WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Nium and Tipalti side by side in the Payouts and Mass Payments Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Payouts and Mass Payments Index, Tipalti scores higher overall: 3.8 out of 5 (76 out of 100) against 3.4 (67), ranking 3 and 5 of 11. Nium scores higher for payment and fintech firms; Tipalti scores higher for marketplaces and gig platforms and firms paying contractors and creators.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Nium | Tipalti |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 3.4 | 3.8 |
| Score out of 100 | 67 | 76 |
| Overall rank | 5 of 11 | 3 of 11 |
| For marketplaces and gig platforms (out of 100) | 66, rank 5 | 77, rank 3 |
| For firms paying contractors and creators (out of 100) | 53, rank 6 | 75, rank 3 |
| For payment and fintech firms (out of 100) | 83, rank 2 | 75, rank 5 |
| Type | Cross-border payouts infrastructure | Payables and mass payments platform |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Nium | Tipalti |
|---|---|---|
| Global reach | 5/5 190+ countries and 100+ currencies published. | 5/5 196 countries and 120+ currencies published. |
| Published pricing | 0/5 Not published. | 1/5 Only "starting at" plan prices published; transaction fees not published. |
| Payee onboarding and tax | 1/5 Beneficiary account checks in 50+ countries; recipient portal and tax forms not published. | 5/5 Payee portal, OFAC and sanctions screening, W-9 and W-8 collection, and 1099, 1042-S and DAC7 reporting all published. |
| Payout methods and speed | 5/5 Bank, card, wallet and stablecoin payouts with same-day and real-time delivery stated. | 4/5 50+ payment methods published; no delivery time stated. |
| Integration | 4/5 API, SDK, web portal and a stated go-live time of days. | 4/5 API and ERP integrations published; no free tier or self-serve sign-up. |
| Regulatory standing | 5/5 Licences with numbers in 14 jurisdictions, ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2. | 3/5 SOC 2 Type II published; licences stated without regulators' licence numbers. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payouts and Mass Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Nium | Tipalti |
|---|---|---|
| Global reach | "Reach 190+ countries in fiat or stablecoin"; payouts "in 100+ local currencies". | "cross-border payments to 196 countries in 120+ currencies, using 50+ payment methods". |
| Pricing | Not published; "Rates and fees are surfaced at the time of the transaction." | Mass Payments: "Plans starting at" $348 CAD a month, with payment transaction fees extra; "does not offer a free tier" (Canada pricing page). |
| Payout methods and speed | "Deliver to bank accounts, cards, or wallets, in fiat or stablecoin"; "100+ real-time corridors"; real-time markets "can settle same-day". | Not listed in this index |
| Integration | "Go live in days via API, SDK, or web portal"; "Validate beneficiary accounts instantly across 50+ countries". | "pre-built integrations and powerful APIs for your ERPs, accounting systems"; REST APIs. |
| Regulatory standing | NIUM Pte. Ltd. MAS Major Payment Institution PS20200276; Nium Fintech Limited FCA e-money institution 901024; UAB Nium EU Bank of Lithuania e-money licence No. 14; Nium, Inc. NMLS ID 1528562 with money transfer licences in 36 states; licences also listed for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan and others. | "we hold money transmission licenses across every US state that mandates them"; "licensed Electronic Money Institution (EMI) in the UK and EU"; Tipalti Canada registered with FINTRAC. No licence numbers on the pages read. |
| Security | Badges for PCI DSS, ISO/IEC 27001, SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 1 Type 2. | "ISAE 3402 (SOC1) and ISAE 3000 (SOC2) Type II certified"; "SSAE 18 SOC compliant". |
| Payee onboarding and tax | Not listed in this index | "self-service onboarding via a branded payee hub or embeddable iFrame"; "digitally collects and validates W-9 and W-8 tax forms, as well as TINs"; "generate 1099 and 1042-S preparation reports"; DAC7 data collection; "tax ID validation, OFAC, and sanctions list screening of all payees". |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Nium: pricing and payee onboarding and tax.
Not published or not stated by Tipalti: published pricing, payout methods and speed and regulatory standing.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: nium.com/products/global-payouts, nium.com/regulatory-disclosures; and tipalti.com, tipalti.com/en-ca/pricing, tipalti.com/accounts-payable-software/…, tipalti.com/product/platform/cloud.
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Payment and fintech firms needing real-time payouts and licences in many markets.
Firms paying many contractors or creators across borders with full tax form handling.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.