How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Unit vs Weavr
Comparison · 2026 edition

Unit vs Weavr: embedded finance compared 2026.

Unit and Weavr side by side in the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.0 / 5Unit
3.6 / 5Weavr
WeavrHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index, Weavr scores higher overall: 3.6 out of 5 (72 out of 100) against 3.0 (59), ranking 3 and 4 of 14. Weavr also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreUnitWeavr
Score out of 53.03.6
Score out of 1005972
Overall rank4 of 143 of 14
For software and platform companies (out of 100)60, rank 471, rank 2
For retailers, travel and marketplaces (out of 100)58, rank 771, rank 3
For regulated firms adding products (out of 100)59, rank 473, rank 2
TypeEmbedded banking platformEmbedded finance platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionUnitWeavr
Product range5/5
Accounts, cards, bill pay and two credit products published.
3/5
Accounts, payments and cards published.
Published pricing0/5
Not published.
3/5
Monthly platform fee published; set-up, usage and compliance charges not published.
Regulatory standing2/5
Relies on partner banks that are not named on the pages read.
3/5
Relies on partners' e-money licences, with the partner FCA number published.
Geographic reach2/5
US only; nationwide coverage not stated.
4/5
EU and UK published.
Integration and launch3/5
API and sandbox published; no white-label journey or launch time.
4/5
API, sandbox and a stated launch time; no white-label app (the product is built into the firm's own screens).
Security5/5
SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS Level 1 published.
5/5
ISO 27001 and PCI DSS published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactUnitWeavr
ProductsDeposit accounts; "Branded prepaid, debit and credit cards"; charge cards; "Lines of credit, invoice factoring and credit cards"; bill pay."Digital wallets, payment cards and accounts"; use cases for employee benefits, expenses, accounts payable, SaaS subscriptions and business travel.
Regulatory standing"Unit is a financial technology company and not a bank. Banking services are provided by Unit's bank partners, Members FDIC."EU accounts and Mastercard cards issued by Paynetics AD, an e-money institution regulated by the Bulgarian National Bank; UK by Paynetics UK; Weavr Ltd is an agent of Yapily Connect Limited, FCA "Firm Reference Number: 827001".
Security"Unit is certified SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS Level 1 compliant." "Unit applications and solutions are fully built in the AWS cloud environment."Not listed in this index
IntegrationAPI documentation, sandbox and API status page published."Embedder Portal Sandbox" and API reference; "Get up and running with your new embedded finance programme in a few weeks."
Scale"Unit doubles transaction volume to $100B within 12 months"; client Relay serves "110,000+ small businesses".Not listed in this index
PricingNot listed in this indexLaunch plan: "£ 1,947 / € 2,370 per month"; "does not include initial setup project, financial product usage charges, and compliance service charges". Scale plan by request.
Security and reachNot listed in this index"ISO 27001 certified" and "PCI DSS Compliant"; Launch plan "Available for approved B2B payments use cases in EU and UK".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Unit: published pricing, regulatory standing and geographic reach.

Not published or not stated by Weavr: published pricing.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: unit.co, unit.co/security, unit.co/about; and weavr.io, weavr.io/pricing.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Unit
Top rated for product range 2026Top rated for security 2026
Weavr
Leader 2026Top rated for security 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Unit suits

US software firms adding accounts, cards and credit.

  • Product range (5/5). Accounts, cards, bill pay and two credit products published.
  • Security (5/5). SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS Level 1 published.

Unit full profile

Weavr suits

UK and EU software firms adding accounts and cards at a published price.

  • Security (5/5). ISO 27001 and PCI DSS published.

Weavr full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.