How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Thought Machine
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Thought Machine review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

A cloud-native core banking engine, Vault Core, with a separate payments product, Vault Payments.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.5 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
6Awards 2026
1Index
1 of 12Rank, Core Banking and Ledgers Index

Short answer.

Thought Machine scores 3.5 out of 5 (71 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Core Banking and Ledgers Index 2026 and ranks 1 of 12. It is strongest for large banks replacing a legacy core on the cloud of their choice, with 5 out of 5 for product coverage, deployment choice and security and regulated clients. Not published or not stated on the pages read: pricing and integration.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Core Banking and Ledgers Index 2026.

Core Banking and Ledgers Index

3.5 / 571 out of 100 · rank 1 of 12
Leader 2026Best for banks and building societies 2026Best for E-money and payment firms 2026Top rated for product coverage 2026Top rated for deployment choice 2026Top rated for security and regulated clients 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For banks and building societies831 of 12
For E-money and payment firms681 of 12
For fintechs building their own products612 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Large banks replacing a legacy core on the cloud of their choice.

  • Product coverage (5/5). Deposits, lending, cards, payments and multi-currency all published.
  • Deployment choice (5/5). Four named public clouds, on-premise, hybrid and a managed SaaS published.
  • Security and regulated clients (5/5). ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2 stated, with named regulated banks.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). Not published.

Published facts.

What Thought Machine publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A cloud-native core banking engine, Vault Core, with a separate payments product, Vault Payments. It publishes the widest deployment choice in this edition, both main security certifications and a list of large regulated bank clients. It does not publish prices or a specific time to launch.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Product coverageVault Core: current and transaction accounts, savings and term deposits, loans and mortgages, credit cards and BNPL (buy now, pay later), wallets and multi-currency. Vault Payments: payment orchestration, account-to-account payments, card issuing and processing.
PricingNot published on the pages read.
DeploymentRuns on Google Cloud, AWS, Azure and IBM Cloud, on-premise, hybrid through Red Hat OpenShift, and as a managed SaaS on AWS.
IntegrationPublic shared sandbox through the Vault Portal for partners; self-service deployment or client services; "Launch in weeks, not years" with no specific time stated.
Security and clientsStates it is "ISO 27001 certified" and holds "SOC 2 Type 2 accreditation". Logos include Lloyds, Standard Chartered, SEB, Intesa Sanpaolo, Bancolombia, Arvest, Atom and Lunar.
Scale"We support 20 of the world's premier financial institutions".
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Thought Machine

  • Pricing. Not published on the pages read.
  • Integration. "Launch in weeks, not years" with no specific time stated.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: thoughtmachine.net, thoughtmachine.net/press-releases/…, thoughtmachine.net/delivery, thoughtmachine.net/blog/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Product coverage: 5/5. Deposits, lending, cards, payments and multi-currency all published.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. Not published.
  • Deployment choice: 5/5. Four named public clouds, on-premise, hybrid and a managed SaaS published.
  • Integration: 3/5. Public sandbox and self-service deployment; no specific time to launch.
  • Security and regulated clients: 5/5. ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2 stated, with named regulated banks.
  • Proven scale: 3/5. One figure published: 20 major financial institutions.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Core Banking and Ledgers Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Thought Machine alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
SDK.finance3.02 of 12E-money firms and fintechs wanting a published price
Formance3.03 of 12Fintech and crypto firms wanting a ledger they can host themselves
10x Banking2.64 of 12Banks that need published throughput and uptime figures
Pismo2.55 of 12Banks and large firms combining cards, lending and accounts
Modern Treasury2.56 of 12US fintechs wanting a ledger joined to payment rails
Mambu2.57 of 12Lenders and deposit-takers wanting audited SaaS
Temenos2.58 of 12Banks in many countries wanting packaged software or SaaS
Tuum2.39 of 12Banks wanting cloud or on-premise deployment with a stated launch time
Zeta2.010 of 12Banks launching card programmes
Finxact2.011 of 12US banks wanting an API-first core with a sandbox
Episode Six1.312 of 12Issuers wanting one ledger for cards, credit and deposits

Full Core Banking and Ledgers Index ranking

Thought Machine compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.