How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Qover vs Unit
Comparison · 2026 edition

Qover vs Unit: embedded finance compared 2026.

Qover and Unit side by side in the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.2 / 5Qover
3.0 / 5Unit
QoverHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index, Qover scores higher overall: 4.2 out of 5 (84 out of 100) against 3.0 (59), ranking 1 and 4 of 14. Qover also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreQoverUnit
Score out of 54.23.0
Score out of 1008459
Overall rank1 of 144 of 14
For software and platform companies (out of 100)81, rank 160, rank 4
For retailers, travel and marketplaces (out of 100)88, rank 158, rank 7
For regulated firms adding products (out of 100)82, rank 159, rank 4
TypeEmbedded insurance platform and insurance agentEmbedded banking platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionQoverUnit
Product range5/5
Five insurance lines published.
5/5
Accounts, cards, bill pay and two credit products published.
Published pricing0/5
Not published.
0/5
Not published.
Regulatory standing5/5
Own registrations with FSMA and FCA numbers published.
2/5
Relies on partner banks that are not named on the pages read.
Geographic reach5/5
32 European countries published.
2/5
US only; nationwide coverage not stated.
Integration and launch5/5
API, test key, white-label flow and a stated launch time published.
3/5
API and sandbox published; no white-label journey or launch time.
Security3/5
ISO 27001 published; SOC 2 not published.
5/5
SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS Level 1 published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactQoverUnit
ProductsInsurance solutions: "Accident & health", "Mobility", "Purchase", "Travel" and "Property"; "Since 2016, Qover has helped 440+ brands & insurers cover millions of people."Deposit accounts; "Branded prepaid, debit and credit cards"; charge cards; "Lines of credit, invoice factoring and credit cards"; bill pay.
Regulatory standing"Qover is a Belgian-regulated untied insurance agent"; footer: "FSMA 0650.939.878 FCA: FRN 988985"; UK services "through our local branch, which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority"."Unit is a financial technology company and not a bank. Banking services are provided by Unit's bank partners, Members FDIC."
Reach"insurance distribution activities on behalf of insurance companies across 32 countries in Europe" under the Freedom of Services.Not listed in this index
Integration"Explore our API capabilities and receive your own test key"; "Choose a white-label flow or embed it in your app via API"; "launch in weeks, not months".API documentation, sandbox and API status page published.
Security"ISO 27701 & 27001 certified"."Unit is certified SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS Level 1 compliant." "Unit applications and solutions are fully built in the AWS cloud environment."
ScaleNot listed in this index"Unit doubles transaction volume to $100B within 12 months"; client Relay serves "110,000+ small businesses".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Qover: published pricing and security.

Not published or not stated by Unit: published pricing, regulatory standing and geographic reach.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: qover.com, qover.com/legal-services; and unit.co, unit.co/security, unit.co/about.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Qover
Leader 2026Best for software and platform companies 2026Best for retailers, travel and marketplaces 2026Best for regulated firms adding products 2026Top rated for product range 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for geographic reach 2026Top rated for integration and launch 2026
Unit
Top rated for product range 2026Top rated for security 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Qover suits

Firms selling cover across Europe and the UK.

  • Product range (5/5). Five insurance lines published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Own registrations with FSMA and FCA numbers published.
  • Geographic reach (5/5). 32 European countries published.
  • Integration and launch (5/5). API, test key, white-label flow and a stated launch time published.

Qover full profile

Unit suits

US software firms adding accounts, cards and credit.

  • Product range (5/5). Accounts, cards, bill pay and two credit products published.
  • Security (5/5). SOC 2 Type II and PCI DSS Level 1 published.

Unit full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.