How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Alpaca vs Upvest
Comparison · 2026 edition

Alpaca vs Upvest: wealth infrastructure compared 2026.

Alpaca and Upvest side by side in the Wealth and Brokerage Infrastructure Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.2 / 5Alpaca
3.1 / 5Upvest
AlpacaHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Wealth and Brokerage Infrastructure Index, Alpaca scores higher overall: 4.2 out of 5 (83 out of 100) against 3.1 (63), ranking 2 and 4 of 11. Alpaca also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreAlpacaUpvest
Score out of 54.23.1
Score out of 1008363
Overall rank2 of 114 of 11
For fintech apps and neobanks (out of 100)80, rank 262, rank 5
For banks and wealth managers (out of 100)88, rank 165, rank 6
For brokers expanding abroad (out of 100)82, rank 262, rank 4
TypeBrokerage API and self-clearing brokerInvestment API and custodian

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionAlpacaUpvest
Asset range5/5
Fractional shares, options, bonds, crypto and cash products published.
5/5
Fractional shares, ETFs, funds and bonds published.
Published pricing0/5
Not published.
0/5
Not published.
Regulatory standing5/5
Regulators and registration numbers published for the US and the Bahamas.
3/5
BaFin and FCA named; licence numbers not on the pages read.
Market reach5/5
Partners in 40+ countries published.
4/5
20+ countries published.
Integration and launch4/5
API, test environment and KYC service published; no stated launch time.
3/5
API and a stated launch time of weeks; no sandbox or white-label app on the pages read.
Asset protection and security5/5
SIPC limit, self-clearing custody and ISO 27001 with SOC 2 Type II published.
3/5
Custodian status and ISO 27001:2022 published; compensation scheme not stated.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Wealth and Brokerage Infrastructure Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactAlpacaUpvest
Assets"Embed fractional stocks, options, fixed income, crypto, high-yield cash"; US Treasury bills and corporate bonds; "Hundreds of German stocks and ETFs available today"."Access to 100k+ instruments, including stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, money market funds, ELTIFs, securitised derivatives, bonds"; "Real fractional investing from €1, £1 or $1"; crypto "coming soon".
Regulatory standingAlpaca Clearing "member FINRA / SIPC"; Alpaca Crypto LLC "a FinCEN registered money services business (NMLS # 2160858)"; AlpacaX Crypto regulated by The Securities Commission of The Bahamas, "registration number 208648 B"."Fully regulated investment infrastructure authorised across Europe and the UK by Bafin and the FCA"; "launch under Upvest's licences or bring your own".
Reach"Supporting 200+ partners in 40+ countries.""Expand seamlessly with local offerings across 20+ countries in Europe and the UK."
IntegrationBroker API with event streaming, "KYC as a service" for non-registered technology partners, and a paper trading API for testing.Cloud-native Investment API; "Launch competitive investment products across Europe and the UK within weeks."
Protection"SIPC protection up to $500,000 per customer (cash sub-limits apply)"; clears and holds assets "as members of DTCC, FICC, and OCC"; "ISO 27001:2022 certified, SOC 2 Type II controls".Operates "as a fully fledged custodian"; "Upvest has successfully attained ISO/IEC 27001 certification" (ISO/IEC 27001:2022 badge); hosted on Google Cloud.
PricingBroker API pricing not published; the pricing page returned "not found".Not listed in this index
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Alpaca: pricing, published pricing and integration and launch.

Not published or not stated by Upvest: published pricing, regulatory standing and asset protection and security.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: alpaca.markets/broker, alpaca.markets; and upvest.co, upvest.co/security.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Alpaca
Leader 2026Best for banks and wealth managers 2026Top rated for asset range 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for market reach 2026Top rated for asset protection and security 2026
Upvest
Top rated for asset range 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Alpaca suits

Fintech apps wanting US shares, options and crypto through one API.

  • Asset range (5/5). Fractional shares, options, bonds, crypto and cash products published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Regulators and registration numbers published for the US and the Bahamas.
  • Market reach (5/5). Partners in 40+ countries published.
  • Asset protection and security (5/5). SIPC limit, self-clearing custody and ISO 27001 with SOC 2 Type II published.

Alpaca full profile

Upvest suits

European fintechs launching investing across many countries.

  • Asset range (5/5). Fractional shares, ETFs, funds and bonds published.

Upvest full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.