How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Formance vs Pismo
Comparison · 2026 edition

Formance vs Pismo: core banking compared 2026.

Formance and Pismo side by side in the Core Banking and Ledgers Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.0 / 5Formance
2.5 / 5Pismo
FormanceHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Core Banking and Ledgers Index, Formance scores higher overall: 3.0 out of 5 (59 out of 100) against 2.5 (50), ranking 3 and 5 of 12. Formance scores higher for e-money and payment firms and fintechs building their own products; they tie for banks and building societies.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreFormancePismo
Score out of 53.02.5
Score out of 1005950
Overall rank3 of 125 of 12
For banks and building societies (out of 100)59, rank 359, rank 2
For E-money and payment firms (out of 100)60, rank 250, rank 4
For fintechs building their own products (out of 100)59, rank 342, rank 7
TypeOpen-source ledger platformCloud-native banking and card processing platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionFormancePismo
Product coverage3/5
Accounts, payments and multi-currency published; lending and cards not offered.
4/5
Accounts, lending, cards and payments published; multi-currency not stated.
Published pricing3/5
Free open-source tier published; enterprise not priced.
0/5
Not published.
Deployment choice4/5
Vendor-run in a named cloud and self-hosted; one cloud only.
2/5
Cloud-native, no named cloud.
Integration3/5
SDKs, documentation and free self-serve access; no launch time.
2/5
API reference only on the pages read.
Security and regulated clients4/5
ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II; no named regulated clients.
4/5
SOC 2 stated with named regulated banks; ISO 27001 not found.
Proven scale0/5
Not published.
3/5
One figure: 46 million cards.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Core Banking and Ledgers Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactFormancePismo
Product coverage"Double-entry, multi-currency" core ledger; Wallets module with "multi-currency balances, holds, expiring balances"; Flows module for multi-step transactions; pre-built connectors for Stripe, Adyen, Wise, Fireblocks and Kraken.Credit, debit and prepaid cards for Visa, Mastercard and private labels; digital lending; corporate demand deposit accounts "in a multi-country, multi-region, and multi-branch structure"; digital wallets; merchant processing.
PricingOpen Source: full ledger "under MIT License" with no fee. Enterprise: "Annual subscription, custom quote based on scale".Not published on the pages read.
DeploymentCloud: "Each cloud customer runs in a dedicated private region in a separate AWS account"; also "Private Cloud or Assisted Self-Hosted deployment"."A truly cloud-native API platform"; no cloud provider named on the pages read.
IntegrationCLI and SDKs; full source code access; documentation published; self-serve sign-up for the open-source version.API reference and documentation linked from the homepage.
Security and clientsISO 27001:2022; "SOC 2 Type II audit passed with zero exceptions across all 33 criteria"."Pismo achieves SOC 2 compliance". Client quotes from Citi TTS, Itaú and BTG Pactual.
ScaleNot listed in this indexClient quote from Grow cites Pismo's expertise in "managing 46 million cards".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Formance: security and regulated clients and proven scale.

Not published or not stated by Pismo: pricing, deployment, product coverage and security and regulated clients.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: formance.com, formance.com/pricing, formance.com/security; and pismo.io.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Formance
Leader 2026
Pismo

No award in this index.

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Formance suits

Fintech and crypto firms wanting a ledger they can host themselves.

  • Deployment choice (4/5). Vendor-run in a named cloud and self-hosted; one cloud only.
  • Security and regulated clients (4/5). ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II; no named regulated clients.

Formance full profile

Pismo suits

Banks and large firms combining cards, lending and accounts.

  • Product coverage (4/5). Accounts, lending, cards and payments published; multi-currency not stated.
  • Security and regulated clients (4/5). SOC 2 stated with named regulated banks; ISO 27001 not found.

Pismo full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.