How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Tipalti review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A payables and mass payments platform covering a branded payee portal, tax form collection and reporting, and sanctions screening, across 196 countries.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.8 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
3Awards 2026
1Index
3 of 11Rank, Payouts and Mass Payments Index

Short answer.

Tipalti scores 3.8 out of 5 (76 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Payouts and Mass Payments Index 2026 and ranks 3 of 11. It is strongest for firms paying many contractors or creators across borders with full tax form handling, with 5 out of 5 for global reach and payee onboarding and tax. Not published or not stated on the pages read: published pricing, payout methods and speed and regulatory standing.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Payouts and Mass Payments Index 2026.

Payouts and Mass Payments Index

3.8 / 576 out of 100 · rank 3 of 11
Leader 2026Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for payee onboarding and tax 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For marketplaces and gig platforms773 of 11
For firms paying contractors and creators753 of 11
For payment and fintech firms755 of 11

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Firms paying many contractors or creators across borders with full tax form handling.

  • Global reach (5/5). 196 countries and 120+ currencies published.
  • Payee onboarding and tax (5/5). Payee portal, OFAC and sanctions screening, W-9 and W-8 collection, and 1099, 1042-S and DAC7 reporting all published.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (1/5). Only "starting at" plan prices published; transaction fees not published.

Published facts.

What Tipalti publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A payables and mass payments platform covering a branded payee portal, tax form collection and reporting, and sanctions screening, across 196 countries. It states US money transmission licences and UK and EU e-money authorisation without licence numbers, and publishes only "starting at" plan prices.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Global reach"cross-border payments to 196 countries in 120+ currencies, using 50+ payment methods".
PricingMass Payments: "Plans starting at" $348 CAD a month, with payment transaction fees extra; "does not offer a free tier" (Canada pricing page).
Payee onboarding and tax"self-service onboarding via a branded payee hub or embeddable iFrame"; "digitally collects and validates W-9 and W-8 tax forms, as well as TINs"; "generate 1099 and 1042-S preparation reports"; DAC7 data collection; "tax ID validation, OFAC, and sanctions list screening of all payees".
Integration"pre-built integrations and powerful APIs for your ERPs, accounting systems"; REST APIs.
Regulatory standing"we hold money transmission licenses across every US state that mandates them"; "licensed Electronic Money Institution (EMI) in the UK and EU"; Tipalti Canada registered with FINTRAC. No licence numbers on the pages read.
Security"ISAE 3402 (SOC1) and ISAE 3000 (SOC2) Type II certified"; "SSAE 18 SOC compliant".
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Tipalti

  • Published pricing. Transaction fees not published.
  • Payout methods and speed. No delivery time stated.
  • Regulatory standing. Licences stated without regulators' licence numbers.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: tipalti.com, tipalti.com/en-ca/pricing, tipalti.com/accounts-payable-software/…, tipalti.com/product/platform/cloud.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Global reach: 5/5. 196 countries and 120+ currencies published.
  • Published pricing: 1/5. Only "starting at" plan prices published; transaction fees not published.
  • Payee onboarding and tax: 5/5. Payee portal, OFAC and sanctions screening, W-9 and W-8 collection, and 1099, 1042-S and DAC7 reporting all published.
  • Payout methods and speed: 4/5. 50+ payment methods published; no delivery time stated.
  • Integration: 4/5. API and ERP integrations published; no free tier or self-serve sign-up.
  • Regulatory standing: 3/5. SOC 2 Type II published; licences stated without regulators' licence numbers.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payouts and Mass Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Tipalti alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Trolley4.51 of 11Platforms paying creators and sellers that want a full published price list
Stripe Connect and Global Payouts4.22 of 11Platforms already taking payments on Stripe that want onboarding, tax forms and payouts in one place
Payoneer3.54 of 11Marketplaces paying sellers abroad into accounts, bank accounts or wallets
Nium3.45 of 11Payment and fintech firms needing real-time payouts and licences in many markets
Airwallex3.06 of 11Platforms wanting a published fee schedule and licences across Asia, Europe and the US
PayPal Payouts2.87 of 11Businesses paying recipients who already use PayPal or Venmo
Routable2.88 of 11US firms paying many vendors and contractors from their accounting system
Rapyd Disburse2.89 of 11Firms paying recipients by card, wallet or cash as well as bank transfer
Wise Business2.610 of 11Smaller firms paying overseas suppliers and freelancers into bank accounts
dLocal2.311 of 11Platforms paying recipients in Latin America, Africa and Asia

Full Payouts and Mass Payments Index ranking

Tipalti compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.