How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Sumsub vs Veriff
Comparison · 2026 edition

Sumsub vs Veriff: identity verification compared 2026.

Sumsub and Veriff side by side in the Identity Verification and Transaction Monitoring Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 22 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.7 / 5Sumsub
4.2 / 5Veriff
SumsubHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Identity Verification and Transaction Monitoring Index, Sumsub scores higher overall: 4.7 out of 5 (94 out of 100) against 4.2 (84), ranking 1 and 4 of 13. Sumsub also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreSumsubVeriff
Score out of 54.74.2
Score out of 1009484
Overall rank1 of 134 of 13
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)94, rank 185, rank 3
For crypto firms (out of 100)95, rank 186, rank 3
For lenders and marketplaces (out of 100)92, rank 182, rank 3
TypeIdentity verification and AML platformIdentity verification platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionSumsubVeriff
Coverage5/5
KYC, KYB, sanctions screening, ongoing monitoring and transaction monitoring all published on one platform.
4/5
KYC, KYB, sanctions screening and ongoing monitoring published; transaction monitoring not published.
Published pricing4/5
Per-check prices and monthly minimums published for KYC and AML screening plans; business checks and transaction monitoring are not priced.
4/5
Per-check prices, minimums and screening add-on prices published; business verification and enterprise prices not published.
Global reach5/5
14,000+ document types across 220+ countries and territories published.
5/5
230+ countries and territories and 12,500+ ID documents published.
Integration4/5
No-code flow builder, published API documentation and a self-serve trial; no onboarding time published.
4/5
SDKs, APIs, portal and self-serve sign-up; no onboarding time published.
Regulatory standing5/5
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 cited, with a named bank and a named e-money client.
5/5
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022 with named regulated clients.
Data protection5/5
Named storage location, client choice of storage location and client-set retention published.
3/5
Published retention periods with client control; no storage region published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Identity Verification and Transaction Monitoring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 22 October 2026.

FactSumsubVeriff
CoverageFinancial institutions page lists KYC, KYB, AML screening with ongoing monitoring, transaction monitoring with "regulator-ready STR packages", Travel Rule and fraud prevention, with "one case console for fraud and AML".Homepage lists identity verification, Know Your Business (business registers plus directors, shareholders and beneficial owners) and AML screening against sanctions, PEPs and adverse media. Transaction monitoring not published.
PricingBasic: $1.35 per verification, "$149 min. monthly commitment". Compliance: $1.85 per verification, "$299 min. monthly commitment", including AML screening and ongoing AML monitoring. Business verification and transaction monitoring: custom plan, "Let's talk!". 14-day free trial with 50 checks.Essential: $0.80 per verification, "$49/ month min." Plus: $1.39, "$99/ month min." Premium: $1.89, "$209/ month min." PEP and sanctions screening add-on +$0.64 per verification; ongoing monitoring add-on +$0.09. Enterprise: "Let's talk".
Global reach"Supports over 14,000 document types across 220+ countries and territories." Business registry coverage page: "200+" countries and territories."Veriff supports identity verification in 230+ countries and territories", "more than 12,500 ID documents"; homepage states 300+ jurisdictions for business verification.
IntegrationNo-code dashboard: "No coding needed" to customise verification flows; API reference and documentation published; self-serve trial.Web and mobile SDKs, APIs and webhooks, a customer portal and workflows chaining several checks; self-serve plans with a 15-day free trial.
Regulatory standingSOC 2 Type II report from BARR Advisory (announced 10 November 2022). ID verification FAQ cites "SOC 2, ISO 27001, and PCI DSS". Named clients include iFAST Global Bank and Wirex.SOC 2 Type II, ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and UK Cyber Essentials listed. Named clients include Monzo, Western Union, Blockchain.com and LHV.
Data protectionService privacy notice: "all personal data is stored and processed on specially designated servers in Germany"; clients "may choose the location of Personal data processing (including storage)"; "Our Clients define how long Personal data should be stored and when to delete it."Enterprise default retention: "90 days in the Service and then for 3 years in archive"; "Customers can change the default identity verification retention period." Self-serve plans: 3 or 6 months retention by plan, with a 2-year extension add-on. Security page: backups "stored and encrypted in AWS servers"; no storage region stated.
Date read22 October 202622 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Sumsub: integration.

Not published or not stated by Veriff: coverage, data protection, published pricing and integration.

Facts read on 22 October 2026 from: sumsub.com/financial, sumsub.com/pricing, sumsub.com/id-verification, sumsub.com/business-registry-coverage, sumsub.com/newsroom/…, sumsub.com/privacy-notice-service; and veriff.com, veriff.com/plans/self-serve, veriff.com/supported-countries, veriff.com/data-retention/ver-vdr-2301, veriff.com/security-and-compliance.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Sumsub
Leader 2026Best for payment and e-money firms 2026Best for crypto firms 2026Best for lenders and marketplaces 2026Top rated for coverage 2026Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for data protection 2026
Veriff
Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Sumsub suits

Payment, e-money and crypto firms wanting one platform with published prices.

  • Coverage (5/5). KYC, KYB, sanctions screening, ongoing monitoring and transaction monitoring all published on one platform.
  • Global reach (5/5). 14,000+ document types across 220+ countries and territories published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 cited, with a named bank and a named e-money client.
  • Data protection (5/5). Named storage location, client choice of storage location and client-set retention published.

Sumsub full profile

Veriff suits

Firms needing wide document coverage with published self-serve prices.

  • Global reach (5/5). 230+ countries and territories and 12,500+ ID documents published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022 with named regulated clients.

Veriff full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.