How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Card machines › myPOS card machine review: fees, myPOS Go and the small print
Merchant services

myPOS card machine review: fees, myPOS Go and the small print.

What myPOS charges, where its instant payouts help, the account fees that catch people out, and how it compares with SumUp, Revolut, Square and Dojo.

We compare the whole market.

Published rates from every major UK card machine provider, plus the quoted rates that only come on request. You see them side by side, on your own takings.

DojoSumUpTeyaFlatpayPaymentsenseSquareWorldpaytakepaymentsZettleCloverBarclaycardRevolutStripemyPOSTyl by NatWestVivaElavonLloyds Cardnet

The short answer

myPOS charges from 1.10% + £0.07 per transaction for businesses taking under £10,000 a month on card, read 26 October 2026, with £0 fixed monthly costs. Above £10,000 a month it gives a custom offer. Payments land in your myPOS business account instantly, but outgoing GBP transfers cost £1.50 and an inactivity fee of £15 and a no acquiring fee of £30 can apply.

Card machine fees compared.

Published prices read 26 October 2026 from each provider's own pricing page. Quote only means the provider gives rates on request; we obtain those for you.

ProviderIn-person card rateMonthly feeCard machineContractPayouts
myPOS
Source
From 1.10% + 7p (under £10k a month)£0Device prices not on fees pageNot publishedInstant to myPOS account
SumUp
Source
1.69% pay as you go, or 0.99% on Payments Plus (domestic cards)£0, or £19 on Payments PlusSolo Lite £25, Solo £79, Terminal £135 (ex VAT), bought outrightNone, cancel anytimeNext day, 7am, weekends included
Revolut
Source
From 0.8% + 2p (UK consumer Visa and Mastercard)£0 for the readerReader £49; Terminal £169 + VATNoneWithin 24 hours
Square
Source
1.75% UK cards; +1.5% non-UK cards£0, or Plus £29+Reader £19; Terminal £149 (ex VAT)None, cancel anytimeNext day free; instant for 1.95%
Dojo
Source
1.2% blended under £100k a year; custom above£0 Essential; Plus £11.99 new customers (£25 list)Go Max £149 or £25 a month; Pocket £239 or £20; Wired £179 or £1530-day rolling or 12-month fixed (custom rate)Next day

VAT is excluded where the provider states it. Rates are for in-person UK consumer cards unless stated. Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.

Get your best rate.

Tell us about your business. We compare the whole market, including the providers that only quote on request, and come back with the lowest total cost for your takings and the right machine. You keep a named account manager who looks after you after setup.

  • Whole of market, published and quoted rates
  • We negotiate the rate and the machine terms
  • We handle the switch from your current provider
  • A named account manager, not a call centre

Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.

myPOS fees: what the price list says.

myPOS publishes its rate as a starting point: from 1.10% + £0.07 per transaction for businesses with under £10,000 a month in card takings, read 26 October 2026. The word "from" matters. It is the lowest rate, not the rate every card gets. myPOS's own example for a domestic consumer card shows a £100 payment with an instant transfer of £98.76, which works out at £1.24 in fees on that sale, more than 1.10% + 7p would give.

There are £0 fixed monthly costs, and the myPOS account itself has no monthly service fee and no annual fee. Above £10,000 a month, myPOS gives a custom offer instead of a published rate.

The fees to know about sit in the account terms, not the rate. Outgoing GBP transfers cost £1.50 each. An inactivity fee of £15 applies, a no acquiring fee of £30 can be charged after 10 months without card transactions (with notice), and a no-cooperation fee of £75 is listed.

  • Rate: from 1.10% + £0.07 per transaction (under £10,000 a month)
  • Monthly fee: £0
  • Transfer out in GBP: £1.50
  • Inactivity fee: £15; no acquiring fee: £30; no-cooperation fee: £75

myPOS card machine fees: worked examples.

The fixed 7p per transaction makes myPOS cheaper for larger sales and dearer for small ones. Take £5,000 a month of card sales at an average of £20, which is 250 payments. At the from rate you pay 1.10% (£55) plus 250 x 7p (£17.50), so £72.50 a month. On SumUp's 1.69% you pay £84.50 and on Dojo's 1.2% blended rate you pay £60.

Now take a coffee shop with the same £5,000 but an average sale of £4, which is 1,250 payments. The 7p fee adds £87.50, so myPOS costs £142.50 at the from rate. SumUp still costs £84.50, because it has no fixed fee per sale.

If you move money to your main bank account once a working day, the £1.50 transfer fee adds around £30 a month across 20 transfers. Leave money in the myPOS account and spend from it, or move it less often, to keep that down.

myPOS Go and the other devices.

The myPOS fees page names five devices: myPOS Flex, myPOS Go 2, myPOS Go Combo, myPOS Ultra and myPOS Unattended. It does not state their prices on that page, so check the current device price at the point you order and confirm whether you buy it outright.

