How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Settle vs Virgin Money (Nationwide)
Comparison · 2026 edition

Settle vs Virgin Money (Nationwide): trade finance compared 2026.

Settle and Virgin Money (Nationwide) side by side in the Trade Finance Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.2 / 5Settle
3.0 / 5Virgin Money (Nationwide)
SettleHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Trade Finance Index, Settle scores higher overall: 3.2 out of 5 (65 out of 100) against 3.0 (60), ranking 2 and 5 of 14. Settle also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreSettleVirgin Money (Nationwide)
Score out of 53.23.0
Score out of 1006560
Overall rank2 of 145 of 14
For importers (out of 100)64, rank 360, rank 5
For exporters (out of 100)66, rank 257, rank 6
For wholesalers (out of 100)66, rank 362, rank 4
TypeUS fintech lenderUK building society (Nationwide)

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionSettleVirgin Money (Nationwide)
Products3/5
Supplier bill financing and purchase order financing are published.
5/5
Letters of credit, collections, guarantees, import and export loans, bill discounting and a UKEF-backed facility are published.
Published cost2/5
Pricing is explained with a worked APR illustration, but no standard rate is published.
3/5
Commissions and minimums for trade services are published; loan pricing is not.
Facility size and tenor5/5
From $20,000 to $15 million with repayment extendable to 180 days.
3/5
Only the General Export Facility maximum (GBP 31.25 million, up to two years) is published.
Speed4/5
Approval in one to three business days and funds in a few days are published.
0/5
No processing times published.
Access3/5
Published minimums and personal guarantees typically not required, but only US consumer brands are served.
2/5
UK businesses only, with published export criteria for the UKEF facility.
Standing3/5
An established non-bank with $4 billion funded and a named credit facility; the lending entity and licence are not stated.
5/5
A deposit-taking UK building society with FSCS protection.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Trade Finance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

FactSettleVirgin Money (Nationwide)
Legal status'Settle Inc.', 36 W 20th St #10, New York, NY 10011. The financing page does not name the lending entity, a partner bank or any state lending licence.Tariff issued by 'Nationwide Building Society (trading as Virgin Money)'. Following court approval on 23 February 2026, Virgin Money's business transferred to Nationwide on 2 April 2026; 'Nationwide is now your account provider'. FSCS 'protects eligible deposits up to £120,000 per person'.
ProductsWorking Capital: Settle pays supplier bills on Extended Payment Terms (single repayment) or Amortized Terms; purchase order financing mentioned in the FAQ. Bill pay to international vendors 'via no or low-cost wire transfer in either USD or a foreign currency' (90 currencies).Import and export letters of credit, documentary collections, international guarantees and bonds, import and export trade loans, avalisations and bill discounting, and the General Export Facility (UK Export Finance backed).
Published costSimple interest on the outstanding balance; no base rate or fee schedule. FAQ illustration: a 1.4% monthly simple-interest rate equals a 17.03% APR. International wires $13 to $15 by plan.International trade tariff: import LC 'Opened 0.35% per first 3 months or part thereof. Min £75.00', then 0.12% a month; export LC advising GBP 50, acceptance 0.15% a month (min GBP 50); sight collections 0.275% (min GBP 30, max GBP 100); usance collections 0.4% (min GBP 40, max GBP 120); guarantees '2.5% per annum' plus GBP 160 establishment fee. Trade loan pricing not published; General Export Facility: 'Arrangement fees are payable every year'.
Facility size and tenor'Approvals from $20K to $15M.' Repayment due in 30 days, extendable to 180 days (help centre: in 30-day steps up to 120 days for Extended Payment Terms).General Export Facility 'up to a maximum equivalent £31.25m', standard terms up to 2 years (up to 5 with approval). Other sizes and tenors not published.
SpeedApproval in 1 to 3 business days; 'Most founders get funds in a few days'. Each financed payment reviewed in 1 to 2 business days.Processing times not published.
Who can applyConsumer brands that hold inventory; trailing twelve-month revenue of at least $500,000; at least one year in operation. Personal guarantees 'typically' not required. US focus implied; countries not stated.Business 'must be based and operate in the UK', excluding the Channel Islands, Isle of Man and Northern Ireland; applicants 18 or over. General Export Facility: at least 5% export sales in each of the last three years, or over 20% in any one year.
Funding and history'Funded over $4B'; a $240M credit facility from a financial institution and an NYC asset manager. Investors include Ribbit Capital, Kleiner Perkins and Founders Fund.A UK building society taking FSCS-protected deposits; 'Virgin Money are members of the UK Government Export Finance Scheme'.
Date read21 October 202621 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Settle: who can apply, published cost and standing.

Not published or not stated by Virgin Money (Nationwide): published cost, facility size and tenor and speed.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: settle.com/financing, help.settle.com/en/articles/…, help.settle.com/en/articles/…; and uk.virginmoney.com/business/…, uk.virginmoney.com/downloads/pdf/business/…, uk.virginmoney.com/business/…, uk.virginmoney.com/nationwide-transfer/….

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Settle
Leader 2026Top rated for facility size and tenor 2026
Virgin Money (Nationwide)
Top rated for products 2026Top rated for standing 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Settle suits

US consumer brands extending supplier terms to 180 days.

  • Facility size and tenor (5/5). From $20,000 to $15 million with repayment extendable to 180 days.

Settle full profile

Virgin Money (Nationwide) suits

UK exporters using a UK Export Finance backed facility.

  • Products (5/5). Letters of credit, collections, guarantees, import and export loans, bill discounting and a UKEF-backed facility are published.
  • Standing (5/5). A deposit-taking UK building society with FSCS protection.

Virgin Money (Nationwide) full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.