How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Cover Genius vs Unit
Comparison · 2026 edition

Cover Genius vs Unit: embedded finance compared 2026.

Cover Genius and Unit side by side in the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.6 / 5Cover Genius
3.0 / 5Unit
Cover GeniusHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index, Cover Genius scores higher overall: 3.6 out of 5 (73 out of 100) against 3.0 (59), ranking 2 and 4 of 14. Cover Genius also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreCover GeniusUnit
Score out of 53.63.0
Score out of 1007359
Overall rank2 of 144 of 14
For software and platform companies (out of 100)70, rank 360, rank 4
For retailers, travel and marketplaces (out of 100)81, rank 258, rank 7
For regulated firms adding products (out of 100)68, rank 359, rank 4
TypeEmbedded insurance distribution platformEmbedded banking platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionCover GeniusUnit
Product range5/5
Five or more insurance and protection lines published.
5/5
Accounts, cards, bill pay and two credit products published.
Published pricing0/5
Not published.
0/5
Not published.
Regulatory standing5/5
Own licences with numbers published for four jurisdictions.
2/5
Relies on partner banks that are not named on the pages read.
Geographic reach5/5
60+ countries and all 50 US states published.
2/5
US only; nationwide coverage not stated.
Integration and launch4/5
API, white-label journey and a stated launch time; no sandbox on the pages read.
3/5
API and sandbox published; no white-label journey or launch time.
Security0/5
Not published on the pages read.
5/5
SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS Level 1 published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactCover GeniusUnit
Products"motor, travel, injury and liability insurance policies"; shipping protection; marketplace protection; warranties and "any line of insurance, warranty or other type of protection".Deposit accounts; "Branded prepaid, debit and credit cards"; charge cards; "Lines of credit, invoice factoring and credit cards"; bill pay.
Regulatory standingUK: "Cover Genius Ltd, a firm authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (Firm Reference No. 750711)"; EEA: AFM "license number 12046177"; Australia: "AFS Licensee, No 490058"; New Zealand: "FSP1001258"."Unit is a financial technology company and not a bank. Banking services are provided by Unit's bank partners, Members FDIC."
Reach"Licensed or authorized in over 60 countries and all 50 US states."Not listed in this index
IntegrationRESTful APIs; "100% white-labeled" experience; "Go live in weeks with minimal development resources".API documentation, sandbox and API status page published.
ClientsQuoted clients include Priceline and Turkish Airlines ("seamless integration in 56 countries").Not listed in this index
SecurityNot listed in this index"Unit is certified SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS Level 1 compliant." "Unit applications and solutions are fully built in the AWS cloud environment."
ScaleNot listed in this index"Unit doubles transaction volume to $100B within 12 months"; client Relay serves "110,000+ small businesses".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Cover Genius: published pricing and security.

Not published or not stated by Unit: published pricing, regulatory standing and geographic reach.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: covergenius.com, covergenius.com/regulatory, covergenius.com/company/about; and unit.co, unit.co/security, unit.co/about.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Cover Genius
Leader 2026Top rated for product range 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for geographic reach 2026
Unit
Top rated for product range 2026Top rated for security 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Cover Genius suits

Global retailers, airlines and marketplaces selling cover in many countries.

  • Product range (5/5). Five or more insurance and protection lines published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Own licences with numbers published for four jurisdictions.
  • Geographic reach (5/5). 60+ countries and all 50 US states published.

Cover Genius full profile

Unit suits

US software firms adding accounts, cards and credit.

  • Product range (5/5). Accounts, cards, bill pay and two credit products published.
  • Security (5/5). SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS Level 1 published.

Unit full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.