How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Virgin Money (Nationwide) vs Wayflyer
Comparison · 2026 edition

Virgin Money (Nationwide) vs Wayflyer: trade finance compared 2026.

Virgin Money (Nationwide) and Wayflyer side by side in the Trade Finance Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.0 / 5Virgin Money (Nationwide)
3.9 / 5Wayflyer
WayflyerHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Trade Finance Index, Wayflyer scores higher overall: 3.9 out of 5 (78 out of 100) against 3.0 (60), ranking 1 and 5 of 14. Wayflyer also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreVirgin Money (Nationwide)Wayflyer
Score out of 53.03.9
Score out of 1006078
Overall rank5 of 141 of 14
For importers (out of 100)60, rank 579, rank 1
For exporters (out of 100)57, rank 679, rank 1
For wholesalers (out of 100)62, rank 476, rank 1
TypeUK building society (Nationwide)Irish non-bank lender

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionVirgin Money (Nationwide)Wayflyer
Products5/5
Letters of credit, collections, guarantees, import and export loans, bill discounting and a UKEF-backed facility are published.
3/5
Inventory financing and working capital advances are published; no receivables or supplier finance as such.
Published cost3/5
Commissions and minimums for trade services are published; loan pricing is not.
5/5
A worked example ($100,000 financed, $4,200 fee) and a 5% to 10% fee range are published.
Facility size and tenor3/5
Only the General Export Facility maximum (GBP 31.25 million, up to two years) is published.
3/5
Up to $20 million published, with no minimum and no stated term.
Speed0/5
No processing times published.
5/5
An offer in as little as 24 hours and funds within one to three business days are published.
Access2/5
UK businesses only, with published export criteria for the UKEF facility.
4/5
Eleven countries of incorporation, published revenue minimums and no personal guarantee.
Standing5/5
A deposit-taking UK building society with FSCS protection.
3/5
An established non-bank with a named Irish company and published offices; no licence or external funding source.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Trade Finance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

FactVirgin Money (Nationwide)Wayflyer
Legal statusTariff issued by 'Nationwide Building Society (trading as Virgin Money)'. Following court approval on 23 February 2026, Virgin Money's business transferred to Nationwide on 2 April 2026; 'Nationwide is now your account provider'. FSCS 'protects eligible deposits up to £120,000 per person'.'Wayflyer Limited trading as "Wayflyer", registered in Ireland under company number 602786', registered office One Spencer Dock, North Wall Quay, Dublin 1. No licence or regulator named; platform terms 'governed by Irish law' (effective 14 October 2026).
ProductsImport and export letters of credit, documentary collections, international guarantees and bonds, import and export trade loans, avalisations and bill discounting, and the General Export Facility (UK Export Finance backed).Inventory financing ('a smarter alternative to PO financing and invoice factoring'), merchant cash advance ('Our core funding product') and fixed-term loans.
Published costInternational trade tariff: import LC 'Opened 0.35% per first 3 months or part thereof. Min £75.00', then 0.12% a month; export LC advising GBP 50, acceptance 0.15% a month (min GBP 50); sight collections 0.275% (min GBP 30, max GBP 100); usance collections 0.4% (min GBP 40, max GBP 120); guarantees '2.5% per annum' plus GBP 160 establishment fee. Trade loan pricing not published; General Export Facility: 'Arrangement fees are payable every year'.Inventory financing worked example: $100,000 financed, $4,200 fee, $104,200 to repay. Help centre: one fixed fee 'typically between 5% and 10% of the total advance amount', example $100,000 at 6% = $6,000 fee. No interest, set-up, prepayment or late fees listed.
Facility size and tenorGeneral Export Facility 'up to a maximum equivalent £31.25m', standard terms up to 2 years (up to 5 with approval). Other sizes and tenors not published.Inventory financing 'up to $20M'; minimum not published. Repayment of the amount plus a fixed fee in set instalments (weekly, bi-weekly and monthly are shown); the FAQ says inventory financing typically bridges '30 to 120 days'. Term length not stated.
SpeedProcessing times not published.Offer 'in as little as 24 hours'; funds 'within 1-3 business days' (help centre) or 'as little as 24 hours' after approval (inventory page).
Who can applyBusiness 'must be based and operate in the UK', excluding the Channel Islands, Isle of Man and Northern Ireland; applicants 18 or over. General Export Facility: at least 5% export sales in each of the last three years, or over 20% in any one year.Funding generally: incorporated in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, Ireland, Spain, the Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark, Germany or Sweden; minimum average monthly revenue $10,000 (or EUR 10,000, GBP 10,000, AUD 20,000, CAD 20,000) for 6 months; 6 months trading for goods sellers. Inventory financing: US, UK or Australia, 12 months trading. 'No personal guarantees.' Dropshippers not funded.
Funding and historyA UK building society taking FSCS-protected deposits; 'Virgin Money are members of the UK Government Export Finance Scheme'.Offices in Dublin, Charlotte, London, New York, Sydney and Berlin (terms page). Customer agreements are with 'a Wayflyer group company'; no external funder named.
Date read21 October 202621 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Virgin Money (Nationwide): published cost, facility size and tenor and speed.

Not published or not stated by Wayflyer: legal status, published cost, facility size and tenor and funding and history.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: uk.virginmoney.com/business/…, uk.virginmoney.com/downloads/pdf/business/…, uk.virginmoney.com/business/…, uk.virginmoney.com/nationwide-transfer/…; and wayflyer.com/wholesale-financing, help-center.wayflyer.com/en/articles/…, help-center.wayflyer.com/en/articles/…, help-center.wayflyer.com/en/articles/…, wayflyer.com/terms.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Virgin Money (Nationwide)
Top rated for products 2026Top rated for standing 2026
Wayflyer
Leader 2026Best for importers 2026Best for exporters 2026Best for wholesalers 2026Top rated for published cost 2026Top rated for speed 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Virgin Money (Nationwide) suits

UK exporters using a UK Export Finance backed facility.

  • Products (5/5). Letters of credit, collections, guarantees, import and export loans, bill discounting and a UKEF-backed facility are published.
  • Standing (5/5). A deposit-taking UK building society with FSCS protection.

Virgin Money (Nationwide) full profile

Wayflyer suits

Inventory funding for brands and wholesalers.

  • Published cost (5/5). A worked example ($100,000 financed, $4,200 fee) and a 5% to 10% fee range are published.
  • Speed (5/5). An offer in as little as 24 hours and funds within one to three business days are published.

Wayflyer full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.