How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Cover Genius vs Swan
Comparison · 2026 edition

Cover Genius vs Swan: embedded finance compared 2026.

Cover Genius and Swan side by side in the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.6 / 5Cover Genius
2.8 / 5Swan
Cover GeniusHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index, Cover Genius scores higher overall: 3.6 out of 5 (73 out of 100) against 2.8 (56), ranking 2 and 5 of 14. Cover Genius also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreCover GeniusSwan
Score out of 53.62.8
Score out of 1007356
Overall rank2 of 145 of 14
For software and platform companies (out of 100)70, rank 356, rank 5
For retailers, travel and marketplaces (out of 100)81, rank 260, rank 6
For regulated firms adding products (out of 100)68, rank 352, rank 6
TypeEmbedded insurance distribution platformEmbedded banking platform and e-money institution

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionCover GeniusSwan
Product range5/5
Five or more insurance and protection lines published.
3/5
Accounts, payments and cards published.
Published pricing0/5
Not published.
1/5
Only a "from" price published, which the method does not count.
Regulatory standing5/5
Own licences with numbers published for four jurisdictions.
4/5
Own e-money licence with ACPR identifiers published for France.
Geographic reach5/5
60+ countries and all 50 US states published.
3/5
Local IBANs in five countries published.
Integration and launch4/5
API, white-label journey and a stated launch time; no sandbox on the pages read.
4/5
API, free sandbox and white-label app published; no stated launch time.
Security0/5
Not published on the pages read.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Embedded Finance and Insurance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactCover GeniusSwan
Products"motor, travel, injury and liability insurance policies"; shipping protection; marketplace protection; warranties and "any line of insurance, warranty or other type of protection".Business accounts with "Local accounts with IBANs starting with FR, DE, ES, NL and IT"; "SEPA and multi-currency transfers"; payment acceptance; physical and virtual cards; expense and employee benefit cards.
Regulatory standingUK: "Cover Genius Ltd, a firm authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (Firm Reference No. 750711)"; EEA: AFM "license number 12046177"; Australia: "AFS Licensee, No 490058"; New Zealand: "FSP1001258"."Swan is a licensed electronic money institution authorised by the French Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR), under the REGAFI identifier 86245 and identification code 17328 K".
Reach"Licensed or authorized in over 60 countries and all 50 US states."Not listed in this index
IntegrationRESTful APIs; "100% white-labeled" experience; "Go live in weeks with minimal development resources"."The Sandbox is free to explore!"; "White-labeled banking app (your brand, your settings)"; API explorer and Postman collection.
ClientsQuoted clients include Priceline and Turkish Airlines ("seamless integration in 56 countries").Not listed in this index
PricingNot listed in this indexSwan on demand: "Starting from 2990 € /m"; Swan Enterprise: custom; "flexible, revenue-sharing pricing".
SafeguardingNot listed in this indexClient funds "are segregated and deposited with our banking partners, BNP Paribas and Natixis - Groupe BPCE".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Cover Genius: published pricing and security.

Not published or not stated by Swan: integration and launch and security.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: covergenius.com, covergenius.com/regulatory, covergenius.com/company/about; and swan.io, swan.io/pricing.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Cover Genius
Leader 2026Top rated for product range 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for geographic reach 2026
Swan

No award in this index.

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Cover Genius suits

Global retailers, airlines and marketplaces selling cover in many countries.

  • Product range (5/5). Five or more insurance and protection lines published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Own licences with numbers published for four jurisdictions.
  • Geographic reach (5/5). 60+ countries and all 50 US states published.

Cover Genius full profile

Swan suits

European software firms wanting accounts and cards under their own brand.

  • Regulatory standing (4/5). Own e-money licence with ACPR identifiers published for France.
  • Integration and launch (4/5). API, free sandbox and white-label app published; no stated launch time.

Swan full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.