How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Formance vs SDK.finance
Comparison · 2026 edition

Formance vs SDK.finance: core banking compared 2026.

Formance and SDK.finance side by side in the Core Banking and Ledgers Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.0 / 5Formance
3.0 / 5SDK.finance
SDK.financeHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Core Banking and Ledgers Index, SDK.finance scores higher overall: 3.0 out of 5 (60 out of 100) against 3.0 (59), ranking 2 and 3 of 12. Formance scores higher for banks and building societies; SDK.finance scores higher for fintechs building their own products; they tie for e-money and payment firms.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreFormanceSDK.finance
Score out of 53.03.0
Score out of 1005960
Overall rank3 of 122 of 12
For banks and building societies (out of 100)59, rank 352, rank 9
For E-money and payment firms (out of 100)60, rank 260, rank 3
For fintechs building their own products (out of 100)59, rank 368, rank 1
TypeOpen-source ledger platformCore banking and wallet platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionFormanceSDK.finance
Product coverage3/5
Accounts, payments and multi-currency published; lending and cards not offered.
3/5
Accounts, cards and payments published; lending and multi-currency not confirmed.
Published pricing3/5
Free open-source tier published; enterprise not priced.
5/5
Monthly and per-transaction SaaS price published.
Deployment choice4/5
Vendor-run in a named cloud and self-hosted; one cloud only.
4/5
SaaS and on-premise published; no named cloud.
Integration3/5
SDKs, documentation and free self-serve access; no launch time.
4/5
API reference and sandbox; no launch time.
Security and regulated clients4/5
ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II; no named regulated clients.
1/5
Case-study clients named; no certifications published.
Proven scale0/5
Not published.
0/5
Not published for the platform.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Core Banking and Ledgers Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactFormanceSDK.finance
Product coverage"Double-entry, multi-currency" core ledger; Wallets module with "multi-currency balances, holds, expiring balances"; Flows module for multi-step transactions; pre-built connectors for Stripe, Adyen, Wise, Fireblocks and Kraken.Solutions for digital wallets, core banking, money transfer and remittance, card issuing and merchant payment processing; "Individual & business accounts".
PricingOpen Source: full ledger "under MIT License" with no fee. Enterprise: "Annual subscription, custom quote based on scale".SaaS: "First 3 months: flat fee €10,000", then "Monthly payment = €5,500 + €0.05 per transaction". Source code licence: annual or lifetime, price on request.
DeploymentCloud: "Each cloud customer runs in a dedicated private region in a separate AWS account"; also "Private Cloud or Assisted Self-Hosted deployment".SaaS, or source code licence "Hosted on your servers (on-premises, dedicated datacenter)".
IntegrationCLI and SDKs; full source code access; documentation published; self-serve sign-up for the open-source version.API reference, documentation and release notes; "Back-office Real-time Sandbox" demo.
Security and clientsISO 27001:2022; "SOC 2 Type II audit passed with zero exceptions across all 33 criteria"."TechFin UAB ... is not a bank, financial or payment institution." Case studies name Geidea, MPAY, TheOneGate, Paywell and Nebeus. No certifications found on the pages read.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Formance: security and regulated clients and proven scale.

Not published or not stated by SDK.finance: product coverage, deployment choice, security and regulated clients and proven scale.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: formance.com, formance.com/pricing, formance.com/security; and sdk.finance/pricing, sdk.finance/pricing-saas.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Formance
Leader 2026
SDK.finance
Leader 2026Best for fintechs building their own products 2026Top rated for published pricing 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Formance suits

Fintech and crypto firms wanting a ledger they can host themselves.

  • Deployment choice (4/5). Vendor-run in a named cloud and self-hosted; one cloud only.
  • Security and regulated clients (4/5). ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II; no named regulated clients.

Formance full profile

SDK.finance suits

E-money firms and fintechs wanting a published price.

  • Published pricing (5/5). Monthly and per-transaction SaaS price published.

SDK.finance full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.