How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Card machines › Tyl card machine review: Tyl by NatWest fees and machines
Merchant services

Tyl card machine review: Tyl by NatWest fees and machines.

Tyl is NatWest's card payment service, and one of the few high-street banks to publish its rates. Here is what it costs and how it compares with Dojo, Barclaycard, Lloyds Cardnet and SumUp.

We compare the whole market.

Published rates from every major UK card machine provider, plus the quoted rates that only come on request. You see them side by side, on your own takings.

DojoSumUpTeyaFlatpayPaymentsenseSquareWorldpaytakepaymentsZettleCloverBarclaycardRevolutStripemyPOSTyl by NatWestVivaElavonLloyds Cardnet

The short answer

Tyl by NatWest charges 1.39% + 5p per transaction on UK and European personal cards and 1.99% + 5p on all other cards for businesses under £50K a year, read 26 October 2026. Machine hire is £19.99 + VAT a month for the PAX A920 Pro, £14.99 for the PAX A50 and £13.99 for the PAX A80, on a 12-month contract. Tap to Pay has no hire fee.

Card machine fees compared.

Published prices read 26 October 2026 from each provider's own pricing page. Quote only means the provider gives rates on request; we obtain those for you.

ProviderIn-person card rateMonthly feeCard machineContractPayouts
Tyl by NatWest
Source
1.39% + 5p personal cards (under £50k a year)Machine hire from £13.99 + VATPAX A920 Pro £19.99, A50 £14.99, A80 £13.99 a month + VAT12 monthsNext business day
Dojo
Source
1.2% blended under £100k a year; custom above£0 Essential; Plus £11.99 new customers (£25 list)Go Max £149 or £25 a month; Pocket £239 or £20; Wired £179 or £1530-day rolling or 12-month fixed (custom rate)Next day
Barclaycard
Source
Quote only (example 0.7% + 3p, representative)£16 to £29 + VAT service feeSmartpay Anywhere £29 + VAT12 to 18 months, or none for AnywhereNext day
Lloyds Cardnet
Source
Cardnet quote only; Lloyds Accept 1.5% + 20p£10 minimum monthly charge (Cardnet)Saturn £23 or Clover Flex £21 a month + VATNot stated; Lloyds Accept noneNot published
SumUp
Source
1.69% pay as you go, or 0.99% on Payments Plus (domestic cards)£0, or £19 on Payments PlusSolo Lite £25, Solo £79, Terminal £135 (ex VAT), bought outrightNone, cancel anytimeNext day, 7am, weekends included

VAT is excluded where the provider states it. Rates are for in-person UK consumer cards unless stated. Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.

Get your best rate.

Tell us about your business. We compare the whole market, including the providers that only quote on request, and come back with the lowest total cost for your takings and the right machine. You keep a named account manager who looks after you after setup.

  • Whole of market, published and quoted rates
  • We negotiate the rate and the machine terms
  • We handle the switch from your current provider
  • A named account manager, not a call centre

Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.

Tyl by NatWest fees.

Tyl is NatWest's card payment service, so a NatWest card machine is a Tyl machine. For businesses with under £50K a year in card takings, read 26 October 2026, Tyl charges 1.39% transaction fee + 5p per transaction for personal cards (UK and Europe), and 1.99% + 5p per transaction for all other cards, such as business and overseas cards. Over £50K, Tyl offers 5 tailored transaction rates instead of a published price.

Machine hire is extra: the PAX A920 Pro costs £19.99 + VAT a month, the PAX A50 £14.99 and the PAX A80 £13.99. Tyl notes these are card machine fees only and other additional charges apply. Online, the payment gateway (the service that takes card payments on a website) is usually £14.95 + VAT a month.

The contract is 12 months, and Tyl describes it as having no hidden fees. Over £50K, the invoice includes authorisation fees and a PCI compliance fee, with amounts not stated.

  • Personal cards (UK and Europe): 1.39% + 5p
  • All other cards: 1.99% + 5p
  • PAX A920 Pro £19.99, PAX A50 £14.99, PAX A80 £13.99 (+ VAT a month)
  • Contract: 12 months

Tyl card machine costs: worked examples.

Take a hairdresser with £4,000 a month of card sales, which is £48,000 a year and so within Tyl's under £50K pricing. At an average of £40, that is 100 payments, all on personal cards. Fees are 1.39% (£55.60) plus 100 x 5p (£5), so £60.60. Add the PAX A80 at £13.99 + VAT and the total is £74.59 before VAT.

The same takings on Dojo's 1.2% cost £48, with a free Essential plan and the Dojo Wired machine at £15 a month or £179 upfront. On SumUp's 1.69%, they cost £67.60, with the Solo bought once for £79 ex VAT and no monthly fee.

Over a 12-month contract, the PAX A920 Pro's hire alone is £239.88 + VAT. If 20% of your card sales are on business cards at 1.99%, add about £4.80 a month to the example above. Note that at £5,000 a month you would pass £50K a year and move to tailored rates.

