How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Card machines › Barclaycard card machine review: Smartpay Touch, Smartpay Anywhere and fees
Merchant services

Barclaycard card machine review: Smartpay Touch, Smartpay Anywhere and fees.

Barclaycard publishes its monthly fees and contract terms but quotes its rates. Here is what each option costs and how it compares with Dojo, Tyl, Lloyds Cardnet and Worldpay.

We compare the whole market.

Published rates from every major UK card machine provider, plus the quoted rates that only come on request. You see them side by side, on your own takings.

DojoSumUpTeyaFlatpayPaymentsenseSquareWorldpaytakepaymentsZettleCloverBarclaycardRevolutStripemyPOSTyl by NatWestVivaElavonLloyds Cardnet

The short answer

Barclaycard quotes its card transaction rates, but publishes its monthly fees, read 26 October 2026: portable machine £18 + VAT a month on an 18-month contract, countertop £16 + VAT on 18 months, Smartpay Touch £29 + VAT on 12 months, and Smartpay Anywhere £29 + VAT upfront with no monthly fee and no contract. Its representative example shows 0.7% plus a 3p authorisation fee on personal debit cards.

Card machine fees compared.

Published prices read 26 October 2026 from each provider's own pricing page. Quote only means the provider gives rates on request; we obtain those for you.

ProviderIn-person card rateMonthly feeCard machineContractPayouts
Barclaycard
Source
Quote only (example 0.7% + 3p, representative)£16 to £29 + VAT service feeSmartpay Anywhere £29 + VAT12 to 18 months, or none for AnywhereNext day
Dojo
Source
1.2% blended under £100k a year; custom above£0 Essential; Plus £11.99 new customers (£25 list)Go Max £149 or £25 a month; Pocket £239 or £20; Wired £179 or £1530-day rolling or 12-month fixed (custom rate)Next day
Tyl by NatWest
Source
1.39% + 5p personal cards (under £50k a year)Machine hire from £13.99 + VATPAX A920 Pro £19.99, A50 £14.99, A80 £13.99 a month + VAT12 monthsNext business day
Lloyds Cardnet
Source
Cardnet quote only; Lloyds Accept 1.5% + 20p£10 minimum monthly charge (Cardnet)Saturn £23 or Clover Flex £21 a month + VATNot stated; Lloyds Accept noneNot published
Worldpay
Source
Quote onlyTerminal £20 a month (indicative)Rental, quoteMinimum 18 monthsNext day

VAT is excluded where the provider states it. Rates are for in-person UK consumer cards unless stated. Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.

Get your best rate.

Tell us about your business. We compare the whole market, including the providers that only quote on request, and come back with the lowest total cost for your takings and the right machine. You keep a named account manager who looks after you after setup.

  • Whole of market, published and quoted rates
  • We negotiate the rate and the machine terms
  • We handle the switch from your current provider
  • A named account manager, not a call centre

Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.

Barclaycard card machine fees and contracts.

Barclaycard is the card payments arm of Barclays, which is why people search for both Barclaycard and Barclays card machines. It publishes four options, read 26 October 2026. The Barclaycard portable machine costs £18 + VAT monthly service fee on an 18-month contract. The countertop machine costs £16 + VAT on an 18-month contract. Smartpay Touch costs £29 + VAT monthly service fee on a 12-month contract. Smartpay Anywhere has an upfront cost of £29 plus VAT for the card reader, no monthly service fee and no contract.

Transaction rates are customised pricing for all readers. Barclaycard gives one example only, for a personal debit card used in person on a £50 item: a 0.7% transaction charge plus a 3p authorisation fee (a small fixed charge each time a card payment is approved). It says these rates are representative only.

Barclaycard also says you may incur extra fees like a minimum monthly service charge, chargeback fees or PCI DSS management, without stating amounts. Ask for each in writing.

  • Portable: £18 + VAT a month, 18 months
  • Countertop: £16 + VAT a month, 18 months
  • Smartpay Touch: £29 + VAT a month, 12 months
  • Smartpay Anywhere: £29 + VAT upfront, no contract

Barclaycard costs: worked examples.

Using Barclaycard's representative debit card example, a £50 sale costs 0.7% (35p) plus a 3p authorisation fee, so 38p. On £5,000 a month of personal debit card sales at £50 each, which is 100 payments, that is £35 plus £3, so £38 in transaction fees. Add the portable machine at £18 + VAT and the total is £56 before VAT and before any credit, business or premium card charges, which are not published.

Over an 18-month contract, the portable machine's service fee alone is £324 + VAT. Smartpay Touch over its 12 months is £348 + VAT.

Compare Dojo on the same £5,000: 1.2% across all cards is £60, with a free Essential plan and Go Max at £149 upfront. Tyl by NatWest, under £50,000 a year, charges 1.39% + 5p on personal cards. Barclaycard can be competitive on debit-heavy takings, but only a full written quote covering every card type tells you.

Smartpay Touch and Smartpay Anywhere.

