How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Alpaca vs Saxo
Comparison · 2026 edition

Alpaca vs Saxo: wealth infrastructure compared 2026.

Alpaca and Saxo side by side in the Wealth and Brokerage Infrastructure Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.2 / 5Alpaca
3.5 / 5Saxo
AlpacaHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Wealth and Brokerage Infrastructure Index, Alpaca scores higher overall: 4.2 out of 5 (83 out of 100) against 3.5 (69), ranking 2 and 3 of 11. Alpaca also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreAlpacaSaxo
Score out of 54.23.5
Score out of 1008369
Overall rank2 of 113 of 11
For fintech apps and neobanks (out of 100)80, rank 269, rank 3
For banks and wealth managers (out of 100)88, rank 167, rank 4
For brokers expanding abroad (out of 100)82, rank 270, rank 3
TypeBrokerage API and self-clearing brokerMulti-asset broker and white-label platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionAlpacaSaxo
Asset range5/5
Fractional shares, options, bonds, crypto and cash products published.
5/5
Shares, bonds, funds, ETFs, options and futures published.
Published pricing0/5
Not published.
0/5
Not published.
Regulatory standing5/5
Regulators and registration numbers published for the US and the Bahamas.
4/5
FCA reference number published for the UK entity; other licences not on the pages read.
Market reach5/5
Partners in 40+ countries published.
5/5
50+ markets published.
Integration and launch4/5
API, test environment and KYC service published; no stated launch time.
4/5
OpenAPI and white-label platforms published; no sandbox or launch time on the pages read.
Asset protection and security5/5
SIPC limit, self-clearing custody and ISO 27001 with SOC 2 Type II published.
1/5
Custody stated with only potential segregation; no scheme or certificate published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Wealth and Brokerage Infrastructure Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactAlpacaSaxo
Assets"Embed fractional stocks, options, fixed income, crypto, high-yield cash"; US Treasury bills and corporate bonds; "Hundreds of German stocks and ETFs available today"."71,000+ instruments": "23,000+ stocks", "5,200+ government and corporate bonds", "18,300+ funds", "7,400+ ETFs", options, FX, futures and CFDs.
Regulatory standingAlpaca Clearing "member FINRA / SIPC"; Alpaca Crypto LLC "a FinCEN registered money services business (NMLS # 2160858)"; AlpacaX Crypto regulated by The Securities Commission of The Bahamas, "registration number 208648 B".UK entity: "Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd" is "authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, Firm Reference Number 551422".
Reach"Supporting 200+ partners in 40+ countries."Stocks "from New York, Hong Kong, London, and 50+ other markets"; options "from 20+ exchanges".
IntegrationBroker API with event streaming, "KYC as a service" for non-registered technology partners, and a paper trading API for testing."Go to market fast with off-the-shelf solutions or tailored experiences"; "Build bespoke and fully integrated user experiences using Saxo's OpenAPI"; pre-launch project management team.
Protection"SIPC protection up to $500,000 per customer (cash sub-limits apply)"; clears and holds assets "as members of DTCC, FICC, and OCC"; "ISO 27001:2022 certified, SOC 2 Type II controls"."Receive custody services through Saxo's broker and custodian network with the potential for segregation of assets."
PricingBroker API pricing not published; the pricing page returned "not found"."Capital markets solutions with competitive pricing"; no figures published.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Alpaca: pricing, published pricing and integration and launch.

Not published or not stated by Saxo: pricing, published pricing and regulatory standing.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: alpaca.markets/broker, alpaca.markets; and home.saxo/institutional-and-partners/…, home.saxo/institutional-and-partners.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Alpaca
Leader 2026Best for banks and wealth managers 2026Top rated for asset range 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for market reach 2026Top rated for asset protection and security 2026
Saxo
Leader 2026Top rated for asset range 2026Top rated for market reach 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Alpaca suits

Fintech apps wanting US shares, options and crypto through one API.

  • Asset range (5/5). Fractional shares, options, bonds, crypto and cash products published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Regulators and registration numbers published for the US and the Bahamas.
  • Market reach (5/5). Partners in 40+ countries published.
  • Asset protection and security (5/5). SIPC limit, self-clearing custody and ISO 27001 with SOC 2 Type II published.

Alpaca full profile

Saxo suits

Banks and wealth managers wanting the widest instrument list.

  • Asset range (5/5). Shares, bonds, funds, ETFs, options and futures published.
  • Market reach (5/5). 50+ markets published.

Saxo full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.