WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

takepayments does not publish its prices, so the review comes down to what it does state and how to test the quote you are given. Here is both.
Published rates from every major UK card machine provider, plus the quoted rates that only come on request. You see them side by side, on your own takings.
The short answer
takepayments does not publish its card machine fees: transaction rates, monthly charges and machine prices are quote only. It does publish a 12-month contract, next-day settlement if you send your takings before the acquirer's cut-off time, and customer support 7 days a week. You also sign a separate contract with an acquiring bank that takepayments nominates. Read 26 October 2026.
Published prices read 26 October 2026 from each provider's own pricing page. Quote only means the provider gives rates on request; we obtain those for you.
| Provider | In-person card rate | Monthly fee | Card machine | Contract | Payouts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| takepayments Source | Quote only | Not published | Not published | 12 months | Next day |
| Dojo Source | 1.2% blended under £100k a year; custom above | £0 Essential; Plus £11.99 new customers (£25 list) | Go Max £149 or £25 a month; Pocket £239 or £20; Wired £179 or £15 | 30-day rolling or 12-month fixed (custom rate) | Next day |
| Tyl by NatWest Source | 1.39% + 5p personal cards (under £50k a year) | Machine hire from £13.99 + VAT | PAX A920 Pro £19.99, A50 £14.99, A80 £13.99 a month + VAT | 12 months | Next business day |
| Flatpay Source | 1.49% all cards (terminal, under £200k a year) | £0 | Payment terminal free to start | Not published | Daily |
| Paymentsense Source | 1.40% debit and credit (price tool); bespoke over £150k | Terminal £20 + VAT; minimum service charge £24.95 | Rental, £20 a month + VAT | Not published | 24 working hours |
VAT is excluded where the provider states it. Rates are for in-person UK consumer cards unless stated. Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.
Tell us about your business. We compare the whole market, including the providers that only quote on request, and come back with the lowest total cost for your takings and the right machine. You keep a named account manager who looks after you after setup.
Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.
takepayments states its contract length but not its prices. On the pages we read on 26 October 2026, the transaction rate, monthly fee, card machine price and other fees were all not published. The pricing page address returned an error, so there is no price list to check.
What it does say is important. To take card payments with takepayments, businesses are required to enter into and maintain a separate contract with an acquiring bank nominated by takepayments, and transaction charges and other fees will apply. An acquiring bank, or acquirer, is the bank that processes your card payments and pays the money into your account. In plain terms, you may have two agreements: one with takepayments and one with the bank.
takepayments states that it is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, reference number 663112. Its footer states that Global Payments is a trading name of Takepayments Ltd.
The contract is 12 months. takepayments puts it this way: it won't tie you in to a long contract, and its contract is just 12 months. That is shorter than Worldpay's stated minimum of 18 months for online applications and the same as Tyl by NatWest. It is longer than SumUp, Square or Zettle, which have no contract.
Settlement is next day, subject to the banking window being performed before the acquirer's set time. The banking window is the end-of-day step where the card machine sends the day's payments for processing. If you close up late and send the day's takings after the cut-off, the money arrives a day later. No payout fee is stated.
Customer support is available 7 days a week. Hours are not stated. A Tap to Pay page exists, which means you can take contactless payments on a phone, but the rate is not stated. Point of sale software was not published on the pages read. Ask which takepayments card reader you will receive and whether it is rented or bought.
With no published rate, the best test is to set your quote against figures that are published. Take a café with £5,000 a month in 500 payments of £10.
At Dojo's 1.2% blended rate, fees are £60 a month on the free Essential plan. At Flatpay's 1.49% with its £0 terminal, fees are £74.50 with zero monthly fees. At Tyl by NatWest, 1.39% plus 5p per payment on personal cards comes to £69.50 plus £25, a total of £94.50, plus £19.99 + VAT a month for a PAX A920 Pro. At Paymentsense, 1.40% plus 5p comes to £95 before its monthly charges.
So a takepayments quote for this café needs to come in below about £60 to £75 a month, all in, to beat the simplest published options. Add up every line: rate, any per-payment fee, terminal hire, PCI fee and any minimum monthly charge.
Over a 12-month contract, every 0.1% difference in rate on £5,000 a month is £60 a year. On £15,000 a month it is £180 a year.
This review uses only what takepayments publishes, read on 26 October 2026.
Whichever group you fall into, get the quote in writing and check the contract with the acquiring bank as well as the one with takepayments.
These four providers are the closest comparisons to takepayments, and three of them publish their rates. Figures read on 26 October 2026.
Ask takepayments and each alternative for a written breakdown on the same basis: your monthly takings, your average sale and your card mix. Then compare the total monthly cost, not the headline rate, and check the exit cost before you sign anything.
When a provider quotes only in private, the number you see depends on what the salesperson thinks you will accept. We compare the whole UK card machine market for your business, including providers that only quote in private. We take your real monthly takings, average sale and card mix to them and negotiate the rate on your behalf, so you are not comparing headline figures that do not fit your trade.
We then handle the switch for you, from the application to the timing of any exit from your current contract, so you are not left without a working card machine. You get a named account manager who stays with you after setup and checks your rate as your business grows. You pay us nothing for this. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose. Fill in the quote form to start.
takepayments does not publish its card machine prices, monthly fees or transaction rates. They are quote only. It does publish a 12-month contract. Read 26 October 2026. Ask for the machine cost, any monthly hire and every fee in writing.
Not published. takepayments states that businesses must enter into a separate contract with an acquiring bank it nominates, and that transaction charges and other fees will apply. Ask for every fee in writing and compare the total with Dojo's published 1.2% or Flatpay's 1.49%.
takepayments states a 12-month contract: it says it won't tie you in to a long contract, and its contract is just 12 months. That is shorter than Worldpay's 18-month minimum for online applications.
takepayments states next-day settlement, subject to the banking window being performed before the acquirer's set time. In practice, send your end-of-day takings before the cut-off to be paid the next day. No payout fee is stated.
Yes. People search for both spellings. The company trades as takepayments, and its footer states that Global Payments is a trading name of Takepayments Ltd. Its card machines and terms are the same whichever spelling you search for.
takepayments states it is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, reference number 663112. You will also have a separate contract with the acquiring bank that takepayments nominates, which processes your card payments.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.