How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Card machines › Lloyds card machine review: Cardnet and Lloyds Accept fees
Merchant services

Lloyds card machine review: Cardnet and Lloyds Accept fees.

Lloyds Bank offers two ways to take cards: Cardnet, with quoted rates and rented machines, and Lloyds Accept, with published rates and no contract. Here is how each compares with Tyl, Barclaycard, Dojo and Stripe.

We compare the whole market.

Published rates from every major UK card machine provider, plus the quoted rates that only come on request. You see them side by side, on your own takings.

DojoSumUpTeyaFlatpayPaymentsenseSquareWorldpaytakepaymentsZettleCloverBarclaycardRevolutStripemyPOSTyl by NatWestVivaElavonLloyds Cardnet

The short answer

Lloyds Bank offers two card machine services, read 26 October 2026. Cardnet quotes its rates, rents the Castles Saturn at £23 + VAT a month and the Clover Flex at £21 + VAT, and has a £10 minimum monthly charge. Lloyds Accept charges from 1.5% + 20p per transaction, with no set-up costs, monthly fees or cancellation charges, using readers from £49 + VAT.

Card machine fees compared.

Published prices read 26 October 2026 from each provider's own pricing page. Quote only means the provider gives rates on request; we obtain those for you.

ProviderIn-person card rateMonthly feeCard machineContractPayouts
Lloyds Cardnet
Source
Cardnet quote only; Lloyds Accept 1.5% + 20p£10 minimum monthly charge (Cardnet)Saturn £23 or Clover Flex £21 a month + VATNot stated; Lloyds Accept noneNot published
Tyl by NatWest
Source
1.39% + 5p personal cards (under £50k a year)Machine hire from £13.99 + VATPAX A920 Pro £19.99, A50 £14.99, A80 £13.99 a month + VAT12 monthsNext business day
Barclaycard
Source
Quote only (example 0.7% + 3p, representative)£16 to £29 + VAT service feeSmartpay Anywhere £29 + VAT12 to 18 months, or none for AnywhereNext day
Dojo
Source
1.2% blended under £100k a year; custom above£0 Essential; Plus £11.99 new customers (£25 list)Go Max £149 or £25 a month; Pocket £239 or £20; Wired £179 or £1530-day rolling or 12-month fixed (custom rate)Next day
Stripe
Source
1.4% + 10p EEA cards; 2.9% + 10p non-EEA£0WisePad 3 £49; S700 or S710 £229 (ex VAT)Pay as you goStandard free; instant 1%

VAT is excluded where the provider states it. Rates are for in-person UK consumer cards unless stated. Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.

Get your best rate.

Tell us about your business. We compare the whole market, including the providers that only quote on request, and come back with the lowest total cost for your takings and the right machine. You keep a named account manager who looks after you after setup.

  • Whole of market, published and quoted rates
  • We negotiate the rate and the machine terms
  • We handle the switch from your current provider
  • A named account manager, not a call centre

Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.

Lloyds Cardnet fees and machines.

Cardnet is Lloyds Bank's main card payment service. Its fees are tailored: Lloyds says it tailors fees to your specific needs. To give an idea, its example for a £100 sale shows a service charge of 0.5% for Visa debit, with an example authorisation fee of £0.03. Rates for credit, business and premium cards are not published.

Machines are rented. The Castles Saturn costs £23 monthly rental + VAT, and the Clover Flex £21 monthly rental + VAT, with an optional £10 SIM so it works away from wifi. Lloyds says a software subscription is required for some card readers, without stating the price.

Your minimum monthly charge is £10. That means if your transaction fees in a month come to less than £10, you pay £10. Lloyds lists PCI DSS management, refunds and chargebacks as charges, without amounts. Contract length is not stated on the pages we read, so ask before you sign.

  • Rates: tailored; example Visa debit 0.5% on £100
  • Authorisation fee example: £0.03
  • Castles Saturn: £23 + VAT a month
  • Clover Flex: £21 + VAT a month (optional £10 SIM)
  • Minimum monthly charge: £10

Lloyds Accept: published rates, no contract.

Lloyds Accept is the bank's simpler option for small and mobile businesses. You take payments on your phone or on a card reader, and pay just transaction fees starting at 1.5% + 20p, read 26 October 2026. Premium cards cost 2% + 20p, and EU and international cards 3% + 20p.

There are no set-up costs, monthly fees or cancellation charges, and no monthly payments or contract tying you down. You buy a reader outright: the BBPOS WisePad 3 for £49 + VAT or the Stripe Reader S710 for £230 + VAT. These are the same readers Stripe sells directly.

Lloyds Accept also offers Tap to Pay on iPhone and Tap to Pay on Android, letting you accept contactless cards on your phone with no reader, at the same 1.5% + 20p standard fee. For a sole trader who banks with Lloyds and takes a few payments a week, that is a simple, low-commitment start.

Lloyds card machine costs: worked examples.

Take a shop with £5,000 a month of card sales at an average of £20, which is 250 payments. On Lloyds Accept, standard cards cost 1.5% (£75) plus 250 x 20p (£50), so £125 a month. Stripe charges the same shop 1.4% + 10p, so £95. Dojo's 1.2% costs £60.

