How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Saxo vs Upvest
Comparison · 2026 edition

Saxo vs Upvest: wealth infrastructure compared 2026.

Saxo and Upvest side by side in the Wealth and Brokerage Infrastructure Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.5 / 5Saxo
3.1 / 5Upvest
SaxoHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Wealth and Brokerage Infrastructure Index, Saxo scores higher overall: 3.5 out of 5 (69 out of 100) against 3.1 (63), ranking 3 and 4 of 11. Saxo also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreSaxoUpvest
Score out of 53.53.1
Score out of 1006963
Overall rank3 of 114 of 11
For fintech apps and neobanks (out of 100)69, rank 362, rank 5
For banks and wealth managers (out of 100)67, rank 465, rank 6
For brokers expanding abroad (out of 100)70, rank 362, rank 4
TypeMulti-asset broker and white-label platformInvestment API and custodian

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionSaxoUpvest
Asset range5/5
Shares, bonds, funds, ETFs, options and futures published.
5/5
Fractional shares, ETFs, funds and bonds published.
Published pricing0/5
Not published.
0/5
Not published.
Regulatory standing4/5
FCA reference number published for the UK entity; other licences not on the pages read.
3/5
BaFin and FCA named; licence numbers not on the pages read.
Market reach5/5
50+ markets published.
4/5
20+ countries published.
Integration and launch4/5
OpenAPI and white-label platforms published; no sandbox or launch time on the pages read.
3/5
API and a stated launch time of weeks; no sandbox or white-label app on the pages read.
Asset protection and security1/5
Custody stated with only potential segregation; no scheme or certificate published.
3/5
Custodian status and ISO 27001:2022 published; compensation scheme not stated.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Wealth and Brokerage Infrastructure Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactSaxoUpvest
Assets"71,000+ instruments": "23,000+ stocks", "5,200+ government and corporate bonds", "18,300+ funds", "7,400+ ETFs", options, FX, futures and CFDs."Access to 100k+ instruments, including stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, money market funds, ELTIFs, securitised derivatives, bonds"; "Real fractional investing from €1, £1 or $1"; crypto "coming soon".
ReachStocks "from New York, Hong Kong, London, and 50+ other markets"; options "from 20+ exchanges"."Expand seamlessly with local offerings across 20+ countries in Europe and the UK."
Integration"Go to market fast with off-the-shelf solutions or tailored experiences"; "Build bespoke and fully integrated user experiences using Saxo's OpenAPI"; pre-launch project management team.Cloud-native Investment API; "Launch competitive investment products across Europe and the UK within weeks."
Regulatory standingUK entity: "Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd" is "authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, Firm Reference Number 551422"."Fully regulated investment infrastructure authorised across Europe and the UK by Bafin and the FCA"; "launch under Upvest's licences or bring your own".
Protection"Receive custody services through Saxo's broker and custodian network with the potential for segregation of assets."Operates "as a fully fledged custodian"; "Upvest has successfully attained ISO/IEC 27001 certification" (ISO/IEC 27001:2022 badge); hosted on Google Cloud.
Pricing"Capital markets solutions with competitive pricing"; no figures published.Not listed in this index
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Saxo: pricing, published pricing and regulatory standing.

Not published or not stated by Upvest: published pricing, regulatory standing and asset protection and security.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: home.saxo/institutional-and-partners/…, home.saxo/institutional-and-partners; and upvest.co, upvest.co/security.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Saxo
Leader 2026Top rated for asset range 2026Top rated for market reach 2026
Upvest
Top rated for asset range 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Saxo suits

Banks and wealth managers wanting the widest instrument list.

  • Asset range (5/5). Shares, bonds, funds, ETFs, options and futures published.
  • Market reach (5/5). 50+ markets published.

Saxo full profile

Upvest suits

European fintechs launching investing across many countries.

  • Asset range (5/5). Fractional shares, ETFs, funds and bonds published.

Upvest full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.