WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Alpaca and Interactive Brokers side by side in the Wealth and Brokerage Infrastructure Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Wealth and Brokerage Infrastructure Index, Interactive Brokers scores higher overall: 4.4 out of 5 (88 out of 100) against 4.2 (83), ranking 1 and 2 of 11. Alpaca scores higher for banks and wealth managers; Interactive Brokers scores higher for fintech apps and neobanks and brokers expanding abroad.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Alpaca | Interactive Brokers |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 4.2 | 4.4 |
| Score out of 100 | 83 | 88 |
| Overall rank | 2 of 11 | 1 of 11 |
| For fintech apps and neobanks (out of 100) | 80, rank 2 | 90, rank 1 |
| For banks and wealth managers (out of 100) | 88, rank 1 | 85, rank 2 |
| For brokers expanding abroad (out of 100) | 82, rank 2 | 89, rank 1 |
| Type | Brokerage API and self-clearing broker | Introducing broker and white-branding programme |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Alpaca | Interactive Brokers |
|---|---|---|
| Asset range | 5/5 Fractional shares, options, bonds, crypto and cash products published. | 5/5 Shares, options, futures, currencies, bonds and funds published across 175+ markets. |
| Published pricing | 0/5 Not published. | 4/5 Fee basis, no-minimum terms and markup caps published; full commission schedule sits on a separate page. |
| Regulatory standing | 5/5 Regulators and registration numbers published for the US and the Bahamas. | 4/5 SEC, CFTC, FINRA and CIRO named; licence numbers not on the pages read. |
| Market reach | 5/5 Partners in 40+ countries published. | 5/5 175+ markets in 40 countries published. |
| Integration and launch | 4/5 API, test environment and KYC service published; no stated launch time. | 5/5 API, simulated account, white-branded portals and a stated set-up time published. |
| Asset protection and security | 5/5 SIPC limit, self-clearing custody and ISO 27001 with SOC 2 Type II published. | 3/5 SIPC membership and clearing and carrying arrangement published; SIPC limit and security certificates not on the pages read. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Wealth and Brokerage Infrastructure Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Alpaca | Interactive Brokers |
|---|---|---|
| Assets | "Embed fractional stocks, options, fixed income, crypto, high-yield cash"; US Treasury bills and corporate bonds; "Hundreds of German stocks and ETFs available today". | "trade stocks, options, futures, currencies, bonds and funds on over 175 markets in 40 countries and 29 currencies". |
| Regulatory standing | Alpaca Clearing "member FINRA / SIPC"; Alpaca Crypto LLC "a FinCEN registered money services business (NMLS # 2160858)"; AlpacaX Crypto regulated by The Securities Commission of The Bahamas, "registration number 208648 B". | Interactive Brokers LLC "is a member NYSE - FINRA - SIPC and regulated by the US Securities and Exchange Commission and the Commodity Futures Trading Commission"; Interactive Brokers Canada is a CIRO member. |
| Reach | "Supporting 200+ partners in 40+ countries." | "Accounts are accepted from citizens or residents of all countries except" sanctioned or higher-risk countries. |
| Integration | Broker API with event streaming, "KYC as a service" for non-registered technology partners, and a paper trading API for testing. | API and FIX CTCI; white branding of Client Portal, statements and registration, "implementation should take no more than two hours"; application XML for custom onboarding; simulated trading account. |
| Protection | "SIPC protection up to $500,000 per customer (cash sub-limits apply)"; clears and holds assets "as members of DTCC, FICC, and OCC"; "ISO 27001:2022 certified, SOC 2 Type II controls". | Required disclosure: Interactive Brokers LLC, member SIPC, "provides execution, clearing and carrying services"; SIPC limit not stated on the pages read. |
| Pricing | Broker API pricing not published; the pricing page returned "not found". | "no ticket charges, no minimums and no technology, software, platform, or reporting fees"; client markups capped at "15 times IBKR's highest tiered rate"; "For US stocks, the highest tiered rate would be USD 0.0035 per share." |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Alpaca: pricing, published pricing and integration and launch.
Not published or not stated by Interactive Brokers: protection, published pricing and regulatory standing.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: alpaca.markets/broker, alpaca.markets; and interactivebrokers.com/en/accounts/broker.php, interactivebrokers.com/en/trading/….
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Fintech apps wanting US shares, options and crypto through one API.
Brokers wanting the widest market access with published fees.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.