WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

PayPal's mass payment product sends money to recipients' PayPal or Venmo accounts by email, phone number or PayPal ID, across 156 markets.
PayPal Payouts scores 2.8 out of 5 (56 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Payouts and Mass Payments Index 2026 and ranks 7 of 11. It is strongest for businesses paying recipients who already use PayPal or Venmo, and its best criterion is payout methods and speed at 4 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: pricing, regulatory standing and payee onboarding and tax.
Scores from the Payouts and Mass Payments Index 2026.
No award in the Payouts and Mass Payments Index 2026.
| Segment | Score out of 100 | Rank |
|---|---|---|
| For marketplaces and gig platforms | 56 | 7 of 11 |
| For firms paying contractors and creators | 50 | 7 of 11 |
| For payment and fintech firms | 62 | 10 of 11 |
The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.
Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.
Businesses paying recipients who already use PayPal or Venmo.
What PayPal Payouts publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
PayPal's mass payment product sends money to recipients' PayPal or Venmo accounts by email, phone number or PayPal ID, across 156 markets. It publishes a per-payment fee for US dollar payouts, though the 2% web fee cap is not stated, and lists its US licences by NMLS number. It does not publish bank or card payouts, recipient checks or tax forms on the pages read.
| Fact | What the provider publishes |
|---|---|
| Global reach | "You can make payouts in 23 currencies and over 156 global markets." |
| Pricing | USD via Payouts Web: 2% of the transaction amount, subject to a maximum fee cap (amount not stated); USD via Payouts API: $0.25 per transaction; other currencies: 2% on Payouts Web, API rate varies by currency. "Payout recipients pay no fee." |
| Payout methods and speed | Payouts to PayPal or Venmo accounts (Venmo "available in US only"); recipients get funds "immediately". |
| Recipient onboarding | Recipients without an account receive "a link to claim their money". Tax forms not mentioned. |
| Integration | "Set up payments with Payouts API, use Payouts Web, or manually upload a file via SFTP." |
| Regulatory standing | PayPal, Inc., NMLS ID 910457, licensed for money transmission in 49 states, DC, Guam, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands. Security certifications not on the pages read. |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 |
A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: paypal.com/us/business/operations/mass-payments, paypal.com/ca/business/operations/mass-payments, paypal.com/us/webapps/mpp/licenses.
Each score with the evidence behind it.
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payouts and Mass Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.
| Provider | Score out of 5 | Rank | Strongest for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trolley | 4.5 | 1 of 11 | Platforms paying creators and sellers that want a full published price list |
| Stripe Connect and Global Payouts | 4.2 | 2 of 11 | Platforms already taking payments on Stripe that want onboarding, tax forms and payouts in one place |
| Tipalti | 3.8 | 3 of 11 | Firms paying many contractors or creators across borders with full tax form handling |
| Payoneer | 3.5 | 4 of 11 | Marketplaces paying sellers abroad into accounts, bank accounts or wallets |
| Nium | 3.4 | 5 of 11 | Payment and fintech firms needing real-time payouts and licences in many markets |
| Airwallex | 3.0 | 6 of 11 | Platforms wanting a published fee schedule and licences across Asia, Europe and the US |
| Routable | 2.8 | 8 of 11 | US firms paying many vendors and contractors from their accounting system |
| Rapyd Disburse | 2.8 | 9 of 11 | Firms paying recipients by card, wallet or cash as well as bank transfer |
| Wise Business | 2.6 | 10 of 11 | Smaller firms paying overseas suppliers and freelancers into bank accounts |
| dLocal | 2.3 | 11 of 11 | Platforms paying recipients in Latin America, Africa and Asia |
Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.
Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. PayPal Payouts is compared with its alternatives in the table above.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.