WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Airwallex and Mollie side by side in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index, Mollie scores higher overall: 3.6 out of 5 (73 out of 100) against 3.5 (71), ranking 3 and 5 of 10. Airwallex scores higher for enterprise and cross-border merchants and platforms and regulated firms; Mollie scores higher for small and mid-sized merchants.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Airwallex | Mollie |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 3.5 | 3.6 |
| Score out of 100 | 71 | 73 |
| Overall rank | 5 of 10 | 3 of 10 |
| For small and mid-sized merchants (out of 100) | 66, rank 6 | 81, rank 3 |
| For enterprise and cross-border merchants (out of 100) | 74, rank 4 | 69, rank 5 |
| For platforms and regulated firms (out of 100) | 74, rank 4 | 70, rank 5 |
| Type | Payments and business account platform | Online and in-person payment provider |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Airwallex | Mollie |
|---|---|---|
| Published pricing | 5/5 Exact rates for UK, EEA, international, Amex and UnionPay cards and local methods published. | 5/5 Exact rates by card type and origin, direct debit and payout fees published. |
| Payment methods | 4/5 160+ local payment methods and settlement in 20+ currencies published. | 3/5 35+ payment methods and 30+ currencies published. |
| Merchant reach | 4/5 Regional sites in 18 markets including Europe, with acquiring licences named. | 3/5 Europe and the UK named; no country count. |
| Payout speed | 0/5 Not published for card sales on the pages read. | 4/5 Daily payouts at no extra fee and a choice of schedule; arrival time not stated. |
| Integration | 4/5 APIs, SDKs, plugins, payment links and a self-serve trial; no test environment confirmed on the pages read. | 4/5 API, plugins and self-serve sign-up; no test environment confirmed on the pages read. |
| Regulatory standing | 4/5 Licences with numbers in more than five regions; PCI DSS stated without its level. | 3/5 Two licences with numbers; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Airwallex | Mollie |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | "1.30% + £0.20 for UK cards", "2.40% + £0.20 for EEA cards", international cards "3.15% + £0.20", Amex 2.40% + £0.20, UnionPay 3.15% + £0.20; local payment methods "£0.20 plus payment method fees"; subscription management 0.50% per successful transaction. | Visa and Mastercard: UK domestic consumer cards "1.20% + £0.20"; UK commercial and European cards "2.90% + £0.20"; all other cards "3.25% + £0.20". American Express UK 2.50% + £0.20, other 2.60% + £0.20. Bacs Direct Debit 0.90% + £0.20. Additional payouts £0.25; payouts in another currency 1% of payout amount. |
| Payment methods | Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Apple Pay and Google Pay; "WeChat Pay, GrabPay and 160+ other methods"; "Like-for-like settlement in 20+ currencies". | "35+ payment methods, 30+ currencies, online and in-person"; payouts in the primary currency plus "up to 11 additional currencies". |
| Merchant reach | Regional sites for 18 markets including Europe, the UK, the US, Australia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan and Malaysia; registered as a merchant acquirer in Malaysia and authorised for acquiring in Brazil (licence page). | Serves businesses "across Europe and the UK"; DNB e-money licence and UK payment institution licence. No country count published. |
| Payout speed | Not published for card sales on the pages read. | "With Mollie, you decide when we send your payout. We don't charge extra fees for daily payouts"; schedule options include every business day. |
| Integration | "Custom website checkout via components, APIs, and SDKs", eCommerce plugin integrations, no-code payment links, free one-month trial. | API documentation and guides, shop plugins, an MCP server for AI agents, online sign-up. |
| Regulatory standing | FCA EMI licence number 900876; Bank of Lithuania EMI licence no. 88; MAS Major Payment Institution PS20200541; ASIC AFSL 487221; HKMA SVF0009; US money transmitter licences. "Airwallex meets the highest international security standards including PCI DSS, SOC1, and SOC2" (level not stated). | "Mollie UK Ltd is licensed and registered with the Financial Conduct Authority as a payment institution in the UK (FRN: 977968) and Mollie B.V. is licensed and registered as an electronic money institution with the Dutch Central Bank (relationship number: F0038)." |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Airwallex: payout speed and regulatory standing.
Not published or not stated by Mollie: merchant reach, payout speed and regulatory standing.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: airwallex.com/uk/pricing, airwallex.com/uk/business-account, help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/…; and mollie.com/gb, mollie.com/gb/pricing, mollie.com/gb/payments.
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Businesses wanting card acceptance with settlement into a multi-currency account.
UK and European small businesses wanting simple published rates and daily payouts.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.