How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › 10x Banking vs Formance
Comparison · 2026 edition

10x Banking vs Formance: core banking compared 2026.

10x Banking and Formance side by side in the Core Banking and Ledgers Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.6 / 510x Banking
3.0 / 5Formance
FormanceHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Core Banking and Ledgers Index, Formance scores higher overall: 3.0 out of 5 (59 out of 100) against 2.6 (52), ranking 3 and 4 of 12. Formance scores higher for e-money and payment firms and fintechs building their own products; they tie for banks and building societies.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

Score10x BankingFormance
Score out of 52.63.0
Score out of 1005259
Overall rank4 of 123 of 12
For banks and building societies (out of 100)59, rank 459, rank 3
For E-money and payment firms (out of 100)50, rank 560, rank 2
For fintechs building their own products (out of 100)46, rank 559, rank 3
TypeCloud-native core banking platformOpen-source ledger platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

Criterion10x BankingFormance
Product coverage3/5
Deposits and lending published; cards, payments and multi-currency not confirmed on the pages read.
3/5
Accounts, payments and multi-currency published; lending and cards not offered.
Published pricing0/5
Not published.
3/5
Free open-source tier published; enterprise not priced.
Deployment choice2/5
Vendor-run SaaS only; no cloud named.
4/5
Vendor-run in a named cloud and self-hosted; one cloud only.
Integration3/5
SDK and a stated launch example; no public sandbox found.
3/5
SDKs, documentation and free self-serve access; no launch time.
Security and regulated clients3/5
Named regulated banks; certifications shown as logos only.
4/5
ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II; no named regulated clients.
Proven scale5/5
Throughput, uptime and account figures published.
0/5
Not published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Core Banking and Ledgers Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

Fact10x BankingFormance
Product coverageBanking products across retail, mutual and corporate banking, including lending; Fabric core ledger; ProductKit SDK and no-code product configuration."Double-entry, multi-currency" core ledger; Wallets module with "multi-currency balances, holds, expiring balances"; Flows module for multi-step transactions; pre-built connectors for Stripe, Adyen, Wise, Fireblocks and Kraken.
PricingNot published on the pages read.Open Source: full ledger "under MIT License" with no fee. Enterprise: "Annual subscription, custom quote based on scale".
DeploymentCloud-native SaaS; no cloud providers named on the pages read.Cloud: "Each cloud customer runs in a dedicated private region in a separate AWS account"; also "Private Cloud or Assisted Self-Hosted deployment".
IntegrationProductKit SDK; states an Australian client built a full product suite "in two weeks".CLI and SDKs; full source code access; documentation published; self-serve sign-up for the open-source version.
Security and clientsAICPA SOC and BSI ISO 27001 logos shown, with no written statement. Named clients: Chase UK, Westpac, Old Mutual, West Brom Building Society, The Co-operative Bank.ISO 27001:2022; "SOC 2 Type II audit passed with zero exceptions across all 33 criteria".
Scale"It processes over 10,000 transactions per second, runs at 99.99% uptime"; more than 100 million accounts stated.Not listed in this index
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by 10x Banking: pricing, deployment and product coverage.

Not published or not stated by Formance: security and regulated clients and proven scale.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: 10xbanking.com, 10xbanking.com/core-banking-platforms-compared; and formance.com, formance.com/pricing, formance.com/security.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

10x Banking
Top rated for proven scale 2026
Formance
Leader 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

10x Banking suits

Banks that need published throughput and uptime figures.

  • Proven scale (5/5). Throughput, uptime and account figures published.

10x Banking full profile

Formance suits

Fintech and crypto firms wanting a ledger they can host themselves.

  • Deployment choice (4/5). Vendor-run in a named cloud and self-hosted; one cloud only.
  • Security and regulated clients (4/5). ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II; no named regulated clients.

Formance full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.