WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Airwallex and Razorpay side by side in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index, Razorpay scores higher overall: 3.6 out of 5 (73 out of 100) against 3.5 (71), ranking 4 and 5 of 10. Airwallex scores higher for enterprise and cross-border merchants and platforms and regulated firms; Razorpay scores higher for small and mid-sized merchants.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Airwallex | Razorpay |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 3.5 | 3.6 |
| Score out of 100 | 71 | 73 |
| Overall rank | 5 of 10 | 4 of 10 |
| For small and mid-sized merchants (out of 100) | 66, rank 6 | 84, rank 1 |
| For enterprise and cross-border merchants (out of 100) | 74, rank 4 | 69, rank 6 |
| For platforms and regulated firms (out of 100) | 74, rank 4 | 67, rank 6 |
| Type | Payments and business account platform | Payment gateway and aggregator (India) |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Airwallex | Razorpay |
|---|---|---|
| Published pricing | 5/5 Exact rates for UK, EEA, international, Amex and UnionPay cards and local methods published. | 4/5 Standard rate and platform fee published; no separate international card rate on the pages read. |
| Payment methods | 4/5 160+ local payment methods and settlement in 20+ currencies published. | 5/5 100+ payment methods and 100+ currencies published. |
| Merchant reach | 4/5 Regional sites in 18 markets including Europe, with acquiring licences named. | 1/5 India only; scored on access for that country. |
| Payout speed | 0/5 Not published for card sales on the pages read. | 5/5 T+1 or instant settlement published, with instant as a priced option. |
| Integration | 4/5 APIs, SDKs, plugins, payment links and a self-serve trial; no test environment confirmed on the pages read. | 5/5 APIs with a test playground, plugins, no-code tools and self-serve sign-up. |
| Regulatory standing | 4/5 Licences with numbers in more than five regions; PCI DSS stated without its level. | 2/5 RBI authorisation stated without a number; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Airwallex | Razorpay |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | "1.30% + £0.20 for UK cards", "2.40% + £0.20 for EEA cards", international cards "3.15% + £0.20", Amex 2.40% + £0.20, UnionPay 3.15% + £0.20; local payment methods "£0.20 plus payment method fees"; subscription management 0.50% per successful transaction. | Standard plan "2%" per transaction plus GST; "Platform fee 2.15% + GST" for some methods; first 90 days at "0% fee (down from 2%)" (promotional); "Maintenance: ₹0"; "Integration Support: ₹0". |
| Payment methods | Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Apple Pay and Google Pay; "WeChat Pay, GrabPay and 160+ other methods"; "Like-for-like settlement in 20+ currencies". | "100+ Payment Methods"; "accept payments in over 100 currencies"; cards, netbanking, UPI and wallets. |
| Merchant reach | Regional sites for 18 markets including Europe, the UK, the US, Australia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan and Malaysia; registered as a merchant acquirer in Malaysia and authorised for acquiring in Brazil (licence page). | "A comprehensive payments suite in India"; accepts cards, bank transfers and Apple Pay "from 180+ countries". Serves India only. |
| Payout speed | Not published for card sales on the pages read. | Funds settled to the bank account "according to your settlement cycle (typically T+1 or Instant)"; Instant Settlements priced as an optional extra. |
| Integration | "Custom website checkout via components, APIs, and SDKs", eCommerce plugin integrations, no-code payment links, free one-month trial. | APIs with a playground, website and app plugins, no-code Payment Links and Payment Pages, online sign-up. |
| Regulatory standing | FCA EMI licence number 900876; Bank of Lithuania EMI licence no. 88; MAS Major Payment Institution PS20200541; ASIC AFSL 487221; HKMA SVF0009; US money transmitter licences. "Airwallex meets the highest international security standards including PCI DSS, SOC1, and SOC2" (level not stated). | "Razorpay Payments Private Limited is an RBI Authorised Payment Aggregator." No reference number or PCI DSS level on the pages read. |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Airwallex: payout speed and regulatory standing.
Not published or not stated by Razorpay: regulatory standing.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: airwallex.com/uk/pricing, airwallex.com/uk/business-account, help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/…; and razorpay.com, razorpay.com/pricing.
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Businesses wanting card acceptance with settlement into a multi-currency account.
Businesses selling to customers in India through UPI, cards and netbanking.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.