How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Swan vs Unit
Comparison · 2026 edition

Swan vs Unit: embedded finance compared 2026.

Swan and Unit side by side in the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.8 / 5Swan
3.0 / 5Unit
UnitHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index, Unit scores higher overall: 3.0 out of 5 (59 out of 100) against 2.8 (56), ranking 4 and 5 of 14. Swan scores higher for retailers, travel and marketplaces; Unit scores higher for software and platform companies and regulated firms adding products.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreSwanUnit
Score out of 52.83.0
Score out of 1005659
Overall rank5 of 144 of 14
For software and platform companies (out of 100)56, rank 560, rank 4
For retailers, travel and marketplaces (out of 100)60, rank 658, rank 7
For regulated firms adding products (out of 100)52, rank 659, rank 4
TypeEmbedded banking platform and e-money institutionEmbedded banking platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionSwanUnit
Product range3/5
Accounts, payments and cards published.
5/5
Accounts, cards, bill pay and two credit products published.
Published pricing1/5
Only a "from" price published, which the method does not count.
0/5
Not published.
Regulatory standing4/5
Own e-money licence with ACPR identifiers published for France.
2/5
Relies on partner banks that are not named on the pages read.
Geographic reach3/5
Local IBANs in five countries published.
2/5
US only; nationwide coverage not stated.
Integration and launch4/5
API, free sandbox and white-label app published; no stated launch time.
3/5
API and sandbox published; no white-label journey or launch time.
Security0/5
Not published on the pages read.
5/5
SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS Level 1 published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactSwanUnit
ProductsBusiness accounts with "Local accounts with IBANs starting with FR, DE, ES, NL and IT"; "SEPA and multi-currency transfers"; payment acceptance; physical and virtual cards; expense and employee benefit cards.Deposit accounts; "Branded prepaid, debit and credit cards"; charge cards; "Lines of credit, invoice factoring and credit cards"; bill pay.
PricingSwan on demand: "Starting from 2990 € /m"; Swan Enterprise: custom; "flexible, revenue-sharing pricing".Not listed in this index
Regulatory standing"Swan is a licensed electronic money institution authorised by the French Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR), under the REGAFI identifier 86245 and identification code 17328 K"."Unit is a financial technology company and not a bank. Banking services are provided by Unit's bank partners, Members FDIC."
Integration"The Sandbox is free to explore!"; "White-labeled banking app (your brand, your settings)"; API explorer and Postman collection.API documentation, sandbox and API status page published.
SafeguardingClient funds "are segregated and deposited with our banking partners, BNP Paribas and Natixis - Groupe BPCE".Not listed in this index
SecurityNot listed in this index"Unit is certified SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS Level 1 compliant." "Unit applications and solutions are fully built in the AWS cloud environment."
ScaleNot listed in this index"Unit doubles transaction volume to $100B within 12 months"; client Relay serves "110,000+ small businesses".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Swan: integration and launch and security.

Not published or not stated by Unit: published pricing, regulatory standing and geographic reach.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: swan.io, swan.io/pricing; and unit.co, unit.co/security, unit.co/about.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Swan

No award in this index.

Unit
Top rated for product range 2026Top rated for security 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Swan suits

European software firms wanting accounts and cards under their own brand.

  • Regulatory standing (4/5). Own e-money licence with ACPR identifiers published for France.
  • Integration and launch (4/5). API, free sandbox and white-label app published; no stated launch time.

Swan full profile

Unit suits

US software firms adding accounts, cards and credit.

  • Product range (5/5). Accounts, cards, bill pay and two credit products published.
  • Security (5/5). SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS Level 1 published.

Unit full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.