How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Virgin Money (Nationwide)
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Virgin Money (Nationwide) review 2026: scores, costs and alternatives.

Virgin Money's business bank, part of Nationwide since April 2026, offers letters of credit, collections, guarantees, trade loans and a UK Export Finance backed General Export Facility of up to GBP 31.25 million.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.0 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
2Awards 2026
1Index
5 of 14Rank, Trade Finance Index

Short answer.

Virgin Money (Nationwide) scores 3.0 out of 5 (60 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Trade Finance Index 2026 and ranks 5 of 14. It is strongest for UK exporters using a UK Export Finance backed facility, with 5 out of 5 for products and standing. Not published or not stated on the pages read: published cost, facility size and tenor and speed.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Trade Finance Index 2026.

Trade Finance Index

3.0 / 560 out of 100 · rank 5 of 14
Top rated for products 2026Top rated for standing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For importers605 of 14
For exporters576 of 14
For wholesalers624 of 14

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

UK exporters using a UK Export Finance backed facility.

  • Products (5/5). Letters of credit, collections, guarantees, import and export loans, bill discounting and a UKEF-backed facility are published.
  • Standing (5/5). A deposit-taking UK building society with FSCS protection.
Watch out for
  • Speed (0/5). No processing times published.
  • Access (2/5). UK businesses only, with published export criteria for the UKEF facility.

Published facts.

What Virgin Money (Nationwide) publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

Virgin Money's business bank, part of Nationwide since April 2026, offers letters of credit, collections, guarantees, trade loans and a UK Export Finance backed General Export Facility of up to GBP 31.25 million. Its international trade tariff publishes commissions; loan pricing is not published.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Legal statusTariff issued by 'Nationwide Building Society (trading as Virgin Money)'. Following court approval on 23 February 2026, Virgin Money's business transferred to Nationwide on 2 April 2026; 'Nationwide is now your account provider'. FSCS 'protects eligible deposits up to £120,000 per person'.
ProductsImport and export letters of credit, documentary collections, international guarantees and bonds, import and export trade loans, avalisations and bill discounting, and the General Export Facility (UK Export Finance backed).
Published costInternational trade tariff: import LC 'Opened 0.35% per first 3 months or part thereof. Min £75.00', then 0.12% a month; export LC advising GBP 50, acceptance 0.15% a month (min GBP 50); sight collections 0.275% (min GBP 30, max GBP 100); usance collections 0.4% (min GBP 40, max GBP 120); guarantees '2.5% per annum' plus GBP 160 establishment fee. Trade loan pricing not published; General Export Facility: 'Arrangement fees are payable every year'.
Facility size and tenorGeneral Export Facility 'up to a maximum equivalent £31.25m', standard terms up to 2 years (up to 5 with approval). Other sizes and tenors not published.
SpeedProcessing times not published.
Who can applyBusiness 'must be based and operate in the UK', excluding the Channel Islands, Isle of Man and Northern Ireland; applicants 18 or over. General Export Facility: at least 5% export sales in each of the last three years, or over 20% in any one year.
Funding and historyA UK building society taking FSCS-protected deposits; 'Virgin Money are members of the UK Government Export Finance Scheme'.
Date read21 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Virgin Money (Nationwide)

  • Published cost. Trade loan pricing not published.
  • Facility size and tenor. Other sizes and tenors not published.
  • Speed. Processing times not published.
  • Speed. No processing times published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: uk.virginmoney.com/business/…, uk.virginmoney.com/downloads/pdf/business/…, uk.virginmoney.com/business/…, uk.virginmoney.com/nationwide-transfer/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Products: 5/5. Letters of credit, collections, guarantees, import and export loans, bill discounting and a UKEF-backed facility are published.
  • Published cost: 3/5. Commissions and minimums for trade services are published; loan pricing is not.
  • Facility size and tenor: 3/5. Only the General Export Facility maximum (GBP 31.25 million, up to two years) is published.
  • Speed: 0/5. No processing times published.
  • Access: 2/5. UK businesses only, with published export criteria for the UKEF facility.
  • Standing: 5/5. A deposit-taking UK building society with FSCS protection.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Trade Finance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Virgin Money (Nationwide) alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Wayflyer3.91 of 14Inventory funding for brands and wholesalers
Settle3.22 of 14US consumer brands extending supplier terms to 180 days
Ebury3.23 of 14Unsecured import finance with FX in one account
HSBC Hong Kong3.14 of 14Asian traders needing letters of credit and trade loans
Kriya2.96 of 14UK exporters financing invoices to overseas buyers
Funding Societies2.77 of 14Singapore SMEs paying overseas suppliers
Tradewind Finance2.48 of 14Export factoring with credit protection
Credlix2.39 of 14Indian exporters selling to the US and Europe
Drip Capital2.310 of 14Unsecured supplier payment terms for US importers
Clearco2.011 of 14US e-commerce brands paying overseas suppliers' invoices
Bibby Financial Services2.012 of 14UK exporters wanting invoice finance with bad debt cover
8fig2.013 of 14Online sellers funding inventory and supply chain costs
NatWest1.414 of 14UK businesses wanting a full bank trade finance range

Full Trade Finance Index ranking

Virgin Money (Nationwide) compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.