Tyl card machines and free Tap to Pay.

Tyl offers three PAX card machines on monthly hire: the PAX A920 Pro, PAX A50 and PAX A80. The A80 is the cheapest at £13.99 + VAT a month, and the A920 Pro the dearest at £19.99 + VAT. Hire means you never own the machine, so the cost runs as long as you keep it.

Tyl's Tap to Pay is a strong option for small and mobile businesses. You can accept contactless payments on an iPhone or Android phone, with £0.00 cost beyond transaction fees: Tyl says there are no monthly hire or PCI fees for Tap to Pay. One limit: Tap to Pay acceptance of American Express is not currently available.

For a tradesperson or mobile hairdresser under £50K a year, Tap to Pay at 1.39% + 5p with no hire fee is among the cheapest bank-backed ways to take cards.

Settlement, support and regulation.

Tyl says payments are settled next business day: by the end of the business day, the day after the transactions took place. So Monday's takings reach you by the end of Tuesday. That is slower than SumUp, which pays by 7am the next day into its own account, and Viva and myPOS, which settle in real time.

Support is by phone or online chat, and Tyl says it is open Monday to Saturday. Sales are on 0161 605 6626. That is better than Barclaycard's weekday-only lines, but Sunday traders should note there is no Sunday cover stated.

Tyl is provided by National Westminster Bank plc, Financial Services Firm Reference Number 121878, authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority. For many owners, a contract with their own bank is a comfort.

Who it suits / who it does not suit.

Tyl suits small businesses under £50K a year that want a high-street bank, a published rate and a one-year contract. NatWest customers, hairdressers, beauty salons and mobile trades using free Tap to Pay are a good fit.

It suits businesses less well if they take many small sales, where the 5p per transaction adds up: on a £3 coffee, 1.39% + 5p is over 3%. It is also less suited to businesses over £50K a year, where rates become tailored and need a quote, and to anyone who needs American Express on Tap to Pay or same-day access to takings.

  • Suits: businesses under £50K a year wanting a bank provider
  • Suits: mobile trades using Tap to Pay with no hire fee
  • Does not suit: many small sales
  • Does not suit: Amex on Tap to Pay or same-day payouts

Alternatives worth comparing.

Dojo charges 1.2% on all cards under £100,000 a year, with no 5p per sale, and lets you choose a 12-month fixed plan or 30-day rolling on custom rates. Barclaycard quotes rates, with machines from £16 + VAT a month on 18-month contracts or Smartpay Anywhere with no contract.

Lloyds Cardnet quotes rates, rents the Castles Saturn at £23 + VAT a month and the Clover Flex at £21 + VAT, and its Lloyds Accept service charges from 1.5% + 20p with no monthly fees. SumUp charges 1.69% with no monthly fee and no contract.

If you want to stay with a high-street bank, Tyl, Barclaycard and Lloyds are the three to compare side by side. If you care more about the lowest monthly total, Dojo's single rate with no fee per sale is usually the figure to beat.

Get the best rate for your business.

Choosing between Tyl and the alternatives on this page takes time, and the published figures are only the starting point. We compare the whole UK market on your own numbers: your monthly card takings, your average sale and the cards your customers use. For Tyl, we check whether your takings sit under or over £50K a year and price the tailored rates if you are close to the line. Then we negotiate the rate with the provider that fits, so you are not left to haggle alone.

We also handle the switch for you, from the application to the day your new machine arrives, and you get a named account manager who stays with you after setup. If your rate creeps up or your business changes, you have one person to call. You pay us nothing: we may receive a fee from the provider you choose. Fill in the quote form and we will come back with a clear comparison.

Get my best rate

Questions people ask.

What are Tyl by NatWest fees?

Under £50K a year in card takings, read 26 October 2026: 1.39% + 5p per transaction for UK and European personal cards, and 1.99% + 5p for all other cards. Over £50K, rates are tailored. Machine hire and other charges are extra.

How much is a NatWest card machine?

NatWest card machines are provided through Tyl on monthly hire: PAX A920 Pro £19.99 + VAT a month, PAX A50 £14.99 and PAX A80 £13.99. Tap to Pay on your phone has no monthly hire fee.

How long is a Tyl contract?

Tyl uses a 12-month contract, which it describes as having no hidden fees. Ask for the cost of leaving early in writing before you sign. Barclaycard's portable and countertop machines, by comparison, use 18-month contracts.

Does Tyl Tap to Pay cost anything?

Tyl says Tap to Pay has no monthly hire or PCI fees, only transaction fees. It works on iPhone and Android. American Express is not currently accepted on Tap to Pay.

Do I need a NatWest account to use Tyl?

Tyl's pricing page does not state this requirement. Ask Tyl directly which bank accounts it can pay your takings into before you apply, and whether the pricing changes if you bank elsewhere.

When does Tyl pay out?

Tyl settles next business day: by the end of the business day, the day after the transactions took place. So Monday's takings arrive by the end of Tuesday. Viva and myPOS settle faster, in real time.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.