How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Payoneer vs Tipalti
Comparison · 2026 edition

Payoneer vs Tipalti: payouts compared 2026.

Payoneer and Tipalti side by side in the Payouts and Mass Payments Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.5 / 5Payoneer
3.8 / 5Tipalti
TipaltiHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Payouts and Mass Payments Index, Tipalti scores higher overall: 3.8 out of 5 (76 out of 100) against 3.5 (71), ranking 3 and 4 of 11. Payoneer scores higher for payment and fintech firms; Tipalti scores higher for marketplaces and gig platforms and firms paying contractors and creators.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScorePayoneerTipalti
Score out of 53.53.8
Score out of 1007176
Overall rank4 of 113 of 11
For marketplaces and gig platforms (out of 100)70, rank 477, rank 3
For firms paying contractors and creators (out of 100)64, rank 475, rank 3
For payment and fintech firms (out of 100)78, rank 475, rank 5
TypeCross-border payments and mass payouts platformPayables and mass payments platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionPayoneerTipalti
Global reach4/5
190+ countries and 70 payout currencies published.
5/5
196 countries and 120+ currencies published.
Published pricing2/5
Sending fees published only as "up to" figures; withdrawal and annual fees exact.
1/5
Only "starting at" plan prices published; transaction fees not published.
Payee onboarding and tax3/5
Hosted payee sign-up and recipient checks published; tax form collection not described.
5/5
Payee portal, OFAC and sanctions screening, W-9 and W-8 collection, and 1099, 1042-S and DAC7 reporting all published.
Payout methods and speed5/5
Account, bank and e-wallet payouts with stated delivery times.
4/5
50+ payment methods published; no delivery time stated.
Integration2/5
API-enabled payouts and an embeddable sign-up page; no accounting integrations or self-serve set-up for payers on the pages read.
4/5
API and ERP integrations published; no free tier or self-serve sign-up.
Regulatory standing5/5
Licences with numbers in nine jurisdictions, PCI DSS Level 1 and SOC 2 Type II.
3/5
SOC 2 Type II published; licences stated without regulators' licence numbers.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payouts and Mass Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactPayoneerTipalti
Global reachPayees in "190+ countries and territories"; hold "up to 30 currencies" and pay out in "70 currencies"."cross-border payments to 196 countries in 120+ currencies, using 50+ payment methods".
PricingSending to a recipient in the same country: "Up to 4.00 USD / EUR / GBP"; to another country: "Up to 1% + Up to 4.00 USD"; withdrawal to a bank, same currency: 1.50 USD; annual account fee 29.95 USD below 6,000 USD received.Mass Payments: "Plans starting at" $348 CAD a month, with payment transaction fees extra; "does not offer a free tier" (Canada pricing page).
Payee onboardingEmbeddable sign-up page or sign-up link for payees; "Entrust your KYC, AML, and other fraud prevention processes to us." Tax services mentioned in general terms only.Not listed in this index
Payout methods and speed"Payoneer account, local bank account or eWallet"; to Payoneer accounts "within minutes"; bank transfers "up to 3 business days".Not listed in this index
Regulatory standingFinCEN MSB 31000288349183; Central Bank of Ireland e-money authorisation 966835; FCA e-money authorisation 15-10-01734; Hong Kong MSO 00045; Kanto Finance Bureau 504803; RBI OPGSP PS20200604; MAS Major Payment Institution."we hold money transmission licenses across every US state that mandates them"; "licensed Electronic Money Institution (EMI) in the UK and EU"; Tipalti Canada registered with FINTRAC. No licence numbers on the pages read.
Security"PCI DSS level 1 certified"; "SOC 2 Type II and SOC 1 Type II assessment conducted by independent audit firm"."ISAE 3402 (SOC1) and ISAE 3000 (SOC2) Type II certified"; "SSAE 18 SOC compliant".
Payee onboarding and taxNot listed in this index"self-service onboarding via a branded payee hub or embeddable iFrame"; "digitally collects and validates W-9 and W-8 tax forms, as well as TINs"; "generate 1099 and 1042-S preparation reports"; DAC7 data collection; "tax ID validation, OFAC, and sanctions list screening of all payees".
IntegrationNot listed in this index"pre-built integrations and powerful APIs for your ERPs, accounting systems"; REST APIs.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Payoneer: payee onboarding and tax.

Not published or not stated by Tipalti: published pricing, payout methods and speed and regulatory standing.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: payoneer.com/business/global-payouts, payoneer.com/fees, payoneer.com/legal/…, payoneer.com/security; and tipalti.com, tipalti.com/en-ca/pricing, tipalti.com/accounts-payable-software/…, tipalti.com/product/platform/cloud.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Payoneer
Top rated for payout methods and speed 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
Tipalti
Leader 2026Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for payee onboarding and tax 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Payoneer suits

Marketplaces paying sellers abroad into accounts, bank accounts or wallets.

  • Payout methods and speed (5/5). Account, bank and e-wallet payouts with stated delivery times.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Licences with numbers in nine jurisdictions, PCI DSS Level 1 and SOC 2 Type II.

Payoneer full profile

Tipalti suits

Firms paying many contractors or creators across borders with full tax form handling.

  • Global reach (5/5). 196 countries and 120+ currencies published.
  • Payee onboarding and tax (5/5). Payee portal, OFAC and sanctions screening, W-9 and W-8 collection, and 1099, 1042-S and DAC7 reporting all published.

Tipalti full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.