WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Adyen and Razorpay side by side in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index, Adyen scores higher overall: 3.9 out of 5 (77 out of 100) against 3.6 (73), ranking 2 and 4 of 10. Adyen scores higher for enterprise and cross-border merchants and platforms and regulated firms; Razorpay scores higher for small and mid-sized merchants.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Adyen | Razorpay |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 3.9 | 3.6 |
| Score out of 100 | 77 | 73 |
| Overall rank | 2 of 10 | 4 of 10 |
| For small and mid-sized merchants (out of 100) | 69, rank 5 | 84, rank 1 |
| For enterprise and cross-border merchants (out of 100) | 83, rank 2 | 69, rank 6 |
| For platforms and regulated firms (out of 100) | 79, rank 2 | 67, rank 6 |
| Type | Global acquirer and bank | Payment gateway and aggregator (India) |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Adyen | Razorpay |
|---|---|---|
| Published pricing | 4/5 Processing fee and card margin over interchange plus plus published; card cost depends on interchange. | 4/5 Standard rate and platform fee published; no separate international card rate on the pages read. |
| Payment methods | 5/5 150+ currencies and 200+ local payment methods published. | 5/5 100+ payment methods and 100+ currencies published. |
| Merchant reach | 5/5 Licences in ten regions plus EEA passporting published. | 1/5 India only; scored on access for that country. |
| Payout speed | 2/5 Choice of payout timing and currency stated without times. | 5/5 T+1 or instant settlement published, with instant as a priced option. |
| Integration | 3/5 Single API published; no self-serve sign-up or test environment on the pages read. | 5/5 APIs with a test playground, plugins, no-code tools and self-serve sign-up. |
| Regulatory standing | 4/5 Banking licences in the EEA, UK and US and payment licences elsewhere; few licence numbers and PCI DSS not stated on the pages read. | 2/5 RBI authorisation stated without a number; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Adyen | Razorpay |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | "For each transaction, we charge a fixed processing fee + a fee determined by the payment method." Processing fee $0.13; cards "Interchange+ + 0.60%". "No setup fee"; "no setup or monthly fees". | Standard plan "2%" per transaction plus GST; "Platform fee 2.15% + GST" for some methods; first 90 days at "0% fee (down from 2%)" (promotional); "Maintenance: ₹0"; "Integration Support: ₹0". |
| Payment methods | Homepage: "150+" currencies and "200+" local payment methods. | "100+ Payment Methods"; "accept payments in over 100 currencies"; cards, netbanking, UPI and wallets. |
| Merchant reach | Licence pages for Australia, Canada, EMEA, India, the United States, Malaysia, Singapore, New Zealand, Hong Kong and Japan; banking licence passported to "all EEA countries". | "A comprehensive payments suite in India"; accepts cards, bank transfers and Apple Pay "from 180+ countries". Serves India only. |
| Payout speed | "Flexible payouts: Choose when and in which currency you want to settle." No payout times published. | Funds settled to the bank account "according to your settlement cycle (typically T+1 or Instant)"; Instant Settlements priced as an optional extra. |
| Integration | "One API that supports multiple use cases and channels"; sales contact to start. No self-serve sign-up or test environment on the pages read. | APIs with a playground, website and app plugins, no-code Payment Links and Payment Pages, online sign-up. |
| Regulatory standing | "Adyen N.V. is authorised as a credit Institution under the supervision of Dutch Central Bank"; UK branch with Part 4A permission supervised by the PRA and FCA; US federal branch "licensed by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency and the Federal Reserve Board"; MAS Major Payments Institution; CBUAE licence number 08.01.02.035. | "Razorpay Payments Private Limited is an RBI Authorised Payment Aggregator." No reference number or PCI DSS level on the pages read. |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Adyen: payout speed and regulatory standing.
Not published or not stated by Razorpay: regulatory standing.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: adyen.com, adyen.com/pricing, adyen.com/licenses, adyen.com/licenses/emea, adyen.com/licenses/united-states, adyen.com/licenses/singapore; and razorpay.com, razorpay.com/pricing.
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Large merchants wanting local acquiring and many payment methods from one licensed bank.
Businesses selling to customers in India through UPI, cards and netbanking.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.