How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Stripe Connect and Global Payouts
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Stripe Connect and Global Payouts review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

Stripe's platform product pays connected sellers and service providers, with onboarding checks and automatic 1099 filing, and its Global Payouts product pays third parties in 160+ countries.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.2 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
4Awards 2026
1Index
2 of 11Rank, Payouts and Mass Payments Index

Short answer.

Stripe Connect and Global Payouts scores 4.2 out of 5 (83 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Payouts and Mass Payments Index 2026 and ranks 2 of 11. It is strongest for platforms already taking payments on Stripe that want onboarding, tax forms and payouts in one place, with 5 out of 5 for payee onboarding and tax, payout methods and speed and regulatory standing. Not published or not stated on the pages read: integration.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Payouts and Mass Payments Index 2026.

Payouts and Mass Payments Index

4.2 / 583 out of 100 · rank 2 of 11
Leader 2026Top rated for payee onboarding and tax 2026Top rated for payout methods and speed 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For marketplaces and gig platforms832 of 11
For firms paying contractors and creators842 of 11
For payment and fintech firms823 of 11

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Platforms already taking payments on Stripe that want onboarding, tax forms and payouts in one place.

  • Payee onboarding and tax (5/5). Hosted onboarding, KYC and AML checks and automatic 1099 filing published.
  • Payout methods and speed (5/5). Bank, wire, debit card and crypto wallet payouts with stated delivery times.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). US licences with NMLS number and New York licence, PCI Level 1 and SOC 2 Type II.
Watch out for
  • Global reach (3/5). 160+ countries published; no currency count; sending limited to UK and US businesses.
  • Integration (3/5). API and dashboard sending; accounting integrations not published on the pages read.

Published facts.

What Stripe Connect and Global Payouts publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

Stripe's platform product pays connected sellers and service providers, with onboarding checks and automatic 1099 filing, and its Global Payouts product pays third parties in 160+ countries. It publishes clear platform and payout fees, US money transmission licences and PCI Level 1 with SOC 2 Type II. Global Payouts is open only to UK and US businesses, with EU access in private preview.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Global reachGlobal Payouts: "160+ countries"; Connect payouts: "118 countries". Sending available to businesses in GB and US; EU countries in private preview.
Pricing"$2 per monthly active account"; "0.25% + 25¢ per payout sent"; Instant Payouts "1% of payout volume"; cross-border payouts "Starting at 0.25% of payout volume". Global Payouts: standard to bank $1.50; instant to debit card $1.50 plus 0.75%.
Payee onboarding and taxConnect: "Onboarding with KYC and AML checks"; "Automatic 1099 generation and filing"; prebuilt forms let recipients enter their own details.
Payout methods and speedLocal bank transfers, wires, debit cards and crypto wallets; bank in 2 to 3 days, debit card in minutes.
IntegrationAPI; "Create recipients and send money directly from the Dashboard".
Regulatory standingStripe Payments Company, NMLS No. 1280479, licensed as a money transmitter in the US states listed, including by the New York State Department of Financial Services. PCI Service Provider Level 1; SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II reports produced annually.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Stripe Connect and Global Payouts

  • Integration. Accounting integrations not published on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: stripe.com/it-us/connect/pricing, stripe.com/payouts, docs.stripe.com/global-payouts, stripe.com/de-dk/spc/licenses, docs.stripe.com/security.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Global reach: 3/5. 160+ countries published; no currency count; sending limited to UK and US businesses.
  • Published pricing: 4/5. Platform, payout and instant payout fees published; cross-border fee published only as "starting at".
  • Payee onboarding and tax: 5/5. Hosted onboarding, KYC and AML checks and automatic 1099 filing published.
  • Payout methods and speed: 5/5. Bank, wire, debit card and crypto wallet payouts with stated delivery times.
  • Integration: 3/5. API and dashboard sending; accounting integrations not published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 5/5. US licences with NMLS number and New York licence, PCI Level 1 and SOC 2 Type II.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payouts and Mass Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Stripe Connect and Global Payouts alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Trolley4.51 of 11Platforms paying creators and sellers that want a full published price list
Tipalti3.83 of 11Firms paying many contractors or creators across borders with full tax form handling
Payoneer3.54 of 11Marketplaces paying sellers abroad into accounts, bank accounts or wallets
Nium3.45 of 11Payment and fintech firms needing real-time payouts and licences in many markets
Airwallex3.06 of 11Platforms wanting a published fee schedule and licences across Asia, Europe and the US
PayPal Payouts2.87 of 11Businesses paying recipients who already use PayPal or Venmo
Routable2.88 of 11US firms paying many vendors and contractors from their accounting system
Rapyd Disburse2.89 of 11Firms paying recipients by card, wallet or cash as well as bank transfer
Wise Business2.610 of 11Smaller firms paying overseas suppliers and freelancers into bank accounts
dLocal2.311 of 11Platforms paying recipients in Latin America, Africa and Asia

Full Payouts and Mass Payments Index ranking

Stripe Connect and Global Payouts compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.