How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › iDenfy vs Sumsub
Comparison · 2026 edition

iDenfy vs Sumsub: identity verification compared 2026.

iDenfy and Sumsub side by side in the Identity Verification and Transaction Monitoring Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 22 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.3 / 5iDenfy
4.7 / 5Sumsub
SumsubHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Identity Verification and Transaction Monitoring Index, Sumsub scores higher overall: 4.7 out of 5 (94 out of 100) against 4.3 (86), ranking 1 and 3 of 13. Sumsub also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreiDenfySumsub
Score out of 54.34.7
Score out of 1008694
Overall rank3 of 131 of 13
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)85, rank 494, rank 1
For crypto firms (out of 100)85, rank 495, rank 1
For lenders and marketplaces (out of 100)87, rank 292, rank 1
TypeIdentity verification and AML platformIdentity verification and AML platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterioniDenfySumsub
Coverage4/5
KYC, KYB, sanctions screening and ongoing monitoring published; transaction monitoring not published.
5/5
KYC, KYB, sanctions screening, ongoing monitoring and transaction monitoring all published on one platform.
Published pricing4/5
Per-check price, monthly minimum and screening add-on price published; enterprise tier not priced.
4/5
Per-check prices and monthly minimums published for KYC and AML screening plans; business checks and transaction monitoring are not priced.
Global reach4/5
200+ countries and 3,000+ document types published.
5/5
14,000+ document types across 220+ countries and territories published.
Integration5/5
API, SDK, no-code builder and self-serve trial published.
4/5
No-code flow builder, published API documentation and a self-serve trial; no onboarding time published.
Regulatory standing4/5
ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II with certificate details; regulated clients shown as logos only.
5/5
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 cited, with a named bank and a named e-money client.
Data protection5/5
Named EU storage location, residency options and configurable retention.
5/5
Named storage location, client choice of storage location and client-set retention published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Identity Verification and Transaction Monitoring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 22 October 2026.

FactiDenfySumsub
CoverageIdentity verification, KYB with "180+ company registries", sanctions and PEP checks, and "AML monitoring (daily re-screening for a year)" in the enterprise tier. Transaction monitoring not published.Financial institutions page lists KYC, KYB, AML screening with ongoing monitoring, transaction monitoring with "regulator-ready STR packages", Travel Rule and fraud prevention, with "one case console for fraud and AML".
PricingPay-as-you-go: $1.35 per verification, "$135 min. monthly". Sanctions and PEPs check +$0.45 per verification; proof of address +$0.90 per verification. Enterprise: tailored. 14-day trial with 10 free checks.Basic: $1.35 per verification, "$149 min. monthly commitment". Compliance: $1.85 per verification, "$299 min. monthly commitment", including AML screening and ongoing AML monitoring. Business verification and transaction monitoring: custom plan, "Let's talk!". 14-day free trial with 50 checks.
Global reach"over 3,000 document types" from "more than 200 countries and territories"; KYB across "180+ company registries in 300+ countries and jurisdictions"."Supports over 14,000 document types across 220+ countries and territories." Business registry coverage page: "200+" countries and territories.
Integration"API + SDK + no-code options"; no-code KYB workflow builder; verification "in under 60 seconds"; self-serve trial.No-code dashboard: "No coding needed" to customise verification flows; API reference and documentation published; self-serve trial.
Regulatory standingISO/IEC 27001:2022 (certificate 1512120135, TÜV Thüringen); SOC 2 Type II (House of CPA); eIDAS conformity declaration; PCI-DSS v4.0.1 for card processing. Logos include Lietuvos bankas.SOC 2 Type II report from BARR Advisory (announced 10 November 2022). ID verification FAQ cites "SOC 2, ISO 27001, and PCI DSS". Named clients include iFAST Global Bank and Wirex.
Data protection"All data is processed and stored on Amazon AWS in Europe (Dublin, Ireland)"; other residency on request; retention "configurable, with automatic deletion".Service privacy notice: "all personal data is stored and processed on specially designated servers in Germany"; clients "may choose the location of Personal data processing (including storage)"; "Our Clients define how long Personal data should be stored and when to delete it."
Date read22 October 202622 October 2026

Not published or not stated by iDenfy: coverage and integration.

Not published or not stated by Sumsub: integration.

Facts read on 22 October 2026 from: idenfy.com/pricing-plans, idenfy.com/know-your-business-solution, documentation.idenfy.com/guides/compliance/…, documentation.idenfy.com/resources/billing/…; and sumsub.com/financial, sumsub.com/pricing, sumsub.com/id-verification, sumsub.com/business-registry-coverage, sumsub.com/newsroom/…, sumsub.com/privacy-notice-service.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

iDenfy
Leader 2026Top rated for integration 2026Top rated for data protection 2026
Sumsub
Leader 2026Best for payment and e-money firms 2026Best for crypto firms 2026Best for lenders and marketplaces 2026Top rated for coverage 2026Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for data protection 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

iDenfy suits

Smaller payment and crypto firms wanting published prices and EU data storage.

  • Integration (5/5). API, SDK, no-code builder and self-serve trial published.
  • Data protection (5/5). Named EU storage location, residency options and configurable retention.

iDenfy full profile

Sumsub suits

Payment, e-money and crypto firms wanting one platform with published prices.

  • Coverage (5/5). KYC, KYB, sanctions screening, ongoing monitoring and transaction monitoring all published on one platform.
  • Global reach (5/5). 14,000+ document types across 220+ countries and territories published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 cited, with a named bank and a named e-money client.
  • Data protection (5/5). Named storage location, client choice of storage location and client-set retention published.

Sumsub full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.