap to Pay on iPhone safe for my business?

Payments are processed by your provider like any card payment. SumUp, Square, Teya and myPOS state they are authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority. Lock your iPhone with a passcode, keep the app updated, and only give staff access through their own logins where the app allows it.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.