How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Fingerprint vs Stripe Radar
Comparison · 2026 edition

Fingerprint vs Stripe Radar: fraud prevention compared 2026.

Fingerprint and Stripe Radar side by side in the Fraud Prevention Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.8 / 5Fingerprint
3.0 / 5Stripe Radar
Stripe RadarHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Fraud Prevention Index, Stripe Radar scores higher overall: 3.0 out of 5 (61 out of 100) against 2.8 (56), ranking 2 and 4 of 13. Fingerprint scores higher for fintechs and marketplaces; Stripe Radar scores higher for banks and lenders and payment and e-money firms.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreFingerprintStripe Radar
Score out of 52.83.0
Score out of 1005661
Overall rank4 of 132 of 13
For banks and lenders (out of 100)46, rank 1064, rank 4
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)56, rank 362, rank 2
For fintechs and marketplaces (out of 100)65, rank 258, rank 3
TypeDevice intelligence for fraud preventionPayment fraud prevention

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionFingerprintStripe Radar
Fraud coverage3/5
New account fraud, account takeover and payment fraud published; scams and chargebacks not published.
4/5
Payment fraud, account fraud, onboarding abuse and disputes published; scams not published.
Published pricing5/5
Monthly prices with included calls and overage price published.
1/5
Only "starting at" prices published, which the method does not count.
Detection signals2/5
Device intelligence published; behavioural biometrics, shared data and explanations not published.
3/5
Network-wide machine learning and bot detection published; behavioural biometrics not stated.
Rules and case management0/5
Not published.
3/5
Client rules with backtesting and analytics; case management and regulatory reporting not published.
Integration4/5
API, SDKs, free sign-up and trial published; no go-live time.
4/5
No-code start, APIs, SDKs and self-serve sign-up; no go-live time for outside processors.
Security and clients3/5
ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II; no named regulated clients.
3/5
PCI Level 1 published; no named regulated clients.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Fraud Prevention Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactFingerprintStripe Radar
CoverageUse cases: "New Account Fraud", "Account Takeover", "Payment Fraud", "SMS Fraud" and bot detection.Transaction fraud prevention, account fraud prevention for platforms, multi-account and free trial abuse, and dispute management with Smart Disputes. Scams not published.
PricingFree: "$0 /month", "up to 1,000 API calls per month". Pro Plus: "$99 per month which includes 20,000 API requests for web and iOS, as well as 500,000 API requests for Android"; "$4 per 1,000 additional API calls".Radar Standard "Starting at $10 per month", Plus "Starting at $14 per month", Pro "Starting at $20 per month" (platform tiers start at $20, $44 and $70); pay-as-you-go option; enterprise "Contact sales".
SignalsDevice identification "even when VPN, incognito mode, or a tampered browser or device is used"; Smart Signals with "100+" attributes."AI trained on more than 70 trillion data points across the Stripe network"; bot detection.
OperationsNot published; Fingerprint supplies signals to the client's own rules.Radar Plus: "Write and backtest custom rules, choose your risk tolerance, and get advanced analytics"; fraud analytics and alerting.
IntegrationSDKs and libraries, documentation, GitHub; free sign-up; "14 day free trial with unlimited API calls"."Get started with zero code thanks to Stripe's built-in fraud protection"; APIs and SDKs; "can be used independently of Stripe Payments" for enterprises.
Security and clients"ISO 27001 certified" and "SOC 2 Type II compliant"; data in AWS data centres. "Trusted by 6000+ companies"; none named on the pages read."Certified us to PCI Service Provider Level 1". Customer stories name FreshBooks and Anthropic.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Fingerprint: operations, fraud coverage, detection signals and security and clients.

Not published or not stated by Stripe Radar: coverage, detection signals, rules and case management and security and clients.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: fingerprint.com, fingerprint.com/pricing, fingerprint.com/security; and stripe.com/radar, stripe.com/radar/pricing, docs.stripe.com/security.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Fingerprint
Top rated for published pricing 2026
Stripe Radar
Leader 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Fingerprint suits

Fintechs wanting device recognition with clear self-serve prices.

  • Published pricing (5/5). Monthly prices with included calls and overage price published.

Fingerprint full profile

Stripe Radar suits

Firms already processing card payments with Stripe.

  • Fraud coverage (4/5). Payment fraud, account fraud, onboarding abuse and disputes published; scams not published.
  • Integration (4/5). No-code start, APIs, SDKs and self-serve sign-up; no go-live time for outside processors.

Stripe Radar full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.