How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Stripe Radar vs Unit21
Comparison · 2026 edition

Stripe Radar vs Unit21: fraud prevention compared 2026.

Stripe Radar and Unit21 side by side in the Fraud Prevention Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.0 / 5Stripe Radar
2.9 / 5Unit21
Stripe RadarHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Fraud Prevention Index, Stripe Radar scores higher overall: 3.0 out of 5 (61 out of 100) against 2.9 (57), ranking 2 and 3 of 13. Stripe Radar scores higher for payment and e-money firms and fintechs and marketplaces; Unit21 scores higher for banks and lenders.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreStripe RadarUnit21
Score out of 53.02.9
Score out of 1006157
Overall rank2 of 133 of 13
For banks and lenders (out of 100)64, rank 472, rank 2
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)62, rank 255, rank 4
For fintechs and marketplaces (out of 100)58, rank 343, rank 7
TypePayment fraud preventionFraud and AML operations platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionStripe RadarUnit21
Fraud coverage4/5
Payment fraud, account fraud, onboarding abuse and disputes published; scams not published.
3/5
Payment fraud, account takeover and new account fraud published; scams and chargebacks not published.
Published pricing1/5
Only "starting at" prices published, which the method does not count.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.
Detection signals3/5
Network-wide machine learning and bot detection published; behavioural biometrics not stated.
5/5
Device, behaviour, shared consortium data and explainable decisions published.
Rules and case management3/5
Client rules with backtesting and analytics; case management and regulatory reporting not published.
4/5
Configurable rules, case management and regulatory filing published; backtesting not stated.
Integration4/5
No-code start, APIs, SDKs and self-serve sign-up; no go-live time for outside processors.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.
Security and clients3/5
PCI Level 1 published; no named regulated clients.
4/5
SOC 2 Type II with regulated clients shown as logos; ISO 27001 not stated.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Fraud Prevention Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactStripe RadarUnit21
CoverageTransaction fraud prevention, account fraud prevention for platforms, multi-account and free trial abuse, and dispute management with Smart Disputes. Scams not published.Fraud blocked "across RTP, FedNow, ACH, cards, crypto"; device risk score to stop "bots, account farms, and mule networks"; onboarding risk. Scams and chargebacks not published as products.
PricingRadar Standard "Starting at $10 per month", Plus "Starting at $14 per month", Pro "Starting at $20 per month" (platform tiers start at $20, $44 and $70); pay-as-you-go option; enterprise "Contact sales".Not published on the pages read.
Signals"AI trained on more than 70 trillion data points across the Stripe network"; bot detection.Device Risk Score using "deep device and behavioral signals"; consortium "covering 80M+ adults in the U.S."; "explainable, fully auditable decisions".
OperationsRadar Plus: "Write and backtest custom rules, choose your risk tolerance, and get advanced analytics"; fraud analytics and alerting."Configurable rules, behavioral models, and AI agents"; Case Management; AI agents "pre-populate SARs, STRs, CTRs, 314(a), and goAML filings".
Integration"Get started with zero code thanks to Stripe's built-in fraud protection"; APIs and SDKs; "can be used independently of Stripe Payments" for enterprises.Not detailed on the pages read.
Security and clients"Certified us to PCI Service Provider Level 1". Customer stories name FreshBooks and Anthropic.SOC 2 Type I and Type II attested by Armanino; GDPR and CCPA compliant. Logos include Chime, Brex, Crypto.com, Sunrise Banks and Greendot Bank.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Stripe Radar: coverage, detection signals, rules and case management and security and clients.

Not published or not stated by Unit21: coverage, pricing, rules and case management and security and clients.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: stripe.com/radar, stripe.com/radar/pricing, docs.stripe.com/security; and unit21.ai, unit21.ai/security.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Stripe Radar
Leader 2026
Unit21
Leader 2026Top rated for detection signals 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Stripe Radar suits

Firms already processing card payments with Stripe.

  • Fraud coverage (4/5). Payment fraud, account fraud, onboarding abuse and disputes published; scams not published.
  • Integration (4/5). No-code start, APIs, SDKs and self-serve sign-up; no go-live time for outside processors.

Stripe Radar full profile

Unit21 suits

US banks and fintechs needing fraud rules, investigations and SAR filing together.

  • Detection signals (5/5). Device, behaviour, shared consortium data and explainable decisions published.

Unit21 full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.