How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Formance review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

An open-source, double-entry ledger with wallets, payment flows and reconciliation modules in its enterprise tier.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.0 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
1Awards 2026
1Index
3 of 12Rank, Core Banking and Ledgers Index

Short answer.

Formance scores 3.0 out of 5 (59 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Core Banking and Ledgers Index 2026 and ranks 3 of 12. It is strongest for fintech and crypto firms wanting a ledger they can host themselves, and its best criterion is deployment choice at 4 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: security and regulated clients and proven scale.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Core Banking and Ledgers Index 2026.

Core Banking and Ledgers Index

3.0 / 559 out of 100 · rank 3 of 12
Leader 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For banks and building societies593 of 12
For E-money and payment firms602 of 12
For fintechs building their own products593 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Fintech and crypto firms wanting a ledger they can host themselves.

  • Deployment choice (4/5). Vendor-run in a named cloud and self-hosted; one cloud only.
  • Security and regulated clients (4/5). ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II; no named regulated clients.
Watch out for
  • Proven scale (0/5). Not published.

Published facts.

What Formance publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

An open-source, double-entry ledger with wallets, payment flows and reconciliation modules in its enterprise tier. It publishes ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II, a free open-source version, and hosting in a dedicated cloud account or on the client's own servers. Enterprise prices are quoted only.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Product coverage"Double-entry, multi-currency" core ledger; Wallets module with "multi-currency balances, holds, expiring balances"; Flows module for multi-step transactions; pre-built connectors for Stripe, Adyen, Wise, Fireblocks and Kraken.
PricingOpen Source: full ledger "under MIT License" with no fee. Enterprise: "Annual subscription, custom quote based on scale".
DeploymentCloud: "Each cloud customer runs in a dedicated private region in a separate AWS account"; also "Private Cloud or Assisted Self-Hosted deployment".
IntegrationCLI and SDKs; full source code access; documentation published; self-serve sign-up for the open-source version.
Security and clientsISO 27001:2022; "SOC 2 Type II audit passed with zero exceptions across all 33 criteria".
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Formance

  • Security and regulated clients. No named regulated clients.
  • Proven scale. Not published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: formance.com, formance.com/pricing, formance.com/security.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Product coverage: 3/5. Accounts, payments and multi-currency published; lending and cards not offered.
  • Published pricing: 3/5. Free open-source tier published; enterprise not priced.
  • Deployment choice: 4/5. Vendor-run in a named cloud and self-hosted; one cloud only.
  • Integration: 3/5. SDKs, documentation and free self-serve access; no launch time.
  • Security and regulated clients: 4/5. ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II; no named regulated clients.
  • Proven scale: 0/5. Not published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Core Banking and Ledgers Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Formance alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Thought Machine3.51 of 12Large banks replacing a legacy core on the cloud of their choice
SDK.finance3.02 of 12E-money firms and fintechs wanting a published price
10x Banking2.64 of 12Banks that need published throughput and uptime figures
Pismo2.55 of 12Banks and large firms combining cards, lending and accounts
Modern Treasury2.56 of 12US fintechs wanting a ledger joined to payment rails
Mambu2.57 of 12Lenders and deposit-takers wanting audited SaaS
Temenos2.58 of 12Banks in many countries wanting packaged software or SaaS
Tuum2.39 of 12Banks wanting cloud or on-premise deployment with a stated launch time
Zeta2.010 of 12Banks launching card programmes
Finxact2.011 of 12US banks wanting an API-first core with a sandbox
Episode Six1.312 of 12Issuers wanting one ledger for cards, credit and deposits

Full Core Banking and Ledgers Index ranking

Formance compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.