The 20p fixed fee is the main cost on small sales. On a £5 sale, Lloyds Accept charges 7.5p + 20p, so 27.5p, or 5.5%. On a £100 sale it charges £1.70, or 1.7%.

On Cardnet, using the published Visa debit example, the same £5,000 at 0.5% plus 3p per payment is £25 plus £7.50, so £32.50, plus £21 + VAT for a Clover Flex: £53.50 before VAT. That is only an example for Visa debit. Credit, business and premium cards will cost more, so get a full quote. Even so, for a steady business, Cardnet is likely to cost far less than Lloyds Accept.

Support, payouts and the Lloyds name.

Lloyds' Cardnet prices page gives a phone line, 0330 134 7976, with lines open 9am to 5pm Monday to Friday. Its card readers page says UK-based help is available seven days a week. Ask which support applies to your service and at what hours, especially if you trade at weekends.

Payout speed is not published on the pages we read. Ask when card takings will reach your account, and whether that changes at weekends. Most rivals publish this: Tyl settles by the end of the next business day, and Barclaycard offers next-day settlement.

The Lloyds pages state that eligible deposits are protected by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS), the UK scheme that protects bank deposits. No FCA register number for the card payment service is shown on the pages we read, so ask which company provides your Cardnet contract.

Who it suits / who it does not suit.

Lloyds Cardnet suits established businesses that bank with Lloyds, take steady card volume and want a negotiated rate from their own bank. The debit card example of 0.5% plus 3p is competitive if the full quote follows it. Lloyds Accept suits sole traders and occasional sellers who want no contract, no monthly fee and a bank name.

Lloyds Accept does not suit businesses with many small sales: the 20p fixed fee is one of the highest in the market. Cardnet does not suit businesses that want a fully published price, or very small businesses for whom the £10 minimum monthly charge plus £21 or £23 rental is a large share of costs.

  • Cardnet suits: steady-volume Lloyds customers
  • Accept suits: occasional sellers wanting no contract
  • Accept does not suit: many small sales
  • Cardnet does not suit: very low-volume businesses

Alternatives worth comparing.

Tyl by NatWest is the closest bank rival with published rates: under £50K a year, 1.39% + 5p on personal cards, machine hire from £13.99 + VAT a month and free Tap to Pay. Barclaycard quotes rates but publishes machine fees from £16 + VAT a month, with Smartpay Anywhere at £29 + VAT and no contract.

Dojo charges 1.2% on all cards under £100,000 a year with no fixed fee per sale. Stripe Terminal sells the same readers as Lloyds Accept and charges 1.4% + 10p on EEA cards, lower than Lloyds Accept's 1.5% + 20p.

If you want to keep everything with Lloyds, the choice is between Cardnet and Lloyds Accept, and it comes down to volume. Small, occasional takings suit Accept. Steady monthly takings usually make a Cardnet quote, or one of the alternatives above, cheaper.

Get the best rate for your business.

Choosing between Lloyds and the alternatives on this page takes time, and the published figures are only the starting point. We compare the whole UK market on your own numbers: your monthly card takings, your average sale and the cards your customers use. For Lloyds customers, we get the full Cardnet quote for every card type and test it against Lloyds Accept and the rest of the market. Then we negotiate the rate with the provider that fits, so you are not left to haggle alone.

We also handle the switch for you, from the application to the day your new machine arrives, and you get a named account manager who stays with you after setup. If your rate creeps up or your business changes, you have one person to call. You pay us nothing: we may receive a fee from the provider you choose. Fill in the quote form and we will come back with a clear comparison.

Get my best rate

Questions people ask.

How much does a Lloyds card machine cost?

Read 26 October 2026, Lloyds Cardnet rents the Castles Saturn at £23 + VAT a month and the Clover Flex at £21 + VAT, with a £10 minimum monthly charge and tailored rates. Lloyds Accept readers cost £49 + VAT or £230 + VAT to buy, with no monthly fee.

What is the difference between Lloyds Cardnet and Lloyds Accept?

Cardnet uses tailored rates and rented machines with a £10 minimum monthly charge. Lloyds Accept has published fees from 1.5% + 20p, no monthly fees, no contract and no cancellation charges, using a phone or a bought reader.

What are Lloyds Cardnet fees?

Cardnet fees are tailored to your business. Lloyds' example for a £100 sale shows a 0.5% service charge for Visa debit and an example authorisation fee of £0.03. Ask for rates on every card type.

Does Lloyds Accept have a contract?

No. Lloyds says there are no set-up costs, monthly fees or cancellation charges, and no monthly payments or contract tying you down. You pay transaction fees from 1.5% + 20p.

Can I take card payments on my phone with Lloyds?

Yes. Lloyds Accept offers Tap to Pay on iPhone and Tap to Pay on Android at the standard fee of 1.5% + 20p per transaction. On a £20 sale, that is 50p, with no reader to buy.

Is Lloyds Cardnet the same as Clover?

No, but Cardnet rents the Clover Flex at £21 monthly rental + VAT. Clover's own UK site lists the Clover Flex at £15 + VAT a month, so compare both.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.