How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Ebury vs Virgin Money (Nationwide)
Comparison · 2026 edition

Ebury vs Virgin Money (Nationwide): trade finance compared 2026.

Ebury and Virgin Money (Nationwide) side by side in the Trade Finance Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.2 / 5Ebury
3.0 / 5Virgin Money (Nationwide)
EburyHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Trade Finance Index, Ebury scores higher overall: 3.2 out of 5 (65 out of 100) against 3.0 (60), ranking 3 and 5 of 14. Ebury also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreEburyVirgin Money (Nationwide)
Score out of 53.23.0
Score out of 1006560
Overall rank3 of 145 of 14
For importers (out of 100)64, rank 260, rank 5
For exporters (out of 100)65, rank 357, rank 6
For wholesalers (out of 100)66, rank 262, rank 4
TypeUK e-money institution with trade lendingUK building society (Nationwide)

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionEburyVirgin Money (Nationwide)
Products4/5
Supplier payment finance for imports and export invoice finance with buyer credit are published.
5/5
Letters of credit, collections, guarantees, import and export loans, bill discounting and a UKEF-backed facility are published.
Published cost2/5
No standard rate; the only figure is an illustrative 0.5% a month in a worked import example, plus published zero set-up and early repayment fees.
3/5
Commissions and minimums for trade services are published; loan pricing is not.
Facility size and tenor4/5
GBP 50,000 to GBP 5 million with 150 days to repay; the minimum sits above the scale's under-$50,000 floor.
3/5
Only the General Export Facility maximum (GBP 31.25 million, up to two years) is published.
Speed3/5
Set-up within two weeks is published; drawdown on signing.
0/5
No processing times published.
Access3/5
Published minimums (GBP 1M revenue, two years), but countries are not listed and a guarantee may occasionally be required.
2/5
UK businesses only, with published export criteria for the UKEF facility.
Standing4/5
FCA-authorised e-money institution (900797); the lending entity and funding source are not named.
5/5
A deposit-taking UK building society with FSCS protection.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Trade Finance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

FactEburyVirgin Money (Nationwide)
Legal status'Ebury Partners UK Limited is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority as an Electronic Money Institution (reference number: 900797).' EU: Ebury Partners Belgium NV/SA, a payment institution (Spanish branch supervised by the Bank of Spain, registration 6889). The financing pages do not name the lending entity: 'availability depends on the entity's regulatory permissions'.Tariff issued by 'Nationwide Building Society (trading as Virgin Money)'. Following court approval on 23 February 2026, Virgin Money's business transferred to Nationwide on 2 April 2026; 'Nationwide is now your account provider'. FSCS 'protects eligible deposits up to £120,000 per person'.
ProductsSupplier Payment Finance, an unsecured credit line to pay suppliers, raw materials and freight 'in most currencies'. Trade finance page: import finance (repay 'up to 150 days later') and export finance ('Provide your buyers credit': 90% of the invoice paid up front, buyers repay 'up to 120 days later').Import and export letters of credit, documentary collections, international guarantees and bonds, import and export trade loans, avalisations and bill discounting, and the General Export Facility (UK Export Finance backed).
Published costSet-up costs £0; interest only on the amount drawn 'at a rate pre-decided and mentioned in your terms and conditions'; 'zero fees for early repayment and any unused credit'. The trade finance page's worked example uses a 'Representative example of 0.5% per month funding cost'; no standard rate published.International trade tariff: import LC 'Opened 0.35% per first 3 months or part thereof. Min £75.00', then 0.12% a month; export LC advising GBP 50, acceptance 0.15% a month (min GBP 50); sight collections 0.275% (min GBP 30, max GBP 100); usance collections 0.4% (min GBP 40, max GBP 120); guarantees '2.5% per annum' plus GBP 160 establishment fee. Trade loan pricing not published; General Export Facility: 'Arrangement fees are payable every year'.
Facility size and tenor'Access unsecured credit lines from £50K to £5M.' 'Sell your goods and repay Ebury within 150 days.'General Export Facility 'up to a maximum equivalent £31.25m', standard terms up to 2 years (up to 5 with approval). Other sizes and tenors not published.
SpeedAccount and credit line set-up 'usually takes up to two weeks'; funds 'available to draw and pay your suppliers as soon as you sign your T&Cs'.Processing times not published.
Who can applyOperating revenue of GBP 1M or more; tangible net worth above GBP 100,000; at least 2 years of trading. Countries not listed: 'Ebury's product offerings may vary based on your country of origin.' Unsecured; 'In rare cases, we may require a personal or cross-company guarantee'.Business 'must be based and operate in the UK', excluding the Channel Islands, Isle of Man and Northern Ireland; applicants 18 or over. General Export Facility: at least 5% export sales in each of the last three years, or over 20% in any one year.
Funding and historyClient funds held in separate accounts under safeguarding and client money rules. Funding source for the credit line not named.A UK building society taking FSCS-protected deposits; 'Virgin Money are members of the UK Government Export Finance Scheme'.
Date read21 October 202621 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Ebury: published cost, who can apply, funding and history, access and standing.

Not published or not stated by Virgin Money (Nationwide): published cost, facility size and tenor and speed.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: ebury.com/products/financing/…, ebury.com/en/supplier-payment-finance, ebury.com/trade-finance, ebury.com/group-legal-entities; and uk.virginmoney.com/business/…, uk.virginmoney.com/downloads/pdf/business/…, uk.virginmoney.com/business/…, uk.virginmoney.com/nationwide-transfer/….

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Ebury
Leader 2026
Virgin Money (Nationwide)
Top rated for products 2026Top rated for standing 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Ebury suits

Unsecured import finance with FX in one account.

  • Products (4/5). Supplier payment finance for imports and export invoice finance with buyer credit are published.
  • Facility size and tenor (4/5). GBP 50,000 to GBP 5 million with 150 days to repay; the minimum sits above the scale's under-$50,000 floor.
  • Standing (4/5). FCA-authorised e-money institution (900797); the lending entity and funding source are not named.

Ebury full profile

Virgin Money (Nationwide) suits

UK exporters using a UK Export Finance backed facility.

  • Products (5/5). Letters of credit, collections, guarantees, import and export loans, bill discounting and a UKEF-backed facility are published.
  • Standing (5/5). A deposit-taking UK building society with FSCS protection.

Virgin Money (Nationwide) full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.