How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Formance vs Thought Machine
Comparison · 2026 edition

Formance vs Thought Machine: core banking compared 2026.

Formance and Thought Machine side by side in the Core Banking and Ledgers Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.0 / 5Formance
3.5 / 5Thought Machine
Thought MachineHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Core Banking and Ledgers Index, Thought Machine scores higher overall: 3.5 out of 5 (71 out of 100) against 3.0 (59), ranking 1 and 3 of 12. Thought Machine also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreFormanceThought Machine
Score out of 53.03.5
Score out of 1005971
Overall rank3 of 121 of 12
For banks and building societies (out of 100)59, rank 383, rank 1
For E-money and payment firms (out of 100)60, rank 268, rank 1
For fintechs building their own products (out of 100)59, rank 361, rank 2
TypeOpen-source ledger platformCloud-native core banking platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionFormanceThought Machine
Product coverage3/5
Accounts, payments and multi-currency published; lending and cards not offered.
5/5
Deposits, lending, cards, payments and multi-currency all published.
Published pricing3/5
Free open-source tier published; enterprise not priced.
0/5
Not published.
Deployment choice4/5
Vendor-run in a named cloud and self-hosted; one cloud only.
5/5
Four named public clouds, on-premise, hybrid and a managed SaaS published.
Integration3/5
SDKs, documentation and free self-serve access; no launch time.
3/5
Public sandbox and self-service deployment; no specific time to launch.
Security and regulated clients4/5
ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II; no named regulated clients.
5/5
ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2 stated, with named regulated banks.
Proven scale0/5
Not published.
3/5
One figure published: 20 major financial institutions.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Core Banking and Ledgers Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactFormanceThought Machine
Product coverage"Double-entry, multi-currency" core ledger; Wallets module with "multi-currency balances, holds, expiring balances"; Flows module for multi-step transactions; pre-built connectors for Stripe, Adyen, Wise, Fireblocks and Kraken.Vault Core: current and transaction accounts, savings and term deposits, loans and mortgages, credit cards and BNPL (buy now, pay later), wallets and multi-currency. Vault Payments: payment orchestration, account-to-account payments, card issuing and processing.
PricingOpen Source: full ledger "under MIT License" with no fee. Enterprise: "Annual subscription, custom quote based on scale".Not published on the pages read.
DeploymentCloud: "Each cloud customer runs in a dedicated private region in a separate AWS account"; also "Private Cloud or Assisted Self-Hosted deployment".Runs on Google Cloud, AWS, Azure and IBM Cloud, on-premise, hybrid through Red Hat OpenShift, and as a managed SaaS on AWS.
IntegrationCLI and SDKs; full source code access; documentation published; self-serve sign-up for the open-source version.Public shared sandbox through the Vault Portal for partners; self-service deployment or client services; "Launch in weeks, not years" with no specific time stated.
Security and clientsISO 27001:2022; "SOC 2 Type II audit passed with zero exceptions across all 33 criteria".States it is "ISO 27001 certified" and holds "SOC 2 Type 2 accreditation". Logos include Lloyds, Standard Chartered, SEB, Intesa Sanpaolo, Bancolombia, Arvest, Atom and Lunar.
ScaleNot listed in this index"We support 20 of the world's premier financial institutions".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Formance: security and regulated clients and proven scale.

Not published or not stated by Thought Machine: pricing and integration.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: formance.com, formance.com/pricing, formance.com/security; and thoughtmachine.net, thoughtmachine.net/press-releases/…, thoughtmachine.net/delivery, thoughtmachine.net/blog/….

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Formance
Leader 2026
Thought Machine
Leader 2026Best for banks and building societies 2026Best for E-money and payment firms 2026Top rated for product coverage 2026Top rated for deployment choice 2026Top rated for security and regulated clients 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Formance suits

Fintech and crypto firms wanting a ledger they can host themselves.

  • Deployment choice (4/5). Vendor-run in a named cloud and self-hosted; one cloud only.
  • Security and regulated clients (4/5). ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II; no named regulated clients.

Formance full profile

Thought Machine suits

Large banks replacing a legacy core on the cloud of their choice.

  • Product coverage (5/5). Deposits, lending, cards, payments and multi-currency all published.
  • Deployment choice (5/5). Four named public clouds, on-premise, hybrid and a managed SaaS published.
  • Security and regulated clients (5/5). ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2 stated, with named regulated banks.

Thought Machine full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.