How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

NatWest review 2026: scores, costs and alternatives.

A UK clearing bank offering letters of credit, collections, bonds and guarantees, trade loans and invoice finance.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
1.4 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
1Awards 2026
1Index
14 of 14Rank, Trade Finance Index

Short answer.

NatWest scores 1.4 out of 5 (29 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Trade Finance Index 2026 and ranks 14 of 14. It is strongest for UK businesses wanting a full bank trade finance range, with 5 out of 5 for standing. Not published or not stated on the pages read: published cost, facility size and tenor, who can apply, products and speed.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Trade Finance Index 2026.

Trade Finance Index

1.4 / 529 out of 100 · rank 14 of 14
Top rated for standing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For importers2914 of 14
For exporters2914 of 14
For wholesalers3014 of 14

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

UK businesses wanting a full bank trade finance range.

  • Standing (5/5). A PRA-authorised UK bank (FRN 121878).
Watch out for
  • Published cost (0/5). No trade prices published.
  • Facility size and tenor (0/5). No sizes or tenors published.
  • Speed (0/5). No timeframes published.
  • Access (1/5). No eligibility criteria beyond 'subject to status'; security may be required.

Published facts.

What NatWest publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

A UK clearing bank offering letters of credit, collections, bonds and guarantees, trade loans and invoice finance. Its trade pages publish no prices, sizes or timeframes, so it scores mainly on range and standing.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Legal status'National Westminster Bank plc', registered in England and Wales No. 929027, 250 Bishopsgate, London EC2M 4AA. 'Authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority', Firm Reference Number 121878.
ProductsBonds, guarantees and standby letters of credit; letters of credit; documentary collections; trade loans ('a tailored funding solution based on your working capital needs' that 'could be used as a revolving facility'); invoice finance (navigation link only); Trade Finance Portal. Works 'closely with both the Department for Business and Trade and UK Export Finance'.
Published costNo trade prices published: 'Product fees may apply.'
Facility size and tenorNot published.
SpeedNot published. Existing customers draw down once their Relationship Manager 'has confirmed you have a credit line in place'.
Who can apply'Over 18s only. Subject to status, business use only.' 'Security may be required.' Supports trade 'in the UK or overseas'; no turnover criteria published.
Funding and historyA UK bank authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority.
Date read21 October 2026

Not published or not stated by NatWest

  • Published cost. No trade prices published: 'Product fees may apply.'.
  • Facility size and tenor. Not published.
  • Who can apply. No turnover criteria published.
  • Products. Supplier and receivables finance are not described on the trade pages.
  • Published cost. No trade prices published.
  • Facility size and tenor. No sizes or tenors published.
  • Speed. No timeframes published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: natwest.com/business/trade-finance.html, natwest.com/business/trade-finance/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Products: 4/5. Letters of credit, collections, guarantees, trade loans and invoice finance are listed; supplier and receivables finance are not described on the trade pages.
  • Published cost: 0/5. No trade prices published.
  • Facility size and tenor: 0/5. No sizes or tenors published.
  • Speed: 0/5. No timeframes published.
  • Access: 1/5. No eligibility criteria beyond 'subject to status'; security may be required.
  • Standing: 5/5. A PRA-authorised UK bank (FRN 121878).

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Trade Finance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

NatWest alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Wayflyer3.91 of 14Inventory funding for brands and wholesalers
Settle3.22 of 14US consumer brands extending supplier terms to 180 days
Ebury3.23 of 14Unsecured import finance with FX in one account
HSBC Hong Kong3.14 of 14Asian traders needing letters of credit and trade loans
Virgin Money (Nationwide)3.05 of 14UK exporters using a UK Export Finance backed facility
Kriya2.96 of 14UK exporters financing invoices to overseas buyers
Funding Societies2.77 of 14Singapore SMEs paying overseas suppliers
Tradewind Finance2.48 of 14Export factoring with credit protection
Credlix2.39 of 14Indian exporters selling to the US and Europe
Drip Capital2.310 of 14Unsecured supplier payment terms for US importers
Clearco2.011 of 14US e-commerce brands paying overseas suppliers' invoices
Bibby Financial Services2.012 of 14UK exporters wanting invoice finance with bad debt cover
8fig2.013 of 14Online sellers funding inventory and supply chain costs

Full Trade Finance Index ranking

NatWest compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. NatWest is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.