How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Tipalti vs Trolley
Comparison · 2026 edition

Tipalti vs Trolley: payouts compared 2026.

Tipalti and Trolley side by side in the Payouts and Mass Payments Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.8 / 5Tipalti
4.5 / 5Trolley
TrolleyHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Payouts and Mass Payments Index, Trolley scores higher overall: 4.5 out of 5 (91 out of 100) against 3.8 (76), ranking 1 and 3 of 11. Trolley also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreTipaltiTrolley
Score out of 53.84.5
Score out of 1007691
Overall rank3 of 111 of 11
For marketplaces and gig platforms (out of 100)77, rank 391, rank 1
For firms paying contractors and creators (out of 100)75, rank 393, rank 1
For payment and fintech firms (out of 100)75, rank 588, rank 1
TypePayables and mass payments platformPayouts and tax compliance platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionTipaltiTrolley
Global reach5/5
196 countries and 120+ currencies published.
5/5
210+ countries and 135+ currencies published.
Published pricing1/5
Only "starting at" plan prices published; transaction fees not published.
5/5
Plan prices, per-payment fees by method and the 2.00% conversion margin published; only the top plan is unpriced.
Payee onboarding and tax5/5
Payee portal, OFAC and sanctions screening, W-9 and W-8 collection, and 1099, 1042-S and DAC7 reporting all published.
5/5
White-label onboarding, identity checks and US and EU tax reporting all published.
Payout methods and speed4/5
50+ payment methods published; no delivery time stated.
4/5
Bank, wire, PayPal, Venmo, debit card and check published; no delivery time stated.
Integration4/5
API and ERP integrations published; no free tier or self-serve sign-up.
4/5
API, accounting integrations and a self-serve trial; bulk upload not confirmed on the pages read.
Regulatory standing3/5
SOC 2 Type II published; licences stated without regulators' licence numbers.
4/5
UK, US and Canadian licences published with numbers; SOC 2 report offered without its type stated.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payouts and Mass Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactTipaltiTrolley
Global reach"cross-border payments to 196 countries in 120+ currencies, using 50+ payment methods".Pays out to "210+ countries & territories" in "135+ currencies".
PricingMass Payments: "Plans starting at" $348 CAD a month, with payment transaction fees extra; "does not offer a free tier" (Canada pricing page).Standard: "$0/year + transaction fees"; Pay $2,399 a year; Tax $2,399 a year; Trust $1,199 a year. Per payment: ACH $1.00, wire with FX $10.00, USD wire without FX $25.00, Venmo $1.50, debit card 1.00% ($1.50 min), PayPal $0; currency conversion 2.00%. Trolley Plus: "Talk to Sales".
Payee onboarding and tax"self-service onboarding via a branded payee hub or embeddable iFrame"; "digitally collects and validates W-9 and W-8 tax forms, as well as TINs"; "generate 1099 and 1042-S preparation reports"; DAC7 data collection; "tax ID validation, OFAC, and sanctions list screening of all payees".White-label onboarding; Trust covers identity verification and "11,230+ worldwide documents"; IRS statement $2.00 and digital platform reporting (DAC7) $3.00 per unit; tax automated across "30+ jurisdictions".
Integration"pre-built integrations and powerful APIs for your ERPs, accounting systems"; REST APIs.API and SDK; QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite and Zapier; data exports to Snowflake and Redshift; 30-day trial with no credit card.
Regulatory standing"we hold money transmission licenses across every US state that mandates them"; "licensed Electronic Money Institution (EMI) in the UK and EU"; Tipalti Canada registered with FINTRAC. No licence numbers on the pages read.Trolley Payments UK Ltd: FCA payment institution, reference 771016; Trolley US Inc: FinCEN MSB 31000323661955, NMLS ID 2309944, with state licences listed by number; Trolley CA Inc: FINTRAC M18487871. SOC 2 report access offered.
Security"ISAE 3402 (SOC1) and ISAE 3000 (SOC2) Type II certified"; "SSAE 18 SOC compliant".Not listed in this index
Payout methodsNot listed in this indexDomestic and international bank transfers, wires, PayPal, Venmo, US debit card and checks.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Tipalti: published pricing, payout methods and speed and regulatory standing.

Not published or not stated by Trolley: payout methods and speed and integration.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: tipalti.com, tipalti.com/en-ca/pricing, tipalti.com/accounts-payable-software/…, tipalti.com/product/platform/cloud; and trolley.com/trolley-pricing, trolley.com/trolley-vs-payoneer, trolley.com/trolley-regulatory-licenses.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Tipalti
Leader 2026Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for payee onboarding and tax 2026
Trolley
Leader 2026Best for marketplaces and gig platforms 2026Best for firms paying contractors and creators 2026Best for payment and fintech firms 2026Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for published pricing 2026Top rated for payee onboarding and tax 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Tipalti suits

Firms paying many contractors or creators across borders with full tax form handling.

  • Global reach (5/5). 196 countries and 120+ currencies published.
  • Payee onboarding and tax (5/5). Payee portal, OFAC and sanctions screening, W-9 and W-8 collection, and 1099, 1042-S and DAC7 reporting all published.

Tipalti full profile

Trolley suits

Platforms paying creators and sellers that want a full published price list.

  • Global reach (5/5). 210+ countries and 135+ currencies published.
  • Published pricing (5/5). Plan prices, per-payment fees by method and the 2.00% conversion margin published; only the top plan is unpriced.
  • Payee onboarding and tax (5/5). White-label onboarding, identity checks and US and EU tax reporting all published.

Trolley full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.