How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Modern Treasury
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Modern Treasury review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

A ledger joined to US payment rails, stablecoins and partner-bank accounts, with KYC and monitoring included.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.5 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
1Index
6 of 12Rank, Core Banking and Ledgers Index

Short answer.

Modern Treasury scores 2.5 out of 5 (50 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Core Banking and Ledgers Index 2026 and ranks 6 of 12. It is strongest for US fintechs wanting a ledger joined to payment rails, and its best criterion is product coverage at 3 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: pricing, deployment, product coverage, integration and security and regulated clients.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Core Banking and Ledgers Index 2026.

Core Banking and Ledgers Index

2.5 / 550 out of 100 · rank 6 of 12

No award in the Core Banking and Ledgers Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For banks and building societies548 of 12
For E-money and payment firms506 of 12
For fintechs building their own products474 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

US fintechs wanting a ledger joined to payment rails.

  • Product coverage (3/5). Accounts, lending and payments published; cards and multi-currency not stated.
  • Integration (3/5). Public API reference and self-serve sign-up; no sandbox or launch time stated.
  • Security and regulated clients (3/5). SOC 2 Type II published; ISO 27001 and named regulated clients not found.
  • Proven scale (3/5). One figure: $600 billion in payments.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (1/5). Pricing model and no minimum stated, but no figures.
  • Deployment choice (2/5). Vendor-run only, no named cloud.

Published facts.

What Modern Treasury publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A ledger joined to US payment rails, stablecoins and partner-bank accounts, with KYC and monitoring included. It publishes SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS 4.0, and states no minimum spend, but does not publish prices.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Product coverageLedgers as "a single, immutable system of record"; payments across ACH, wires, RTP/FedNow, push-to-card, checks and stablecoins; "Payment accounts backed by regulated partners"; lending listed as a solution.
Pricing"Usage-based pricing"; "No. All pricing is usage-based" in answer to minimum spend; Ledgers priced on "flexible usage tiers". No figures published.
DeploymentRun by Modern Treasury in the cloud; no cloud provider named on the pages read.
Integration"One API for payments, accounts, and ledgering"; API reference and docs published; "Start building" sign-up.
Security and clients"SOC 2 Type II and SOC 1 Type II Compliant"; "certified PCI DSS 4.0 compliant".
Scale"Built on the infrastructure and proprietary ledger that has powered $600 billion in payments".
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Modern Treasury

  • Pricing. No figures published.
  • Deployment. No cloud provider named on the pages read.
  • Product coverage. Cards and multi-currency not stated.
  • Integration. No sandbox or launch time stated.
  • Security and regulated clients. ISO 27001 and named regulated clients not found.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: moderntreasury.com/products/ledgers, moderntreasury.com/pricing, moderntreasury.com/security.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Product coverage: 3/5. Accounts, lending and payments published; cards and multi-currency not stated.
  • Published pricing: 1/5. Pricing model and no minimum stated, but no figures.
  • Deployment choice: 2/5. Vendor-run only, no named cloud.
  • Integration: 3/5. Public API reference and self-serve sign-up; no sandbox or launch time stated.
  • Security and regulated clients: 3/5. SOC 2 Type II published; ISO 27001 and named regulated clients not found.
  • Proven scale: 3/5. One figure: $600 billion in payments.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Core Banking and Ledgers Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Modern Treasury alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Thought Machine3.51 of 12Large banks replacing a legacy core on the cloud of their choice
SDK.finance3.02 of 12E-money firms and fintechs wanting a published price
Formance3.03 of 12Fintech and crypto firms wanting a ledger they can host themselves
10x Banking2.64 of 12Banks that need published throughput and uptime figures
Pismo2.55 of 12Banks and large firms combining cards, lending and accounts
Mambu2.57 of 12Lenders and deposit-takers wanting audited SaaS
Temenos2.58 of 12Banks in many countries wanting packaged software or SaaS
Tuum2.39 of 12Banks wanting cloud or on-premise deployment with a stated launch time
Zeta2.010 of 12Banks launching card programmes
Finxact2.011 of 12US banks wanting an API-first core with a sandbox
Episode Six1.312 of 12Issuers wanting one ledger for cards, credit and deposits

Full Core Banking and Ledgers Index ranking

Modern Treasury compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Modern Treasury is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.