WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Paymentsense publishes a detailed card payments summary, and the full monthly cost is in the small fees as much as the rate. Here is every published charge and what it adds up to.
Published rates from every major UK card machine provider, plus the quoted rates that only come on request. You see them side by side, on your own takings.
The short answer
Paymentsense's published pricing summary shows 1.40% on UK Visa and Mastercard debit and credit cards in person, 1.99% on business cards and a 5p authorisation fee per payment. Monthly costs include £20 + VAT per terminal, a £4.95 + VAT PCI DSS fee and a £24.95 minimum monthly service charge. Above £150,000 a year, pricing is bespoke. Read 26 October 2026.
Published prices read 26 October 2026 from each provider's own pricing page. Quote only means the provider gives rates on request; we obtain those for you.
| Provider | In-person card rate | Monthly fee | Card machine | Contract | Payouts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paymentsense Source | 1.40% debit and credit (price tool); bespoke over £150k | Terminal £20 + VAT; minimum service charge £24.95 | Rental, £20 a month + VAT | Not published | 24 working hours |
| Dojo Source | 1.2% blended under £100k a year; custom above | £0 Essential; Plus £11.99 new customers (£25 list) | Go Max £149 or £25 a month; Pocket £239 or £20; Wired £179 or £15 | 30-day rolling or 12-month fixed (custom rate) | Next day |
| Worldpay Source | Quote only | Terminal £20 a month (indicative) | Rental, quote | Minimum 18 months | Next day |
| Tyl by NatWest Source | 1.39% + 5p personal cards (under £50k a year) | Machine hire from £13.99 + VAT | PAX A920 Pro £19.99, A50 £14.99, A80 £13.99 a month + VAT | 12 months | Next business day |
| Teya Source | Quote only | Not published | Not published | No lock-ins stated | Next day, weekends included |
VAT is excluded where the provider states it. Rates are for in-person UK consumer cards unless stated. Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.
Tell us about your business. We compare the whole market, including the providers that only quote on request, and come back with the lowest total cost for your takings and the right machine. You keep a named account manager who looks after you after setup.
Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.
Paymentsense publishes its fees through the card payments summary in its pricing tool. The figures below are the tool's default display for Mastercard and Visa on UK-based cards, taken in person, and they may change with the details you enter. If your annual card turnover is above £150,000, Paymentsense says its team can advise on bespoke pricing. All figures read on 26 October 2026.
Paymentsense's own example shows how the parts add up: a £10 sale costs 14p at 1.4% plus the 5p authorisation fee, which is 19p in total. On a £10 sale, that is close to 1.9%.
Take a café with £5,000 a month in 500 payments of £10. Card fees are £70 and authorisation fees £25, so £95. Add the £20 terminal and £4.95 PCI fee, both plus VAT, and the total is £119.95 a month for the first 3 months. Once the £12.95 reporting fee starts, it is £132.90 a month, or about 2.66% of takings.
Now a shop with the same £5,000 in 100 payments of £50. Card fees are £70 and authorisation fees £5, so £75, plus £24.95 in fixed fees, a total of £99.95, then £112.90 with reporting.
Compare Dojo, which is the same company: its published 1.2% blended rate costs £60 a month on £5,000 on the free Essential plan, before a machine from £149 upfront. For a business under £100,000 a year, that gap is worth checking.
Very small businesses should watch the minimum. On £1,000 a month in 100 payments of £10, service charges are £14 plus £5, which is £19, below the £24.95 minimum.
Settlement time is 24 working hours, which means takings usually reach your bank the next working day. No payout fee is stated. Because the figure is given in working hours, weekend takings may take longer to arrive.
Contract terms, Tap to Pay, point of sale software and customer support details were not published on the pricing page we read. The terminal is charged at £20 + VAT per terminal per month, but terminal names are not stated, so ask which Paymentsense card reader you will receive.
Two fees are easy to avoid. The PCI non-compliance fee of £35 + VAT a month applies only if you do not complete the security check, so complete it as soon as you are set up. The reporting fee of £12.95 a month starts after the first 3 months, so ask whether you need it.
Paymentsense states that Paymentsense Limited is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FRN 738728) and under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 (FRN 900925). It is the same company as Dojo, which publishes separate, simpler pricing.
This review uses Paymentsense's published pricing summary, read on 26 October 2026.
Run the numbers with your own average sale before you decide. The smaller your average sale, the more the 5p fee matters.
Paymentsense is closest to other providers that rent terminals and price each card type separately. Figures read on 26 October 2026.
For most businesses under £100,000 a year, Dojo is the first comparison, as it is the same company with simpler published pricing. Above £150,000 a year, ask Paymentsense, Worldpay and Teya for bespoke quotes on the same basis and compare the full monthly totals.
Paymentsense publishes a default rate, but above £150,000 a year it offers bespoke pricing, and your real cost depends on far more than the headline rate. We compare the whole UK card machine market for your business, including providers that only quote in private. We take your real monthly takings, average sale and card mix to them and negotiate the rate on your behalf, so you are not comparing headline figures that do not fit your trade.
We then handle the switch for you, from the application to the timing of any exit from your current contract, so you are not left without a working card machine. You get a named account manager who stays with you after setup and checks your rate as your business grows. You pay us nothing for this. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose. Fill in the quote form to start.
Paymentsense's published summary shows 1.40% on UK Visa and Mastercard debit and credit cards in person, 1.99% on business cards, a 5p authorisation fee, £20 + VAT per terminal a month, a £4.95 + VAT PCI DSS fee and a £24.95 minimum monthly service charge. Read 26 October 2026.
Paymentsense charges £20.00 + VAT per point of sale terminal per month. Terminal names and any upfront price are not stated on its pricing page. Ask which model you will receive and how long the hire runs.
Yes. Paymentsense Limited operates both. Dojo publishes a 1.2% blended rate for businesses under £100,000 a year, while Paymentsense publishes 1.40% on debit and credit cards plus a 5p authorisation fee and monthly charges.
It is £24.95. It acts as a floor on your monthly service charges, so a small business whose card fees come to less than £24.95 in a month still pays that amount.
Paymentsense shows a settlement time of 24 working hours. No payout fee is stated. Because it is stated in working hours, weekend takings may take longer to arrive. Paymentsense also lists a refund fee of 50p.
The PCI DSS service fee is £4.95 + VAT a month. If you do not complete PCI compliance, a PCI non-compliance fee of £35.00 + VAT a month applies, so complete the security check promptly.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.