How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Nium vs Trolley
Comparison · 2026 edition

Nium vs Trolley: payouts compared 2026.

Nium and Trolley side by side in the Payouts and Mass Payments Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.4 / 5Nium
4.5 / 5Trolley
TrolleyHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Payouts and Mass Payments Index, Trolley scores higher overall: 4.5 out of 5 (91 out of 100) against 3.4 (67), ranking 1 and 5 of 11. Trolley also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreNiumTrolley
Score out of 53.44.5
Score out of 1006791
Overall rank5 of 111 of 11
For marketplaces and gig platforms (out of 100)66, rank 591, rank 1
For firms paying contractors and creators (out of 100)53, rank 693, rank 1
For payment and fintech firms (out of 100)83, rank 288, rank 1
TypeCross-border payouts infrastructurePayouts and tax compliance platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionNiumTrolley
Global reach5/5
190+ countries and 100+ currencies published.
5/5
210+ countries and 135+ currencies published.
Published pricing0/5
Not published.
5/5
Plan prices, per-payment fees by method and the 2.00% conversion margin published; only the top plan is unpriced.
Payee onboarding and tax1/5
Beneficiary account checks in 50+ countries; recipient portal and tax forms not published.
5/5
White-label onboarding, identity checks and US and EU tax reporting all published.
Payout methods and speed5/5
Bank, card, wallet and stablecoin payouts with same-day and real-time delivery stated.
4/5
Bank, wire, PayPal, Venmo, debit card and check published; no delivery time stated.
Integration4/5
API, SDK, web portal and a stated go-live time of days.
4/5
API, accounting integrations and a self-serve trial; bulk upload not confirmed on the pages read.
Regulatory standing5/5
Licences with numbers in 14 jurisdictions, ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2.
4/5
UK, US and Canadian licences published with numbers; SOC 2 report offered without its type stated.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payouts and Mass Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactNiumTrolley
Global reach"Reach 190+ countries in fiat or stablecoin"; payouts "in 100+ local currencies".Pays out to "210+ countries & territories" in "135+ currencies".
PricingNot published; "Rates and fees are surfaced at the time of the transaction."Standard: "$0/year + transaction fees"; Pay $2,399 a year; Tax $2,399 a year; Trust $1,199 a year. Per payment: ACH $1.00, wire with FX $10.00, USD wire without FX $25.00, Venmo $1.50, debit card 1.00% ($1.50 min), PayPal $0; currency conversion 2.00%. Trolley Plus: "Talk to Sales".
Payout methods and speed"Deliver to bank accounts, cards, or wallets, in fiat or stablecoin"; "100+ real-time corridors"; real-time markets "can settle same-day".Not listed in this index
Integration"Go live in days via API, SDK, or web portal"; "Validate beneficiary accounts instantly across 50+ countries".API and SDK; QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite and Zapier; data exports to Snowflake and Redshift; 30-day trial with no credit card.
Regulatory standingNIUM Pte. Ltd. MAS Major Payment Institution PS20200276; Nium Fintech Limited FCA e-money institution 901024; UAB Nium EU Bank of Lithuania e-money licence No. 14; Nium, Inc. NMLS ID 1528562 with money transfer licences in 36 states; licences also listed for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan and others.Trolley Payments UK Ltd: FCA payment institution, reference 771016; Trolley US Inc: FinCEN MSB 31000323661955, NMLS ID 2309944, with state licences listed by number; Trolley CA Inc: FINTRAC M18487871. SOC 2 report access offered.
SecurityBadges for PCI DSS, ISO/IEC 27001, SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 1 Type 2.Not listed in this index
Payee onboarding and taxNot listed in this indexWhite-label onboarding; Trust covers identity verification and "11,230+ worldwide documents"; IRS statement $2.00 and digital platform reporting (DAC7) $3.00 per unit; tax automated across "30+ jurisdictions".
Payout methodsNot listed in this indexDomestic and international bank transfers, wires, PayPal, Venmo, US debit card and checks.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Nium: pricing and payee onboarding and tax.

Not published or not stated by Trolley: payout methods and speed and integration.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: nium.com/products/global-payouts, nium.com/regulatory-disclosures; and trolley.com/trolley-pricing, trolley.com/trolley-vs-payoneer, trolley.com/trolley-regulatory-licenses.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Nium
Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for payout methods and speed 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
Trolley
Leader 2026Best for marketplaces and gig platforms 2026Best for firms paying contractors and creators 2026Best for payment and fintech firms 2026Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for published pricing 2026Top rated for payee onboarding and tax 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Nium suits

Payment and fintech firms needing real-time payouts and licences in many markets.

  • Global reach (5/5). 190+ countries and 100+ currencies published.
  • Payout methods and speed (5/5). Bank, card, wallet and stablecoin payouts with same-day and real-time delivery stated.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Licences with numbers in 14 jurisdictions, ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2.

Nium full profile

Trolley suits

Platforms paying creators and sellers that want a full published price list.

  • Global reach (5/5). 210+ countries and 135+ currencies published.
  • Published pricing (5/5). Plan prices, per-payment fees by method and the 2.00% conversion margin published; only the top plan is unpriced.
  • Payee onboarding and tax (5/5). White-label onboarding, identity checks and US and EU tax reporting all published.

Trolley full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.