How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Shufti vs Sumsub
Comparison · 2026 edition

Shufti vs Sumsub: identity verification compared 2026.

Shufti and Sumsub side by side in the Identity Verification and Transaction Monitoring Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 22 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.3 / 5Shufti
4.7 / 5Sumsub
SumsubHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Identity Verification and Transaction Monitoring Index, Sumsub scores higher overall: 4.7 out of 5 (94 out of 100) against 4.3 (86), ranking 1 and 2 of 13. Sumsub also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreShuftiSumsub
Score out of 54.34.7
Score out of 1008694
Overall rank2 of 131 of 13
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)86, rank 294, rank 1
For crypto firms (out of 100)90, rank 295, rank 1
For lenders and marketplaces (out of 100)81, rank 492, rank 1
TypeIdentity verification and AML platformIdentity verification and AML platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionShuftiSumsub
Coverage5/5
KYC, KYB, screening, ongoing monitoring and transaction monitoring all published.
5/5
KYC, KYB, sanctions screening, ongoing monitoring and transaction monitoring all published on one platform.
Published pricing1/5
Only a "starting from" paid price is published, which the method does not count.
4/5
Per-check prices and monthly minimums published for KYC and AML screening plans; business checks and transaction monitoring are not priced.
Global reach5/5
240+ countries, 10,000+ documents and 4,000+ watchlists published.
5/5
14,000+ document types across 220+ countries and territories published.
Integration5/5
API, SDKs, no-code workflow builder, free plan and a stated integration time of a few days.
4/5
No-code flow builder, published API documentation and a self-serve trial; no onboarding time published.
Regulatory standing5/5
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 stated, with named regulated clients and a case study.
5/5
SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 cited, with a named bank and a named e-money client.
Data protection4/5
Regional and on-premise hosting and configurable deletion; no named default location.
5/5
Named storage location, client choice of storage location and client-set retention published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Identity Verification and Transaction Monitoring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 22 October 2026.

FactShuftiSumsub
CoverageKYC with perpetual KYC, KYB with UBO mapping, sanctions, PEP and adverse media screening, ongoing AML screening and transaction monitoring (Enterprise plan).Financial institutions page lists KYC, KYB, AML screening with ongoing monitoring, transaction monitoring with "regulator-ready STR packages", Travel Rule and fraud prevention, with "one case console for fraud and AML".
PricingFree Forever: $0 for "Up to 10 verifications every month". Essentials: "Starting from" $1.5 per verification. Enterprise: "Request Pricing".Basic: $1.35 per verification, "$149 min. monthly commitment". Compliance: $1.85 per verification, "$299 min. monthly commitment", including AML screening and ongoing AML monitoring. Business verification and transaction monitoring: custom plan, "Let's talk!". 14-day free trial with 50 checks.
Global reach240+ countries and territories, 10,000+ document types, "4,000+" watchlists screened and 215+ sanctions regimes (fintech page)."Supports over 14,000 document types across 220+ countries and territories." Business registry coverage page: "200+" countries and territories.
IntegrationREST API, SDKs for web and mobile, no-code workflow builder (Journey Builder), sandbox and a free plan; "Most development teams complete the integration within a few days."No-code dashboard: "No coding needed" to customise verification flows; API reference and documentation published; self-serve trial.
Regulatory standing"Shufti holds SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, PCI DSS, GDPR, and iBeta ISO 30107 certifications." Client logos include IronFX and Bitget; Macropay case study.SOC 2 Type II report from BARR Advisory (announced 10 November 2022). ID verification FAQ cites "SOC 2, ISO 27001, and PCI DSS". Named clients include iFAST Global Bank and Wirex.
Data protection"Shufti stores client data in secure, certified data centres", location set by contract and data residency needs, with regional hosting and on-premise options; biometric data can be deleted after a check or kept for a defined period.Service privacy notice: "all personal data is stored and processed on specially designated servers in Germany"; clients "may choose the location of Personal data processing (including storage)"; "Our Clients define how long Personal data should be stored and when to delete it."
Date read22 October 202622 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Shufti: integration and data protection.

Not published or not stated by Sumsub: integration.

Facts read on 22 October 2026 from: shuftipro.com/pricing, shuftipro.com/faqs, shuftipro.com/fintech, shuftipro.com/docs; and sumsub.com/financial, sumsub.com/pricing, sumsub.com/id-verification, sumsub.com/business-registry-coverage, sumsub.com/newsroom/…, sumsub.com/privacy-notice-service.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Shufti
Leader 2026Top rated for coverage 2026Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for integration 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
Sumsub
Leader 2026Best for payment and e-money firms 2026Best for crypto firms 2026Best for lenders and marketplaces 2026Top rated for coverage 2026Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for data protection 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Shufti suits

Firms needing the widest published country and watchlist coverage.

  • Coverage (5/5). KYC, KYB, screening, ongoing monitoring and transaction monitoring all published.
  • Global reach (5/5). 240+ countries, 10,000+ documents and 4,000+ watchlists published.
  • Integration (5/5). API, SDKs, no-code workflow builder, free plan and a stated integration time of a few days.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 stated, with named regulated clients and a case study.

Shufti full profile

Sumsub suits

Payment, e-money and crypto firms wanting one platform with published prices.

  • Coverage (5/5). KYC, KYB, sanctions screening, ongoing monitoring and transaction monitoring all published on one platform.
  • Global reach (5/5). 14,000+ document types across 220+ countries and territories published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 cited, with a named bank and a named e-money client.
  • Data protection (5/5). Named storage location, client choice of storage location and client-set retention published.

Sumsub full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.