Smartpay Touch is Barclaycard's all-in-one point of sale option, at £29 + VAT a month on a 12-month contract with a £0 cancellation cost. Barclaycard does not state a separate software price beyond that monthly service fee.

Smartpay Anywhere is the low-commitment choice: a £29 plus VAT card reader, no monthly service fee and no contract, with a £0 cancellation cost. It suits sole traders and mobile businesses who want a high-street name without a long tie-in. The rate is still customised, so ask for it before you buy.

Cancellation is where the options differ most. The portable and countertop machines have a variable cancellation cost. Barclaycard's own example is £10 multiplied by two months left in your contract, so £20 plus VAT. Smartpay Touch and Smartpay Anywhere cost £0 to cancel. If you are moving from another provider, Barclaycard offers up to £1,000 towards exit fees when you switch.

Settlement and support.

Barclaycard offers next-day settlement, meaning card takings reach your account the next day. There is a cut-off: transactions need to be taken before 7pm, or before 9pm for countertop and portable card readers. A restaurant taking most of its money after 9pm should ask how late sales are treated.

Support is by phone. New business sales are on 0800 158 5149, Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm. Existing customers can call 0800 161 5343, Monday to Friday, 8am to 6pm. There is no weekend line on the pages we read, which is a weakness for businesses that trade on Saturdays and Sundays. Dojo, Clover and takepayments all advertise wider support hours.

Barclays Bank PLC is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority, Financial Services Register number 122702.

Who it suits / who it does not suit.

Barclaycard suits established businesses that want a major bank behind their card payments, take mostly debit cards and can commit to a 12 or 18-month contract in return for a negotiated rate. Smartpay Anywhere suits sole traders who want a no-contract reader from a bank.

It does not suit businesses that want to see every fee before applying, because rates, minimum monthly charges and PCI fees are not published. It is also a weaker fit for evening and weekend trade, given the 9pm settlement cut-off on most machines and weekday-only phone lines.

  • Suits: established, debit-heavy businesses
  • Suits: sole traders wanting Smartpay Anywhere with no contract
  • Does not suit: owners wanting a fully published price
  • Does not suit: late-night and weekend-heavy trade

Alternatives worth comparing.

Dojo publishes 1.2% on all cards under £100,000 a year, offers up to £3,000 contract buyout and promises a UK person in minutes. Tyl by NatWest is the closest high-street bank rival, with published rates under £50,000 a year of 1.39% + 5p on personal cards and machine hire from £13.99 + VAT a month on a 12-month contract.

Lloyds Cardnet quotes its rates, rents the Castles Saturn at £23 + VAT a month and has a £10 minimum monthly charge. Worldpay is quote only, with an indicative terminal at £20 a month, a minimum 18-month contract on online applications and 24/7 support.

If you want a bank but no contract, compare Smartpay Anywhere with Lloyds Accept, which has published fees from 1.5% + 20p and no monthly fee, and with Tyl's Tap to Pay, which has no hire or PCI fees. The cheapest choice depends on your average sale.

Get the best rate for your business.

Choosing between Barclaycard and the alternatives on this page takes time, and the published figures are only the starting point. We compare the whole UK market on your own numbers: your monthly card takings, your average sale and the cards your customers use. For Barclaycard, we get the customised rate for every card type in writing and set it against published alternatives. Then we negotiate the rate with the provider that fits, so you are not left to haggle alone.

We also handle the switch for you, from the application to the day your new machine arrives, and you get a named account manager who stays with you after setup. If your rate creeps up or your business changes, you have one person to call. You pay us nothing: we may receive a fee from the provider you choose. Fill in the quote form and we will come back with a clear comparison.

Get my best rate

Questions people ask.

How much does a Barclaycard card machine cost?

Read 26 October 2026: portable £18 + VAT a month, countertop £16 + VAT a month, Smartpay Touch £29 + VAT a month, and Smartpay Anywhere £29 + VAT upfront with no monthly fee. Transaction rates are customised and quoted separately.

What are Barclaycard's transaction fees?

Barclaycard uses customised pricing. Its representative example for a personal debit card used in person on a £50 item is a 0.7% transaction charge plus a 3p authorisation fee. Other card types are quoted.

How long is a Barclaycard card machine contract?

18 months for the portable and countertop machines, 12 months for Smartpay Touch, and no contract for Smartpay Anywhere. Cancelling Smartpay Touch or Anywhere costs £0; the others have a variable cancellation cost.

Is a Barclays card machine the same as Barclaycard?

Yes. Barclays sells its card machines through Barclaycard Payments, provided by Barclays Bank PLC, Financial Services Register number 122702. The same machines, monthly fees and contract terms apply whichever name you search for.

Will Barclaycard pay my exit fees if I switch?

Barclaycard offers up to £1,000 towards exit fees when you switch from another provider. Check the conditions in writing before you cancel your current contract. Dojo offers contract buyout up to £3,000 if you are comparing.

When does Barclaycard pay out?

Barclaycard offers next-day settlement, meaning takings reach your account the next day. Transactions need to be taken before 7pm, or before 9pm for countertop and portable card readers. Ask how later sales are treated.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.