WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Adyen and Mollie side by side in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index, Adyen scores higher overall: 3.9 out of 5 (77 out of 100) against 3.6 (73), ranking 2 and 3 of 10. Adyen scores higher for enterprise and cross-border merchants and platforms and regulated firms; Mollie scores higher for small and mid-sized merchants.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Adyen | Mollie |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 3.9 | 3.6 |
| Score out of 100 | 77 | 73 |
| Overall rank | 2 of 10 | 3 of 10 |
| For small and mid-sized merchants (out of 100) | 69, rank 5 | 81, rank 3 |
| For enterprise and cross-border merchants (out of 100) | 83, rank 2 | 69, rank 5 |
| For platforms and regulated firms (out of 100) | 79, rank 2 | 70, rank 5 |
| Type | Global acquirer and bank | Online and in-person payment provider |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Adyen | Mollie |
|---|---|---|
| Published pricing | 4/5 Processing fee and card margin over interchange plus plus published; card cost depends on interchange. | 5/5 Exact rates by card type and origin, direct debit and payout fees published. |
| Payment methods | 5/5 150+ currencies and 200+ local payment methods published. | 3/5 35+ payment methods and 30+ currencies published. |
| Merchant reach | 5/5 Licences in ten regions plus EEA passporting published. | 3/5 Europe and the UK named; no country count. |
| Payout speed | 2/5 Choice of payout timing and currency stated without times. | 4/5 Daily payouts at no extra fee and a choice of schedule; arrival time not stated. |
| Integration | 3/5 Single API published; no self-serve sign-up or test environment on the pages read. | 4/5 API, plugins and self-serve sign-up; no test environment confirmed on the pages read. |
| Regulatory standing | 4/5 Banking licences in the EEA, UK and US and payment licences elsewhere; few licence numbers and PCI DSS not stated on the pages read. | 3/5 Two licences with numbers; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Adyen | Mollie |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | "For each transaction, we charge a fixed processing fee + a fee determined by the payment method." Processing fee $0.13; cards "Interchange+ + 0.60%". "No setup fee"; "no setup or monthly fees". | Visa and Mastercard: UK domestic consumer cards "1.20% + £0.20"; UK commercial and European cards "2.90% + £0.20"; all other cards "3.25% + £0.20". American Express UK 2.50% + £0.20, other 2.60% + £0.20. Bacs Direct Debit 0.90% + £0.20. Additional payouts £0.25; payouts in another currency 1% of payout amount. |
| Payment methods | Homepage: "150+" currencies and "200+" local payment methods. | "35+ payment methods, 30+ currencies, online and in-person"; payouts in the primary currency plus "up to 11 additional currencies". |
| Merchant reach | Licence pages for Australia, Canada, EMEA, India, the United States, Malaysia, Singapore, New Zealand, Hong Kong and Japan; banking licence passported to "all EEA countries". | Serves businesses "across Europe and the UK"; DNB e-money licence and UK payment institution licence. No country count published. |
| Payout speed | "Flexible payouts: Choose when and in which currency you want to settle." No payout times published. | "With Mollie, you decide when we send your payout. We don't charge extra fees for daily payouts"; schedule options include every business day. |
| Integration | "One API that supports multiple use cases and channels"; sales contact to start. No self-serve sign-up or test environment on the pages read. | API documentation and guides, shop plugins, an MCP server for AI agents, online sign-up. |
| Regulatory standing | "Adyen N.V. is authorised as a credit Institution under the supervision of Dutch Central Bank"; UK branch with Part 4A permission supervised by the PRA and FCA; US federal branch "licensed by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency and the Federal Reserve Board"; MAS Major Payments Institution; CBUAE licence number 08.01.02.035. | "Mollie UK Ltd is licensed and registered with the Financial Conduct Authority as a payment institution in the UK (FRN: 977968) and Mollie B.V. is licensed and registered as an electronic money institution with the Dutch Central Bank (relationship number: F0038)." |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Adyen: payout speed and regulatory standing.
Not published or not stated by Mollie: merchant reach, payout speed and regulatory standing.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: adyen.com, adyen.com/pricing, adyen.com/licenses, adyen.com/licenses/emea, adyen.com/licenses/united-states, adyen.com/licenses/singapore; and mollie.com/gb, mollie.com/gb/pricing, mollie.com/gb/payments.
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Large merchants wanting local acquiring and many payment methods from one licensed bank.
UK and European small businesses wanting simple published rates and daily payouts.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.