If you do not want a device at all, myPOS Glass lets you take contactless payments on an iPhone or Android phone using Tap to Pay, accepting a card by tapping it on your phone. myPOS says it uses the same pricing as its standard card readers, with no additional fees for using Tap to Pay. That is a clear advantage over Stripe, which adds 10p per Tap to Pay authorisation, and Revolut, whose fee schedule shows a 10p flat fee for Tap to Pay against 2p on its reader.

For a market stall or mobile trader starting out, Tap to Pay on the same rate is a low-cost way to test card demand before buying hardware.

Instant payouts, support and regulation.

myPOS's main selling point is speed. Every payment goes into your myPOS business account instantly, so you can see and use your takings straight away. Most rivals pay the next day: SumUp by 7am into its own account, Dojo and Square next day. Revolut says funds are available within 24 hours.

The catch is that the money sits in a myPOS account, not your high-street bank. Getting it out in pounds costs £1.50 per transfer. If you pay suppliers from the myPOS account, that cost falls away.

myPOS says it offers 24/7 support. The UK business is myPOS Payments, an Electronic Money Institution authorised and regulated in the UK by the Financial Conduct Authority, reference number 900826. An Electronic Money Institution holds customer money in safeguarded accounts rather than as bank deposits, so the money in your myPOS account is not covered by the deposit protection scheme that applies to bank accounts.

Who it suits / who it does not suit.

myPOS suits traders who want their money immediately, who take larger average sales where the 7p fixed fee matters less, and who are happy to run part of their finances through a myPOS account. Tradespeople, mobile services and market traders with £15 to £100 sales are a good fit.

It does not suit businesses with many small sales, such as coffee shops, where the 7p per transaction adds up quickly. It is also a poor fit for seasonal businesses that go quiet for months, because the £15 inactivity fee and the £30 no acquiring fee after 10 months without card transactions can apply. Businesses over £10,000 a month should compare the custom offer with quotes from Dojo, Teya and others.

  • Suits: mobile traders and tradespeople with larger average sales
  • Suits: anyone who values instant access to takings
  • Does not suit: high numbers of small sales
  • Does not suit: seasonal businesses with long quiet periods

Alternatives worth comparing.

SumUp charges a flat 1.69% on pay-as-you-go with no monthly fee, or 0.99% on domestic cards with Payments Plus at £19 a month, and sells its Solo Lite reader for £25 ex VAT. With no fixed fee per sale, it beats myPOS on small tickets.

Revolut's card fees start from 0.8% + £0.02 for consumer UK Visa and Mastercard, with the Revolut Reader at £49. On many card mixes it costs less than myPOS. Square charges 1.75% for UK cards with the Reader at £19 + VAT and transfers as soon as the next day, or instantly for a 1.95% fee. Dojo's 1.2% blended rate under £100,000 a year is one of the lowest published rates for in-person card payments.

Get the best rate for your business.

Choosing between myPOS and the alternatives on this page takes time, and the published figures are only the starting point. We compare the whole UK market on your own numbers: your monthly card takings, your average sale and the cards your customers use. For myPOS, we work out the real cost including the 7p per transaction and transfer fees, not just the from rate. Then we negotiate the rate with the provider that fits, so you are not left to haggle alone.

We also handle the switch for you, from the application to the day your new machine arrives, and you get a named account manager who stays with you after setup. If your rate creeps up or your business changes, you have one person to call. You pay us nothing: we may receive a fee from the provider you choose. Fill in the quote form and we will come back with a clear comparison.

Get my best rate

Questions people ask.

How much does myPOS charge per transaction?

myPOS publishes a rate from 1.10% + £0.07 per transaction for businesses taking under £10,000 a month on card, read 26 October 2026. Its own example shows a £100 domestic consumer card payment arriving as £98.76. Above £10,000 a month it offers custom pricing.

Does myPOS have a monthly fee?

No. myPOS lists £0 fixed monthly costs, and the business account has no monthly service fee or annual fee. Watch for the £15 inactivity fee, the £30 no acquiring fee after 10 months without card transactions and £1.50 for each GBP transfer out.

How much is the myPOS Go?

The myPOS fees page names the myPOS Go 2 and myPOS Go Combo but does not state their prices. Check the current price on the myPOS device page when you order and confirm whether you are buying it outright.

How fast does myPOS pay out?

Instantly. myPOS says every payment goes into your myPOS business account straight away, so you can use it at once. Moving money from there to another bank account in pounds costs £1.50 per transfer.

Is myPOS safe and regulated?

Yes. myPOS Payments is an Electronic Money Institution authorised and regulated in the UK by the Financial Conduct Authority, reference number 900826. Money in an e-money account is safeguarded, but it is not covered by bank deposit protection.

Is myPOS cheaper than SumUp?

It depends on your average sale. On £5,000 a month at £20 a sale, myPOS from 1.10% + 7p costs about £72.50 against £84.50 on SumUp's 1.69%. At £4 a sale, the 7p fee pushes myPOS to £142.50, so SumUp is cheaper.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.