How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Pleo review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

A company card and expense platform with reimbursements and accounts payable.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.5 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
2Awards 2026
1Index
8 of 12Rank, Expense Cards and Spend Management Index

Short answer.

Pleo scores 3.5 out of 5 (71 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Expense Cards and Spend Management Index 2026 and ranks 8 of 12. It is strongest for UK and European small firms wanting clear per-user prices, with 5 out of 5 for published pricing and spend controls. Not published or not stated on the pages read: global reach and regulatory standing.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Expense Cards and Spend Management Index 2026.

Expense Cards and Spend Management Index

3.5 / 571 out of 100 · rank 8 of 12
Top rated for published pricing 2026Top rated for spend controls 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For startups and small firms795 of 12
For mid-market and multi-country groups658 of 12
For regulated financial firms689 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

UK and European small firms wanting clear per-user prices.

  • Published pricing (5/5). Per-user prices, minimums and fees published for three plans.
  • Spend controls (5/5). Limits, category blocks, approvals and receipt chasing all published.
Watch out for
  • Global reach (2/5). European customers only; no country count.

Published facts.

What Pleo publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A company card and expense platform with reimbursements and accounts payable. It publishes the most detailed price list in this edition, including payment and foreign exchange fees, and its own FCA e-money licence. It does not offer travel booking or procurement, and certifications were not found on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Product coveragePhysical and virtual cards; reimbursements and mileage on Build; accounts payable with invoice OCR; cash management.
PricingStart: "£8 Per user / month", monthly billing, 1 admin. Build: "£14 Per user / month", billed yearly, 3 users minimum. Optimise: "£18 Per user / month". Direct reimbursements 0.90%; international payments £8 or £6; card FX fee 2.00%, 1.75% or 1.49% by plan.
Global reach"Trusted by 40,000+ companies across Europe"; country count not published.
IntegrationAccounting integrations on all plans including Xero and a "Certified Built for NetSuite" integration; HRIS integrations and MCP on Optimise.
Regulatory standing"Pleo Financial Services UK Ltd is authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 with firm reference number: 1020730."
Spend controls"Individual card limits", "Card limits per purchase", "automated blocks on ATM withdrawals or specific categories", approval workflows, and "Freeze cards automatically when receipts are missing".
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Pleo

  • Global reach. Country count not published.
  • Regulatory standing. Certifications not found on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: pleo.io/en/pricing, pleo.io/en/spend-controls, pleo.io/en/integrations.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Product coverage: 3/5. Cards, reimbursements and bill pay published; no travel booking or procurement.
  • Published pricing: 5/5. Per-user prices, minimums and fees published for three plans.
  • Global reach: 2/5. European customers only; no country count.
  • Integration: 3/5. Xero and NetSuite connections; no API confirmed on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 3/5. Own FCA e-money licence with FRN; certifications not found on the pages read.
  • Spend controls: 5/5. Limits, category blocks, approvals and receipt chasing all published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Expense Cards and Spend Management Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Pleo alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Airwallex4.81 of 12Multi-country firms wanting cards, bills and accounts in one place with published prices
Brex4.72 of 12US and global firms wanting a free plan and local cards in many countries
Ramp4.73 of 12US firms wanting cards, bills, travel and procurement on one platform
Soldo4.04 of 12UK and EU firms wanting a published monthly price and regulated card issuer
Spendesk3.95 of 12European firms wanting unlimited users and their own regulated card issuer
Moss3.86 of 12European firms wanting an EU-regulated issuer and EU data hosting
Payhawk3.87 of 12Multi-entity firms wanting cards, bills, travel and procurement with deep ERP links
Mesh3.19 of 12US firms wanting travel and SaaS spend on virtual cards
Aspire3.110 of 12Asian firms wanting a free plan with cards and multi-currency accounts
Volopay3.011 of 12Firms in Asia-Pacific and the US wanting cards and payouts together
Navan2.612 of 12Firms under 300 staff wanting free travel booking with expenses

Full Expense Cards and Spend Management Index ranking

Pleo compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Pleo is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.